Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Home > Call for proposals

Call for proposals to support initiatives aimed at combating the mistreatment and promoting the well-treatment of aboriginal seniors (2018-2019)

Context

The Aboriginal nations are experiencing significant social problems that stem from a history marked by iniquity, attempts at assimilation and systemic racism. The Aboriginal peoples have for centuries displayed a remarkable capacity to adapt to the significant pressures exercised on their way of life. Proud of their difference and imbued with their cultures, the Aboriginal peoples have never relinquished the assertion of their aspirations. However, the disturbing observations that are made today on the health of the Aboriginal communities demand vigorous action. The Québec government recognizes its responsibility to act and also acknowledges the urgency of doing so.

The Government Action Plan for the Social and Cultural Development of the First Nations and Inuit 2017-2022 takes note of the political and historical context in which the Québec government must act. The enhancement of the Aboriginal peoples’ living conditions is, from now on, a priority.

Aboriginal seniors’ living conditions are especially worrisome. A number of them are contending with the legacy of the residential schools in addition to poverty and social exclusion. The difficult social and economic conditions that prevail in certain Aboriginal communities are tending to aggravate the mistreatment from which a number of seniors suffer. It is difficult to compile accurate data, but community interveners agree that needs are widespread in Aboriginal communities to heighten awareness of elder abuse among the public, seniors, their families and loved ones.

Call for proposals to support initiatives aimed at combating the mistreatment and promoting the well-treatment of Aboriginal seniors

The Québec government recently reiterated its determination to combat the mistreatment of seniors, including Aboriginal seniors. The Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones (SAA) and the Ministère de la Famille (MF) will fund each year until 2021-2022 projects aimed at combating the mistreatment and promoting the well-treatment of Aboriginal seniors.

The maximum financial assistance granted to each organization is $15 000. The assistance is provided on an ad hoc basis but interested organizations can, however, submit projects each year, until 2022. Where appropriate, a project accepted can be funded each year for the entire duration of the action plan.

Objectives

In accordance with what was announced in the action plan, the Québec government hopes to establish a varied, effective, relevant, reassuring service offer from the standpoint of the Aboriginal cultures. In this perspective, the projects submitted must satisfy a twofold objective:

  • counteract the mistreatment of Aboriginal seniors;
  • promote the well-treatment of Aboriginal seniors.

We invite interested organizations to consult the action plan. We also invite them to consult the Governmental Action Plan to Counter Elder Abuse 2017-2022 of the Ministère de la Famille, which contains essential information on mistreatment and well-treatment and the first two

sections of the Guide de référence pour contrer la maltraitance envers les personnes aînées (2016). All of the documents are available online at:

First Nations and Inuit organizations and communities have until March 31st, 2018 to submit their projects.

To obtain additional information on the call for proposals, please contact the SAA (projetsponctuels-saa@mce.gouv.qc.ca)

Eligibility:

The following Aboriginal organizations are invited to submit projects:

  • the Aboriginal communities (band councils, tribal councils, northern villages);
  • non-profit Aboriginal organizations;
  • non-profit organizations (seniors’ residences, family centres);
  • groups of NPOs from the Aboriginal nations or communities.

Nature of the eligible projects

The financial assistance granted by the SAA and the MF must facilitate the realization of defined awareness-raising activities over a determined period and in the course of the fiscal year concerned. No project supported can be automatically renewed without the submission of a new application for financial assistance during a subsequent fiscal year.

The maximum financial assistance granted to each organization is $15 000. Eligible expenses are those directly related to the realization of the project that are not covered by other means and are deemed to be reasonable.

Submission of applications and forms

Interested organizations must submit their projects to the SAA using the “Application for financial assistance” form, by email or regular mail, specifying that the project submitted is in connection with the Call for proposals to support initiatives aimed at combating the mistreatment and promoting the well-treatment of Aboriginal seniors. The SAA reserves the right to exclude any project initiated or completed prior to the submission of the application for support. For the 2018-2019 fiscal year, projects can be submitted until October 12th, 2018.

  • Form: Application for financial assistance
  • Email: projetsponctuels-saa@mce.gouv.qc.ca
  • Postal address:
    Projets ponctuels autochtones (PPA)
    Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
    905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage
    Québec (Québec) G1R 5M6

Evaluation criteria respecting the projects submitted

  • Relevance and quality of the project in relation to the objectives
  • Likely, significant spinoff for Aboriginal seniors
  • Number and quality of the partnerships
  • Support from Aboriginal communities
  • Demonstration of financial requirements
  • Quality and relevance of the financial plan
  • Number of Aboriginal seniors affected

Accountability

A simplified final report including a breakdown of actual costs and project income must be submitted to the SAA no later than six months after completion of the project.

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update: September 25, 2018
Online as of: March 8, 2018

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Appel de projet

Appel de projets destiné à soutenir des initiatives visant à lutter contre la maltraitance et à favoriser la bientraitance envers les personnes aînées autochtones (2018-2019)

Contexte

Les nations autochtones vivent des problèmes sociaux importants qui résultent d’une histoire marquée par l’iniquité, les tentatives d’assimilation et le racisme systémique. Depuis des siècles, les peuples autochtones ont fait preuve d’une formidable capacité d’adaptation aux importantes pressions subies par leur mode de vie. Fiers de leur différence, riches de leurs cultures, les Autochtones n’ont jamais renoncé à l’affirmation de leurs aspirations. Toutefois, les constats inquiétants qui sont faits aujourd’hui sur la santé des communautés autochtones commandent une action vigoureuse. Le gouvernement du Québec reconnaît sa responsabilité d’agir; il reconnaît aussi l’urgence de le faire.

Le Plan d’action gouvernemental pour le développement social et culturel des Premières Nations et des Inuits 2017-2022 (Plan d’action) prend acte du contexte politique et historique dans lequel l’action du gouvernement du Québec doit évoluer. L’amélioration des conditions de vie des Autochtones constitue désormais une priorité.

Les conditions de vie des aînées autochtones sont particulièrement préoccupantes : d’une part, plusieurs d’entre eux composent aujourd’hui avec l’héritage des pensionnats autochtones, en plus de la pauvreté et de l’exclusion sociale; d’autre part, les conditions sociales et économiques difficiles qui prévalent dans certaines communautés autochtones tendent à aggraver la maltraitance dont souffrent parfois les personnes aînées. Il est difficile de colliger des données précises, mais les acteurs du milieu s’accordent pour dire que les besoins sont nombreux en milieu autochtone pour sensibiliser la population, les aînés, leurs familles et leurs proches, à la maltraitance envers les aînés.

Appel de projets destiné à soutenir des initiatives visant à lutter contre la maltraitance et à favoriser la bientraitance envers les personnes aînées autochtones

Le gouvernement du Québec a récemment réitéré sa volonté de poursuivre la lutte contre la maltraitance envers les personnes aînées, dont les aînés autochtones. Le Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones (SAA) et le ministère de la Famille (MF) financeront ainsi chaque année, jusqu’en 2021-2022, des projets destinés à contrer la maltraitance envers les personnes aînées autochtones et à favoriser la bientraitance.
L’aide financière maximale octroyée à chaque organisation sera de 15 000 $. Il s’agit là d’une aide ponctuelle, mais les organisations intéressées pourront soumettre des projets chaque année, jusqu’en 2022. Le cas échéant, un projet accepté pourra être répété et financé à chaque année pour toute la durée du PAGDSCPNI.

Objectifs

Conformément à ce qui a été annoncé dans le Plan d’action, le gouvernement du Québec souhaite mettre en place une offre de services diversifiée et efficace, pertinente et sécurisante du point de vue des cultures autochtones. Dans cette perspective, les projets soumis doivent répondre au double objectif suivant :

  • Contrer la maltraitance envers les personnes aînées autochtones;
  • Favoriser la bientraitance envers les personnes aînées autochtones.

Nous invitons les organisations intéressées à consulter le Plan d’action. Nous les invitons également à consulter le Plan d’action gouvernemental pour contrer la maltraitance envers les personnes aînées 2017-2022 (PAM) du MF, qui contient des informations indispensables sur la maltraitance et la bientraitance, ainsi que les deux premières sections du Guide de référence pour contrer la maltraitance envers les personnes aînées (2016). Tous ces documents sont disponibles en ligne, aux adresses suivantes :

Les organismes et les communautés des Premières Nations et des Inuits ont jusqu’au 31 mars 2018 pour soumettre leur projet.

Pour obtenir davantage de renseignements concernant cet appel de projets, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec le SAA, à l’adresse suivante : projetsponctuels-saa@mce.gouv.qc.ca.

Admissibilité

Les organisations autochtones suivantes sont invitées à soumettre des projets :

  • Communautés autochtones (conseils de bande, conseils tribaux, villages nordiques);
  • Organismes autochtones à but non lucratif (OBNL autochtones);
  • Organismes à but non lucratif (résidences pour personnes aînées, maisons de la famille);
  • Regroupements d’OBNL, de nations ou de communautés autochtones.

Nature des projets admissibles

L'aide financière accordée par le SAA et le MF doit permettre la réalisation d'activités de sensibilisation circonscrites, sur une période déterminée, et au cours de l’année financière concernée. Aucun projet soutenu ne peut être automatiquement reconduit, sans faire l’objet d’une nouvelle demande d’aide financière, au cours d’une année financière ultérieure.

L’aide financière maximale octroyée annuellement est de 15 000 $. Les dépenses admissibles sont celles directement liées à la réalisation du projet, non pourvues par d’autres moyens, et considérées raisonnables.

Dépôt de la demande et formulaires

Les organisations intéressées doivent soumettre leur projet au SAA, au moyen du formulaire intitulé « Demande d’aide financière », par voie électronique ou par la poste, en spécifiant que le projet déposé est en lien avec l’Appel de projets destiné à soutenir des initiatives visant à lutter contre la maltraitance et à favoriser la bientraitance envers les personnes aînées autochtones. Le SAA se réserve le droit d’exclure tout projet amorcé ou complété avant le dépôt de la demande de soutien. Pour l’année financière 2018-2019, les projets peuvent être reçus jusqu’au 12 octobre 2018.

Critères d’évaluation des projets soumis

  • Pertinence et qualité du projet, en lien avec les objectifs
  • Retombées probables et significatives pour les aînés autochtones
  • Nombre et qualité des partenariats
  • Appui du milieu autochtone
  • Démonstration du besoin financier
  • Qualité et pertinence du montage financier
  • Nombre d’aînés autochtones rejoints

Reddition de comptes

Un rapport final simplifié comprenant la ventilation des coûts réels ainsi que des revenus du projet devra être remis au SAA, au plus tard six mois suivant la réalisation du projet.

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Mise à jour : 25 septembre 2018
Mise en ligne : 8 mars 2018