Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Partnership, Development, Achievement

THE QUÉBEC GOVERNMENT PROPOSES NEW GUIDELINES CONCERNING ABORIGINAL AFFAIRS

Translation

QUÉBEC CITY, April 2, 1998 - The Minister of State for Natural Resources, Minister for the Regions and Minister responsible for Aboriginal Affairs, Guy Chevrette, today released the Québec government's new guidelines concerning aboriginal affairs. The guidelines are contained in a paper entitled Partnership, Development, Achievement and are part of a new approach the Québec government wishes to develop with aboriginal nations.

The proposed new approach essentially seeks to offer a set of tools for partnership, development and concrete achievements with aboriginal communities. A further objective is the creation of a political forum for debate, discussion and concerted action between aboriginal and non-aboriginal elected officials.

These guidelines on aboriginal affairs are consistent with the philosophy underlying the political initiatives taken by the Québec government in 1983 and 1985, namely the 15 principles adopted by Cabinet on February 9, 1983 and the resolution on the recognition of the rights of aboriginal people passed by the Québec National Assembly on March 20, 1985.

"Today we have taken a new step to give effect to the commitments we made at that time as parliamentarians," Mr. Chevrette said. "We want to enable aboriginal people to play an active part in the economic life of Québec. With them, we want to build a partnership that will allow them to develop their own economic levers. We want to offer them a set of tools they can use to develop self-government and financial self-sufficiency."

Broad objectives of the government guidelines

The government's new guidelines regarding aboriginal affairs have three broad objectives: harmonious relations based on mutual trust and respect between aboriginal and non-aboriginal people, more self-government and increased financial self-sufficiency of aboriginal people.

The approach proposed by the Québec government emphasizes reaching agreements with aboriginal communities for development and the assumption of responsibility, and implementing measures to create conditions that are more conducive to economic development and job creation among aboriginal people.

"The government's perspective in adopting these new guidelines is one of fairness," Mr. Chevrette mentioned. "Aboriginal and non-aboriginal populations must have access to the same living conditions, the same general conditions for development and a fair share of our collective wealth, while allowing aboriginal people to protect and develop their cultural identity."

The four components of the action strategy

The Québec government has put forward a four-part action strategy to give effect to its guidelines and principles:

  • Creation of a political forum for debate, discussion and concerted action;
  • Signature of agreements for development and assumption of responsibility;
  • Creation of a fund for practical community and economic development projects;
  • Measures leading to greater financial self-sufficiency.


"This concrete and pragmatic approach will help meet those needs considered priorities for the communities, and make up some lost ground," the Minister indicated. "This is an evolving approach in which each aboriginal community can participate according to its own priorities. It is innovative and will produce tangible results."

- 30 -


SOURCE :
Shirley Bishop
Attachée de presse
(418) 644-5846
Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as if :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 1998 > Communiqué du 2 avril 1998

LE GOUVERNEMENT DU QUÉBEC PROPOSE DE NOUVELLES ORIENTATIONS CONCERNANT LES AFFAIRES AUTOCHTONES

QUÉBEC, le 2 avril 1998 – Le ministre d’État des Ressources naturelles, ministre des Régions et ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones, monsieur Guy Chevrette, a dévoilé aujourd’hui les nouvelles orientations du gouvernement du Québec concernant les affaires autochtones. Ces orientations, contenues dans un document intitulé « Partenariat, Développement, Actions », s’inscrivent dans le cadre d’une nouvelle dynamique que souhaite établir le gouvernement du Québec avec les nations autochtones.

La nouvelle approche proposée a essentiellement pour but d’offrir un coffre à outils pour permettre le partenariat, le développement et des actions concrètes avec les communautés autochtones. La démarche vise également à créer un lieu politique de débats, d’échanges et de concertation, entre élus autochtones et non autochtones.

Ces orientations concernant les affaires autochtones s’inscrivent dans la même philosophie que les gestes politiques déjà posés par le gouvernement du Québec en 1983 et 1985; c’est-à-dire les 15 principes adoptés par le Conseil des ministres le 9 février 1983 et la résolution portant sur la reconnaissance des droits des Autochtones adoptée le 20 mars 1985 par l’Assemblée nationale du Québec.

« Nous franchissons aujourd’hui un nouveau pas afin de concrétiser les engagements que nous avions pris à l’époque comme parlementaires, a déclaré le ministre Chevrette. Nous voulons permettre aux Autochtones de prendre une part active dans la vie économique du Québec. Nous voulons bâtir, avec eux, un partenariat qui leur permettra de se doter de leurs propres leviers économiques. Nous voulons leur offrir un coffre à outils pour leur permettre d’accroître leur autonomie financière et gouvernementale. »

Les grands objectifs des orientations gouvernementales

Les nouvelles orientations gouvernementales en matière autochtone poursuivent trois grands objectifs : développer des rapports harmonieux fondés sur la confiance et le respect mutuels entre les Autochtones et les non-Autochtones, accroître l’autonomie gouvernementale et accroître l’autonomie financière des Autochtones.

L’approche proposée par le gouvernement du Québec mise sur la conclusion d’ententes de responsabilisation et de développement avec les communautés autochtones et la mise en place de mesures visant à créer des conditions plus favorables au développement de l’économie et de l’emploi chez les Autochtones.

« C’est dans une perspective d’équité que le gouvernement du Québec a adopté ces nouvelles orientations, a tenu à mentionner le ministre. Les populations autochtones et non-autochtones doivent avoir accès aux mêmes conditions de vie, aux mêmes conditions générales de développement ainsi qu’à une part juste de la richesse collective, tout en permettant aux Autochtones de préserver et développer leur identité culturelle. »

Les quatre éléments de la stratégie d’action

Pour traduire ses orientations et ses principes, le gouvernement du Québec propose une stratégie d’action basée sur quatre éléments :

La création d’un lieu politique de débats, d’échanges et de concertation;
La signature d’ententes de responsabilisation et de développement;
La mise en place d’un fonds pour la réalisation de projets concrets de développement économique et communautaire;
Des mesures conduisant à une plus grande autonomie financière.

« Cette approche concrète et pragmatique permettra de répondre aux besoins jugés prioritaires pour les communautés et d’effectuer un certain rattrapage, a soutenu le ministre. C’est dans une dynamique évolutive que nous nous inscrivons et où chaque communauté autochtone pourra emboîter le pas selon ses propres priorités. Il s’agit d’une approche novatrice qui donnera des résultats tangibles. »

- 30 -

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :
Mise en ligne :