Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

New guidelines concerning aboriginal affairs

THE GOVERNMENT INVITES ABORIGINAL COMMUNITIES TO TAKE PART IN CREATING A POLITICAL FORUM

Forum Translation

QUÉBEC CITY, April 2, 1998 - The Québec government has proposed to aboriginal nations the creation of a political forum in order to develop harmonious relations based on mutual respect and trust. This is one of the main components of the action strategy contained in the new government guidelines concerning aboriginal affairs released today by the Minister of State for Natural Resources, Minister for the Regions and Minister responsible for Aboriginal Affairs, Guy Chevrette.

The forum, which would be part of existing Québec institutions, would be the preferred place to advance political debate by enabling direct contact between aboriginal and non-aboriginal elected officials. Issues that are important to aboriginal people and to the government could be discussed. The government is proposing that a bipartite commission be set up quickly to work on the creation of this forum. It would be mandated to design the forum for discussion, debate and concerted action between aboriginal and non-aboriginal elected officials.

To clearly demonstrate the Québec government's willingness to create a political forum for discussion with aboriginal people, Québec Prime Minister Lucien Bouchard sent an invitation to that effect to the Vice Chief of the Assembly of First Nations of Québec and Labrador, Ghislain Picard, and the Chairman of Makivik Corporation, Zebedee Nungak. The Prime Minister has invited aboriginal nations to designate leaders without delay to represent them on the bipartite commission so that it can begin work as soon as possible.

"We firmly believe in the importance of this political forum and the debates that may take place there," Mr. Chevrette said, noting that this initiative is consistent with the heritage of former Québec Prime Minister René Lévesque, who had proposed establishing a permanent parliamentary forum as part of the 1985 resolution. "Such discussions could give rise to better mutual understanding. We are ready to invest the effort needed to make this democratic exercise a success."

- 30 -


SOURCE :
Shirley Bishop
Attachée de presse
(418) 644-5846
Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as if :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 1998 > Communiqué du 2 avril 1998

LE GOUVERNEMENT INVITE LES COMMUNAUTÉS AUTOCHTONES À LA CRÉATION D’UN LIEU D’ÉCHANGES POLITIQUES

QUÉBEC, le 2 avril 1998 – Dans le but de développer des relations harmonieuses fondées sur la confiance et le respect mutuel, le gouvernement du Québec propose aux nations autochtones la création d’un lieu d’échanges politiques. Il s’agit là de l’un des principaux éléments de la stratégie d’action proposée dans le cadre des nouvelles orientations gouvernementales concernant les affaires autochtones rendues publiques aujourd’hui par le ministre d’État des Ressources naturelles, ministre des Régions et ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones, monsieur Guy Chevrette.

Ce lieu, créé dans le cadre des institutions québécoises existantes, serait l’endroit privilégié pour faire avancer le débat politique en permettant des contacts directs entre élus autochtones et non-autochtones. Les questions importantes tant pour les Autochtones que pour le gouvernement pourraient y être discutées. En vue de la création de ce lieu politique, le gouvernement propose qu’une commission bipartite soit mise en place rapidement. Son mandat sera de concevoir ce lieu d’échanges, de débats et de concertation entre élus autochtones et non-autochtones.

Pour bien démontrer la volonté du gouvernement du Québec de vouloir créer un lieu d’échanges politiques avec les Autochtones, le premier ministre du Québec, monsieur Lucien Bouchard, a adressé une invitation en ce sens au vice-chef de l’Assemblée des premières nations du Québec et du Labrador, monsieur Ghislain Picard, et au président de la Société Makivik, monsieur Zebedee Nungak. Le premier ministre invite les nations autochtones à désigner, dès maintenant, les leaders qui les représenteront à la commission bipartite pour qu’elle entreprenne ses travaux le plus rapidement possible.

« Nous croyons fermement en l’importance de ce lieu politique et des débats qui pourront y trouver cours, a déclaré le ministre Chevrette en précisant que cette démarche s’inscrit dans l’héritage de l’ex-premier ministre du Québec, monsieur René Lévesque, qui avait proposé l’établissement d’un forum parlementaire permanent dans le cadre de la résolution de 1985. De ce type d’échanges pourra découler une meilleure compréhension mutuelle. Nous sommes prêts à investir les efforts nécessaires au bon déroulement de cet exercice démocratique. »

- 30 -

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :
Mise en ligne :