Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

New guidelines concerning aboriginal affairs

TOOLS TO INCREASE FINANCIAL SELF-SUFFICIENCY AND SELF-GOVERNMENT FOR ABORIGINAL COMMUNITIES

QUÉBEC CITY, April 2, 1998 - "To enable aboriginal communities to reduce their dependence on governments, increase their financial self-sufficiency and develop self-government, the Québec government is proposing to provide aboriginal nations and communities with their own economic levers and participate in resource development." The Minister of State for Natural Resources, Minister for the Regions and Minister responsible for Aboriginal Affairs, Guy Chevrette, made this statement today while releasing the Québec government's new guidelines concerning aboriginal affairs.

The Québec government believes it is possible and desirable, within a partnership with band councils, to develop solutions to the problems associated with the tax exemption that applies to aboriginal people at various levels. These mechanisms could grant aboriginal communities significant levers to increase their financial self-sufficiency, while ensuring that the new tax system does not create commercial competition that could hamper relations between aboriginal and non-aboriginal people.

Québec is committed to a pragmatic, flexible and evolving approach which would be applied through local taxation agreements. These could take the form of full payment of the taxes in question by aboriginal and non-aboriginal people, on or off-reserve, with remittance of taxes paid to aboriginal communities in accordance with procedures to be worked out. Other possibilities could be explored on a voluntary basis.

Financial self-sufficiency and self-government

There are various models for participation in economic and natural resource development concerning, among others, forests, wildlife, mines and hydro-electricity. These initiatives will have to be consistent with Québec's approach to local and regional development. Such participation will require setting up or developing community or individually owned or mixed businesses. Recent examples in the forest, mining and energy sectors illustrate this approach. The Québec government believes that this type of partnership should be encouraged.

The Québec government also proposes that agreements for development and assumption of responsibility be reached with aboriginal communities. By taking charge of various sectors of socio-economic activity and carrying out specific government responsibilities within defined territories, aboriginal people will become more self-sufficient. These agreements will also allow the communities greater participation in socio-economic development.

Two types of agreements are proposed: framework agreements and specific or multi-sector agreements. Once an agreement is signed, it will be possible to exercise contractual jurisdictions, among other things. The agreements will be bipartite and will be negotiated between the Québec government and aboriginal people. The federal government will be invited to sign as part of its current jurisdiction and obligations.

The land issue

The issue of land and resources is a major question in relations between aboriginal people and governments. Many aboriginal claims affect control, sharing or access to resources. The ownership, management and development of land and resources are of direct concern to Québec. The challenge is to rethink issues relating to land within a dual perspective: develop a partnership approach with aboriginal people while respecting their identity, reconcile the aspirations of aboriginal people with those of the general population, while maintaining Québec's territorial integrity.

Land issues will be dealt with on a case-by-case basis. In the case of comprehensive land claims, Québec's proposal to the Attikameks and Montagnais in 1994 remains the preferred approach, i.e. wholly-owned lands (domain), land for carrying on traditional activities (traditional activities zone) and a shared-management territory (shared-management resource zone included in traditional activities zones).

In the case of Indian reserves which are not large enough for basic community infrastructures such as housing, education or health, the Québec government is prepared to discuss expanding them. Lastly, Québec has opened the door to agreements for exceptional situations that are specific to a community and require immediate attention, such as Oujé-Bougoumou and Kanesatake.

"With these new guidelines concerning aboriginal affairs, there is a new dynamic based on trust, respect and greater self-sufficiency for communities," Mr. Chevrette pointed out. "Working with aboriginal nations, Québec will seek ways for them to participate in the development of the land, to benefit from economic spin-offs and to continue their traditional activities while being sensitive to the aspirations of each, the rights of third parties and the needs of society as a whole."

- 30 -


SOURCE :
Shirley Bishop
Attachée de presse
(418) 644-5846
Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as if :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 1998 > Communiqué du 2 avril 1998

DES OUTILS POUR ACCROÎTRE L’AUTONOMIE FINANCIÈRE ET GOUVERNEMENTALE DES COMMUNAUTÉS AUTOCHTONES

QUÉBEC, le 2 avril 1998 – « Afin de permettre aux communautés autochtones de réduire leur dépendance envers les gouvernements et d’accroître leur autonomie financière et gouvernementale, le gouvernement du Québec propose de doter les nations et les communautés autochtones de leurs propres leviers économiques et de participer à la mise en valeur des ressources.» C’est ce qu’a déclaré aujourd’hui le ministre d’État des Ressources naturelles, ministre des Régions et ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones, monsieur Guy Chevrette, en rendant publiques les nouvelles orientations du gouvernement du Québec concernant les affaires autochtones.

Le gouvernement du Québec estime possible et souhaitable que, dans le cadre d’un partenariat avec les conseils de bande, des solutions soient apportées aux problèmes liés à l’application de l’exemption fiscale qui touche les Autochtones à différents niveaux. Ces mécanismes pourraient conférer aux communautés autochtones des leviers significatifs pour accroître leur autonomie financière, tout en s’assurant que la nouvelle fiscalité ne crée pas une concurrence commerciale pouvant nuire aux relations entre Autochtones et non-Autochtones.

Le Québec tient à adopter une approche pragmatique, souple et évolutive, qui se concrétiserait par des ententes locales sur la fiscalité. Elles pourraient prendre la forme de plein paiement des taxes visées, par les Autochtones et les non-Autochtones, sur les réserves ou hors réserves, et de remise aux communautés autochtones des taxes payées selon les modalités à déterminer. D’autres avenues pourraient aussi être explorées sur une base volontaire.

Vers une autonomie financière et gouvernementale

Différents modèles de participation au développement économique et à la mise en valeur des ressources naturelles peuvent être envisagés concernant, entre autres, la forêt, la faune, les mines et l’hydroélectricité. Ces initiatives devront s’inscrire dans la dynamique du développement local et régional du Québec. Cette participation passera par la mise sur pied ou le développement d’entreprises de propriété communautaire, individuelle ou mixte. Des exemples récents dans les secteurs forestier, minier et énergétique illustrent concrètement cette approche. Le gouvernement du Québec est d’avis que ce type de partenariat doit s’accroître.

Le gouvernement du Québec propose également aux communautés autochtones de conclure des ententes de responsabilisation et de développement. Par la prise en charge de divers secteurs de l’activité socio-économique et en exerçant des responsabilités gouvernementales précises sur des territoires déterminés, les Autochtones pourront atteindre une plus grande autonomie. Ces ententes permettront aussi une participation plus importante des communautés au développement socio-économique.

Deux types d’ententes sont proposés : des ententes-cadre et des ententes spécifiques ou multisectorielles. La signature d’une entente permettra notamment l’exercice de juridictions contractuelles. Les ententes seront bipartites et négociées entre le gouvernement du Québec et les Autochtones. Le gouvernement fédéral sera invité à en être signataire dans le cadre de ses compétences et obligations actuelles.

La question territoriale

La question du territoire et des ressources constitue l’un des enjeux importants dans les relations entre les Autochtones et les gouvernements. Bon nombre de revendications autochtones touchent le contrôle, le partage ou l’accès aux ressources. La propriété, la gestion et le développement du territoire et des ressources interpellent directement le Québec. Le défi est de repenser les questions liées au territoire dans une double perspective : développer une approche de partenariat avec les Autochtones dans le respect de leur identité, concilier les aspirations autochtones avec celles de l’ensemble de la population, et ce, dans le respect de l’intégrité du territoire du Québec.

Les questions territoriales seront abordées selon les situations. Dans le cas des revendications territoriales globales, la proposition faite par le Québec aux Attikameks et aux Montagnais en 1994 demeure l’approche privilégiée, c’est-à-dire des terres en pleine propriété (domaine), un territoire où s’effectueront les activités traditionnelles (zone d’activités traditionnelles) et un territoire à gestion partagée (zone de ressources à gestion partagée comprises dans les zones d’activités traditionnelles).

Dans le cas des réserves indiennes dont la superficie n’est plus suffisante pour permettre l’établissement d’infrastructures communautaires de base comme l’habitation, l’éducation ou la santé, le gouvernement du Québec est prêt à discuter de l’agrandissement de ces territoires. Enfin, le Québec ouvre la porte à des ententes pour des situations exceptionnelles propres à une communauté et nécessitant une attention immédiate comme à Oujé-Bougoumou ou à Kanesatake.

« Avec ces nouvelles orientations concernant les affaires autochtones, une nouvelle dynamique, fondée sur la confiance, le respect et une plus grande autonomie pour les communautés, est instaurée, a tenu à mentionner le ministre Chevrette. Le Québec cherchera, avec les nations autochtones, des façons pour qu’elles participent au développement du territoire, qu’elles bénéficient des retombées et qu’elles continuent leurs activités traditionnelles tout en tenant compte des aspirations de chacun, des droits des tiers et des besoins de toute la société. »


- 30 -

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :
Mise en ligne :