Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

SIGNATURE OF A STATEMENT OF UNDERSTANDING AND MUTUAL RESPECT AS WELL AS A FRAMEWORK AGREEMENT BETWEEN THE MICMACS OF GESGAPEGIAG AND THE QUÉBEC GOVERNMENT

Translation

Gesgapegiag, February 11, 1999 - The Chief of the Band Council of Gesgapegiag, John Martin, and the Minister of Transport, Minister for Native Affairs and Minister responsible for Wildlife and Parks, Guy Chevrette, today signed two important documents designed to foster the development in partnership of this Micmac community located in Gaspésie.

In the Statement of Understanding and Mutual Respect, Québec and Gesgapegiag agree to emphasize discussion and negotiation with a view to achieving harmonious and lasting relations.

The framework agreement is the general framework within which agreements will be reached in various sectors of common interest. In the initial phase, the parties have undertaken to negotiate two agreements. The first seeks to have the Micmacs of Gesgapegiag participate in partnership in the management and development of forest and wildlife resources. The second agreement involves the construction and operation of an ethno-tourism centre in the community. In the second phase, other sectors such as economic development, education, health, public security and taxation may be negotiated.

Chief John Martin stated: "The Gesgapegiag Band Council has been working on this file for close to two years now. We are happy that finally we are going to sign this framework agreement. We intend to remain fully committed to our vision which is to exploit the territories concerned in a manner consistent with the traditional Micmaq world view. The agreement represents serious potential to improve our economic and social situation which has been deplorable for the past few hundred years. We hope that the outcome will be something that our people and the Quebec government can be proud of. This initiative is not a final solution by a long shot, but it represents the first serious step in the right direction in along, long time by the Quebec government in their relationship with us."

"These agreements flow from the new approach defined in the guidelines the Québec government adopted in April 1998," Mr. Chevrette noted. "This is one more practical step towards achieving a partnership between the Québec government and native people. We will continue to take significant steps to encourage aboriginal communities to participate in the development of their region. This is how our government wants to harmonize relations between native and non-native people in Québec," Minister Chevrette concluded.

- 30 -


SOURCES:
Esther Boily
Office of Minister Guy Chevrette
Telephone: (418) 643-6980
Fax: (418) 643-2033
Band Council of Gesgapegiaq
Telephone: (418) 759-3441
Fax: (418) 759-5856
Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as if :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 1999 > Communiqué du 11 février 1999

SIGNATURE D'UNE DÉCLARATION DE COMPRÉHENSION ET DE RESPECT MUTUEL AINSI QUE D'UNE ENTENTE-CADRE ENTRE LES MICMACS DE GESGAPEGIAG ET LE GOUVERNEMENT DU QUÉBEC

Gesgapegiag, le jeudi 11 février 1999 - Le chef du Conseil de bande de Gesgapegiag, M. John Martin, et le ministre des Transports, ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones et ministre responsable de la Faune et des Parcs, M. Guy Chevrette, ont signé aujourd'hui deux documents d'importance visant à favoriser le développement en partenariat de cette communauté micmaque située en Gaspésie.

Dans la Déclaration de compréhension et de respect mutuel, Québec et Gesgapegiag s'engagent à privilégier la voie de la discussion et de la négociation en vue de l'établissement d'une relation harmonieuse et durable.

L'entente-cadre constitue le cadre général dans lequel seront conclues des ententes dans différents secteurs d'intérêt commun. Dans une première phase, les parties s'engagent à négocier deux ententes. La première vise la participation en partenariat des Micmacs de Gesgapegiag à la gestion et la mise en valeur des ressources forestières et fauniques. La deuxième entente concerne la construction et la mise en opération d'un centre ethno-touristique dans cette communauté. Lors d'une seconde phase, d'autres secteurs tels que le développement économique, l'éducation, la santé, la sécurité publique et la fiscalité pourront faire l'objet de négociation.

Selon le chef John Martin, « le Conseil de bande de Gesgapegiag travaille à ce dossier depuis maintenant près de deux ans. Nous sommes heureux de pouvoir enfin signer cette entente-cadre. Nous entendons rester fidèles à notre vision, qui est d'exploiter les territoires concernés d'une façon qui correspond à la vision traditionnelle micmaque du monde. L'entente a de fortes chances de pouvoir améliorer réellement les conditions économiques et sociales déplorables que connaissent les Micmacs depuis des centaines d'années. Nous espérons que notre peuple et le gouvernement du Québec pourront être fiers des résultats qu'elle permettra d'obtenir. Cette entente est loin d'être une solution définitive, mais représente de la part du gouvernement du Québec la première tentative sérieuse depuis longtemps de faire un pas dans la bonne direction dans sa relation avec nous. »

« Ces ententes se situent dans la nouvelle approche définie dans les orientations du gouvernement du Québec adoptées en avril 1998, a soutenu le ministre Guy Chevrette. Il s'agit à nouveau d'un geste concret de partenariat entre le gouvernement du Québec et les Autochtones. Nous continuerons à poser des gestes significatifs de façon à favoriser la participation des communautés au développement économique de leur région. C'est de cette façon que notre gouvernement voit à assurer l'harmonisation des relations entre les Autochtones et les non-Autochtones au Québec », a conclu le ministre Chevrette.

- 30 -

Sources :

Cabinet du ministre Guy Chevrette
Téléphone : (418) 643-6980
Télécopieur : (418) 643-2033

Conseil de bande de Gesgapegiaq
Téléphone : (418) 759-3441
Télécopieur : (418) 759-5856

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :
Mise en ligne :