Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

SIGNATURE OF TEN AGREEMENTS BETWEEN KAHNAWAKE AND QUÉBEC

MONTRÉAL, March 30, 1999 - The Grand Chief of the Mohawk Council of Kahnawake, Mr. Joseph Tokwiro Norton, the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of State for the Economy and Finance, Mr. Bernard Landry, and the Minister of Transport, Minister for Native Affairs, and Minister responsible for Wildlife and Parks, Mr. Guy Chevrette, today signed ten sectoral agreements arising from the framework agreement of October 15, 1998.

These agreements are designed to harmonize relations between Kahnawake and Québec. They indicate the result that can be achieved when two parties honestly and in good faith seek mutually agreed upon solutions in different fields of common interest where both parties benefit.

The agreements cover the fiscal matters related to consumer goods and services; fiscal matters related to tobacco, fuel and alcoholic beverages; transportation and user fees; economic development; administration of justice; registration of births, marriages and deaths; child care; police services; combat sports; and liquor permits.

After Kahnawake and Québec signed a Statement of Understanding and Mutual Respect, as well as a framework agreement, last October 15, intensive negotiations involving seven Québec government departments were held to achieve these ten sectoral agreements. Five sectors had already been identified in the framework agreement, namely fiscal matters, economic development, public security, administration of justice and user fees. The issue of child care was subsequently added.

Agreement on fiscal matters related to tobacco, petroleum and alcohol products

Under this agreement, the Mohawk Council of Kahnawake will ensure that tobacco products, fuel and alcoholic beverages sold on the territory are obtained from authorized sources. It will also ensure that the price of products sold to non-aboriginal people is within the market price.

In addition, a simpler mechanism dealing with specific taxes on cigarettes, alcohol and fuel, will be established for the purpose of reimbursement.

Agreement on fiscal matters related to consumer goods and services

This agreement confirms and broadens the personal exemption of the Mohawks of Kahnawake regarding the purchase of goods and services for personal consumption, while implementing a better control system to prevent abuses.

Goods and services purchased by a Mohawk of Kahnawake within the territory of Kahnawake will continue to be tax-exempt. Outside the territory, purchases of goods by a Mohawk of Kahnawake will be tax-exempt upon presentation of an identification card. However, the card will not be valid regarding the consumption of most services outside the territory. The agreement will be implemented gradually, in view of the time required to set up the identification card system.

The Mohawk Council of Kahnawake will have primary responsibility for overseeing the effective operation of this system. For the purposes of this agreement the parties agree to share and exchange information on the list of card-holders.

Agreement on transport and user fees

This agreement settles the issue of user fees and the sharing of responsibilities in regard to the management of the road system. It stipulates payment of compensation by Québec to Kahnawake for the use of its territory for the purposes of highways 132, 138 and 207.

Kahnawake will be fully responsible for the management of roads located within its territory. The agreement also stipulates the implementation of arrangements needed to improve public transit: traffic control, traffic signals, police services and other related matters.

Agreement on economic development

This agreement fosters economic development and job creation for the Mohawks of Kahnawake. The purpose of the agreement is to ensure that economic projects from Kahnawake will be able to benefit from the aboriginal development fund which will be set up in 1999. In addition, Kahnawake will continue to be eligible for the Québec government's regular assistance programs.

Agreement on the administration of justice

Under this agreement, a mediation system will be implemented for family matters, youth, civil disputes (small claims), the appointment of justices of the peace and the solemnization of civil marriages.

Agreement on the registration of births, marriages and deaths

The purpose of this agreement is to strengthen cooperation between the Director of civil status and the Kahnawake Registrar regarding the registration of births, marriages and deaths, while avoiding duplication of administrative procedures.

Agreement on child care

This agreement enables the Ministère de la Famille et de l'Enfance to recognize the Kahnawake child care centre. This centre will be recognized as a non-profit legal person.

Agreement on police services

The purpose of this agreement is to define the framework for effective cooperation between the parties regarding police services to maintain peace, order and public security in Kahnawake. It is different from previous agreements on policing in that it is now bipartite between Québec and Kahnawake.

Agreement on combat sports

This agreement sets up a framework for effective cooperation between the parties regarding the issue and control of permits for professional combat sports within the territory of Kahnawake. The Kahnawake Athletic Commission will be responsible for issuing, suspension and cancellation of permits.

Agreement on liquor permits

This agreement sets up a framework for effective cooperation between the parties regarding the issue and control of liquor permits within the territory. This agreement also stipulates that alcoholic beverages supplied or sold within the territory of Kahnawake must be obtained from the Société des alcools du Québec or other authorized sources.

In general, the agreements are for five years and are renewed automatically, unless written notice to the contrary is given by either party. They do not have treaty force. Each agreement stipulates that a joint liaison committee is to be set up to oversee the implementation of the agreement.

Grand Chief Joseph Tokwiro Norton said: "We set out to find solutions to the problems that affected both our peoples. When this started, I had said that we needed to make things easier for our children in the future so that they would not have to endure what we have been through. The overall impact of the agreements, I believe, is a giant step in that direction. Today's signing shows that both Kahnawake and Québec working from two different perspectives can accommodate each other in a constructive and responsible manner."

Mr. Bernard Landry noted: "The agreements we are signing today flow from a Statement of Understanding and Mutual Respect, and are designed to maintain harmonious relations while providing a better foundation for Kahnawake's economic and social development."

For his part, Minister Guy Chevrette stated: "These agreements demonstrate the new approach defined in the guidelines the Québec government adopted in April 1998. This is the first series of sectoral agreements the government has signed with a native community since the policy was initiated. The objective is to live in harmony, while respecting our differences, with native communities, without hindrances, in fairness and transparency. We will continue to take significant steps to encourage the participation of the native communities in the economic development of their region to secure a better future for their young people."

- 30 -


SOURCES:
Esther Boily
Office of Minister Guy Chevrette
Telephone: (418) 643-6980
Fax: (418) 643-2033
Timmy Norton
Public Relations Officer
Mohawk Council of Kahnawake
Telephone: (514) 632-7500
Fax: (514) 638-5958
Andrée Corriveau
Associate Executive Assistant
Press Officer
Office of the Deputy Prime Minister
Telephone: (418) 643-5270
Fax : (418) 643-6626

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as if :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 1999 > Communiqué du 30 mars 1999

SIGNATURE DE DIX ENTENTES ENTRE KAHNAWAKE ET LE QUÉBEC

Montréal, le 30 mars 1999 - Le grand chef du Conseil mohawk de Kahnawake, M. Joseph Tokwiro Norton, le vice-premier ministre et le ministre d'État à l'Économie et aux Finances, M. Bernard Landry, et le ministre des Transports, ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones et ministre responsable de la Faune et des Parcs, M. Guy Chevrette, ont signé aujourd'hui dix ententes sectorielles découlant de l'entente-cadre du 15 octobre 1998.

Ces ententes visent l'harmonisation des relations entre Kahnawake et le Québec. Elles témoignent du résultat que l'on peut atteindre lorsque deux parties recherchent, en toute bonne foi et sincérité, des solutions mutuellement acceptables dans divers secteurs d'intérêt commun et dont les deux parties bénéficient.

Les ententes portent sur la fiscalité des services et des biens de consommation, sur la fiscalité du tabac, des carburants et des boissons alcooliques, sur les transports et les droits d'usage, sur le développement économique, sur l'administration de la justice, sur l'inscription des naissances, des mariages et des décès, sur l'aide à la petite enfance, sur les services de police, sur les sports de combat et sur les permis d'alcool.

Depuis la signature, le 15 octobre dernier, entre Kahnawake et le Québec d'une déclaration de compréhension et de respect mutuel ainsi que d'une entente-cadre, des négociations intensives impliquant la collaboration de sept ministères québécois se sont déroulées afin d'en arriver à ces dix ententes sectorielles. Cinq secteurs avaient été préalablement identifiés dans l'entente-cadre, soit les questions fiscales, le développement économique, la sécurité publique, l'administration de la justice et les droits d'usage. Le sujet de la petite enfance s'est ajouté par la suite.

L'entente sur la fiscalité du tabac, des carburants et des boissons alcooliques

Par cette entente, le Conseil mohawk de Kahnawake s'assurera que les produits du tabac, les carburants et les boissons alcooliques vendus sur le territoire proviennent de sources autorisées. Il veillera également à ce que le prix des produits vendus à des non-Autochtones corresponde au prix du marché.

De plus, un mécanisme plus simple sera établi pour le remboursement des taxes spécifiques sur les cigarettes, l'alcool et le carburant.

L'entente sur la fiscalité des services et des biens de consommation

Cette entente confirme et élargit l'exemption personnelle des Mohawks de Kahnawake sur l'achat de biens et services pour leur consommation personnelle, tout en mettant en place un meilleur système de contrôle afin d'éviter les abus.

Les biens et les services achetés par un Mohawk de Kahnawake sur le territoire de Kahnawake continueront d'être exempts de taxe. À l'extérieur du territoire, les achats de biens par un Mohawk de Kahnawake seront exempts de taxe sur présentation d'une carte d'identité. Celle-ci ne sera cependant pas valide en ce qui a trait à la consommation de la plupart des services à l'extérieur du territoire. L'implantation de cette entente sera progressive, compte tenu du temps requis pour la mise en place du système de cartes d'identité.

Le Conseil mohawk de Kahnawake aura la responsabilité première de veiller au bon fonctionnement de ce système. Pour les fins d'application de l'entente, les parties ont convenu d'échanger et de partager des renseignements sur la liste des détenteurs de ces cartes.

L'entente sur les transports et les droits d'usage

Cette entente règle la question des droits d'usage et le partage des responsabilités liées à la gestion du réseau routier. Elle prévoit le versement d'une indemnisation du Québec à Kahnawake pour l'utilisation de son territoire aux fins des routes 132, 138 et 207.

Kahnawake sera pleinement responsable de la gestion des routes situées sur son territoire. L'entente prévoit également la mise en place des arrangements nécessaires pour améliorer le transport en commun : contrôle de la circulation, signalisation, services policiers et autres matières de nature connexe.

L'entente sur le développement économique

Cette entente favorise le développement économique et la création d'emplois pour les Mohawks de Kahnawake. Le but de l'entente est de s'assurer que les projets économiques en provenance de Kahnawake pourront bénéficier du fonds de développement pour les Autochtones qui sera mis sur pied en 1999. En outre, Kahnawake continuera d'être admissible aux programmes d'aide réguliers du gouvernement du Québec.

L'entente sur l'administration de la justice

Cette entente permet la mise sur pied d'un système de médiation en matière de relations familiales, de jeunesse et de litiges civils (petites créances), la nomination de juges de paix et la célébration de mariages civils.

L'entente sur l'inscription des naissances, des mariages et des décès

Le but de l'entente est de renforcer la collaboration entre le Directeur de l'état civil et le Registraire de Kahnawake en ce qui concerne l'inscription des naissances, des mariages et des décès, tout en évitant le dédoublement des procédures administratives.

L'entente sur l'aide à la petite enfance

Cette entente permet au ministère de la Famille et de l'Enfance de reconnaître le Centre de la petite enfance de Kahnawake. Ce centre sera reconnu comme une personne morale sans but lucratif.

L'entente sur les services de police

Cette entente a pour objet de définir le cadre d'une coopération effective entre les parties en matière de services de police afin de préserver la paix, l'ordre et la sécurité publique à Kahnawake. Elle diffère des ententes précédentes sur les services de police en ce qu'elle est maintenant bipartite entre le Québec et Kahnawake.

L'entente sur les sports de combat

Cette entente établit un cadre de coopération efficace entre les parties en ce qui a trait à la délivrance et au contrôle des permis relatifs aux sports de combat professionnels sur le territoire de Kahnawake. La Commission athlétique de Kahnawake sera chargée de la délivrance, de la suspension et de l'annulation des permis.

L'entente sur les permis d'alcool

Cette entente établit un cadre de coopération efficace entre les parties en ce qui a trait à la délivrance et au contrôle des permis d'alcool dans le territoire. Elle prévoit également que les boissons alcooliques fournies ou vendues sur le territoire de Kahnawake devront provenir de la Société des alcools du Québec ou d'autres fournisseurs autorisés.

Les ententes ont en général une durée de cinq ans et se renouvellent automatiquement, à moins d'un avis contraire donné par écrit par l'une ou l'autre des parties. Elles n'ont pas valeur de traité. Chaque entente prévoit la mise sur pied d'un comité de liaison conjoint chargé de voir à la mise en œuvre de l'entente.

Le grand chef Joseph Tokwiro Norton a déclaré : « Nous nous sommes mis à la recherche de solutions aux problèmes qui touchent nos deux peuples. Au début de notre démarche, j'ai déclaré qu'il nous faut faire en sorte qu'à l'avenir, les choses soient plus faciles pour nos enfants afin qu'ils n'aient pas à endurer ce que nous avons vécu. Ces ententes constituent un pas de géant dans cette direction. La signature d'aujourd'hui montre que Kahnawake et le Québec, travaillant à partir de perspectives différentes, peuvent s'adapter l'un à l'autre de façon constructive et responsable ».

M. Bernard Landry a, quant à lui, soutenu : « Découlant d'une déclaration de compréhension et de respect mutuel, les ententes que nous signons aujourd'hui visent à préserver des relations harmonieuses tout en posant de meilleures bases pour le développement économique et social de Kahnawake ».

Pour sa part, M. Guy Chevrette a affirmé : « Ces ententes se situent dans la nouvelle approche définie dans les orientations du gouvernement du Québec adoptées en avril 1998. Il s'agit de la première série d'ententes sectorielles que le gouvernement signe avec une communauté autochtone depuis le lancement de la politique. L'objectif est de s'assurer de vivre d'une façon harmonieuse, dans le respect de nos différences, avec les communautés autochtones, sans entraves, avec équité et transparence. Nous continuerons de poser des gestes significatifs pour encourager la participation des communautés au développement économique de leur région afin d'assurer à leurs jeunes un avenir meilleur. »

- 30 -


Sources :

Cabinet du ministre Guy Chevrette
Téléphone : (418) 643-6980
Télécopieur : (418) 643-2033

Andrée Corriveau
Directrice adjointe
Responsable des communications
Cabinet du vice-premier ministre
Téléphone : (418) 643-5270
Télécopieur : (418) 643-6626

Timmy Norton
Agent de relations publiques
Conseil des Mohawks de Kahnawake
Téléphone : (514) 632-7500
Télécopieur : (514) 638-5958

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :
Mise en ligne :