Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

FRAMEWORK AGREEMENT SIGNED BETWEEN THE MICMAC NATION OF GESPEG, QUEBEC AND CANADA

Translation

DOMAINE CATARAQUI, SILLERY, QUEBEC, MAY 18, 1999 - Linda Jean Simon, Chief of the Micmac Nation of Gespeg, Guy Chevrette the Quebec Minister of Transportation and Minister responsible for Aboriginal Affairs, Wildlife and Parks, and Jane Stewart, Minister of Indian and Northern Affairs today signed a framework agreement for negotiating self-government for the Micmac Nation of Gespeg.

The purpose of the negotiations is to specify the nature and extent of self-government for the Gespeg band as it applies to activities agreed to by all parties concerned. This framework agreement will allow the Gespeg Micmacs greater self-government and control over their own social and economic development.

In particular, the framework agreement sets out the negotiation process and the form of self-government and economic, social and cultural development for the Micmac Nation of Gespeg. These negotiations will also deal with their land base and other land-related matters, such as traditional activities of hunting, fishing, trapping and food-gathering.

Micmac Chief Linda Jean Simon was very happy with the agreement's signing, declaring: "Today is a historic moment for the Gespeg Micmacs. Signing the framework agreement has paved the way to negotiating a new social contract that will match our expectations. Self-government is one of the keys to our future social, cultural and economic development."

Minister Guy Chevrette stated: "This project is completely in line with the Quebec government's new policy guidelines announced in April 1998. In fact, these guidelines represent a new approach in encouraging self-government and financial independence for Aboriginal communities and I am pleased that the Micmac Nation of Gespeg is able to take advantage of this opportunity."

Minister Jane Stewart affired that "the signing of this agreement sets the stage for very promising self-government perspectives for the Gespeg Micmacs. Renewing partnerships and strengthening communities' social and economic foundations are priorities of the federal government's action plan, " Gathering Strength,"and the agreement signed today is very much in line with the new federal thrust."

The Micmac Nation of Gespeg was formally recognized as an Indian band in 1973. It is the only Indian band in Quebec without a reserve or properties.

In July 1998, the governments of Canada, Quebec and the Micmac Nation of Gespeg started negotiations on self-government for the band. In January 1999, negotiators finalized the terms of the framework agreement that was signed today.

The three stakeholders plan to conclude an agreement-in-principle within two years. A final agreement, together with an implementation plan, will be signed in the year after the agreement-in-principle is signed.

Last April, some 20 representatives from various organizations in the region attended an information session in Gaspé. At this session, representatives from each of the three stakeholder groups explained their respective visions, the self-government negotiation process and the framework agreement's objectives. Other information sessions are scheduled to take place as negotiations continue.

- 30 -


Contacts: Chantal Cleary
(Le Groupe Cleary)
Gaspé Micmac First Nation
Tel. : (418) 842-3282
Esther Boily
Minister Guy Chevrette's office
Tel. : ( 418) 643-6980
Kelly Acton
Minister Jane Stewart's office
Tel. : (819) 997-0002
Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as if :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 1999 > Communiqué du 18 mai 1999

SIGNATURE D'UNE ENTENTE-CADRE ENTRE LA NATION MICMAC DE GESPEG, LE QUÉBEC, LE CANADA

Domaine Cataraqui, Sillery, le 18 mai 1999 – La chef de la Nation Micmac de Gespeg, Mme Linda Jean Simon, le ministre des Transports, ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones et ministre responsable de la Faune et des Parcs, M. Guy Chevrette, et la ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien, Mme Jane Stewart, ont signé aujourd’hui une entente-cadre pour la négociation concernant l’autonomie gouvernementale de la Nation Micmac de Gespeg.

Cette négociation a pour objet de préciser la nature et l’étendue de l’autonomie gouvernementale de cette communauté micmaque située dans la région de Gaspé, autonomie qui s’exercera dans des domaines convenus entre les parties. Cette entente-cadre vise à permettre aux Micmacs de Gespeg d’exercer une plus grande autonomie gouvernementale et d’assurer eux-mêmes leur propre développement socio-économique.

L’entente-cadre prévoit notamment la négociation de la structure d’autonomie gouvernementale ainsi que du développement économique, social et culturel de la Nation Micmac de Gespeg. Cette négociation portera également sur l’assise territoriale de la nation et sur des sujets, tels que la pratique des activités traditionnelles de chasse, de pêche, de piégeage et de cueillette.

La chef micmaque, Mme Linda Jean Simon, s’est réjouie de la conclusion de cette entente-cadre : « C’est aujourd’hui un moment historique pour les Micmacs de Gespeg. La signature de cette entente-cadre ouvre toutes grandes les portes à la négociation d’un nouveau contrat social à la dimension de nos espoirs. L’autonomie gouvernementale est une des clés d’avenir importantes pour notre développement social, culturel et économique », a-t-elle déclaré.

Pour sa part, le ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones, M. Guy Chevrette, a affirmé : « Ce projet s’inscrit tout à fait dans le cadre des orientations du gouvernement du Québec rendues publiques en avril 1998. En effet, ces orientations proposent une nouvelle approche pour favoriser le développement de l’autonomie gouvernementale et financière des communautés autochtones et je suis heureux que la Nation Micmac de Gespeg profite de cette ouverture. »

La ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien, Mme Jane Stewart, a soutenu : « La signature d’une telle entente laisse entrevoir des perspectives très prometteuses en matière d’autonomie gouvernementale pour les Micmacs de Gespeg. Dans le plan d’action du gouvernement fédéral, Rassembler nos forces, le renouvellement du partenariat et le renforcement socio-économique des collectivités constituent des priorités et visent la conclusion d’ententes semblables à celle signée aujourd’hui. »

La reconnaissance formelle de la Nation Micmac de Gespeg comme bande indienne remonte à 1973. Il s’agit de la seule bande sans réserve et sans établissement indien au Québec.

En juillet 1998, les gouvernements du Canada et du Québec et la Nation Micmac de Gespeg commençaient les négociations concernant l’autonomie gouvernementale de cette communauté. En janvier 1999, les négociateurs ont convenu d’un accord pour une entente-cadre, entente qui fait aujourd’hui l’objet d’une signature.

Les trois parties prévoient conclure une entente de principe dans un délai de deux ans. Une entente finale, accompagnée d’un plan de mise en œuvre, sera ensuite conclue dans l’année qui suivra la signature de l’entente de principe.

En avril dernier, une séance d’information a eu lieu à Gaspé, à laquelle ont assisté une vingtaine de représentants de divers organismes de la région. Les représentants de chacune des trois parties ont expliqué leur vision et le processus de négociation de l’autonomie gouvernementale ainsi que les objectifs de l’entente-cadre. D’autres séances d’information sont prévues au cours des négociations.

- 30 -

Sources :
Chantal Cleary
Le Groupe Cleary
Nation Micmac de Gespeg
Tél. : (418) 842-3282

Cabinet du ministre
Guy Chevrette
Tél. : ( 418) 643-6980

Kelly Acton
Cabinet du ministre Jane Stewart
Affaires indiennes et du
Nord Canada
Tél. : (819) 997-0002

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :
Mise en ligne :