Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

SIGNING OF A TRIPARTITE POLITICAL ACCORD TO CREATE NUNAVIK COMMISSION

Montréal, November 5, 1999 - A tripartite political agreement providing for the creation of the Nunavik Commission was signed today by Pita Aatami, president of the Makivik Corporation; Guy Chevrette, Québec Minister of Transport, minister for Native Affairs, minister responsible for Wildlife and Parks, and for the Nord-du-Québec region; Joseph Facal, Québec Minister of Canadian Intergovernmental Affairs; and Robert Nault, federal Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development.

The mandate of the commission, which will be created shortly, is to make recommendations on a form of government for Nunavik, the territory covering the area of Quebec north of the 55th parallel. These proposals will include an action plan, recommendations on the structure, operation and powers of a Nunavik government, as well as an implementation timetable.

The three signatories have agreed that the proposed Nunavik government falls within existing Canadian and Québec jurisdiction. At the same time, it must also meet the needs of the Inuit and other Nunavik residents. This future government should also be provided with the necessary resources for its operations and a form of self-government for Nunavik.

"We have been working for this for more than 20 years," said Makivik president Pita Aatami as he signed the agreement on behalf of all Nunavik organizations, including his own, representing some 9,000 Nunavik Inuit. "This is an important step in helping all Nunavik residents move towards democratic government and management of their own affairs. The accord represents a natural political development in both Québec and Canada. We are eager to see what the commission will produce."

Minister Chevrette said: "The signing of this political accord is an extremely important stage in the evolving relations between Québec and the Inuit and is part of the process that has been growing over the last 30 years. During this time, the Inuit people and their institutions have successfully taken charge of their own development. I am particularly pleased with the fact that the proposed Nunavik government will be non-ethnic, and will represent all the people living north of the 55th parallel. I am proud that the Québec government has taken this step with the Inuit, in collaboration with the federal government, and will take an active part in the commission's work."

"For many years, the Inuit of northern Québec have hoped to create a unique and innovative form of government. Today they are one step closer to realizing that goal," said Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development Robert Nault. "Canada is committed to improving the capacity of Aboriginal people and strengthening their economic development as they establish effective and accountable governments. As outlined in Gathering Strength - Canada's Aboriginal Action Plan, the federal government supports improving the lives of Aboriginal people."

The Commission, which will be created shortly, will have two co-chairs, one to be appointed by the Nunavik party and one by the Québec government. It will also have six commissioners, two to be appointed by the Nunavik party, two by the Government of Québec and two by the Government of Canada.

The commission will present its recommendations eight months after its creation.

- 30 -

Contacts: Stephen Hendrie
Makivik Corporation
(514) 386-0669
Esther Boily
Office of Minister Guy Chevrette
(418) 643-6980
Marie-Dominique Loignon
Indian Affairs and Northern Development Canada
(819) 997-8404
Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as if :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 1999 > Communiqué du 5 novembre 1999

SIGNATURE D’UN ACCORD POLITIQUE TRIPARTITE POUR LA CRÉATION DE LA COMMISSION DU NUNAVIK

Montréal, le 5 novembre 1999 – Le président de la Société Makivik, monsieur Pita Aatami, le ministre des Transports, ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones, ministre responsable de la Faune et des Parcs et ministre responsable de la région Nord-du-Québec, monsieur Guy Chevrette, le ministre délégué aux Affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes, monsieur Joseph Facal, et le ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien, monsieur Robert Nault, ont signé aujourd’hui un accord politique pour la création de la Commission du Nunavik.

Cette commission tripartite qui sera créée prochainement sera chargée de faire des recommandations sur une forme de gouvernement pour le Nunavik, territoire couvrant la partie du Québec située au nord du 55e parallèle. Elle aura pour mandat de proposer un plan d’action et des recommandations sur la structure, le fonctionnement et les pouvoirs d’un gouvernement au Nunavik, ainsi qu’un calendrier de réalisation.

Les trois parties s’entendent pour que ce projet de gouvernement pour le Nunavik s’inscrive à l’intérieur des compétences des gouvernements du Québec et du Canada. De plus, il devra pouvoir répondre tant aux besoins des Inuits que des autres résidents du Nunavik. Ce futur gouvernement devrait aussi disposer de ressources appropriées et d’une forme d’autonomie gouvernementale pour le Nunavik.

Monsieur Pita Aatami, président de la Société Makivik qui représente quelque 9 000 Inuits du Nunavik, a signé cet accord au nom des principaux organismes du Nunavik. « Cela fait plus de 20 ans que nous travaillons à cette fin, a déclaré monsieur Aatami. C’est là une étape importante qui rapproche la population du Nunavik tout entière de la gestion des affaires publiques, puisqu’il s’agira d’un gouvernement populaire. Cet accord marque une évolution politique naturelle au Québec et au Canada. Nous attendons avec impatience ce qui va ressortir des travaux de la Commission. »

Le ministre Guy Chevrette a affirmé : « La signature de cet accord politique constitue une étape hautement importante dans l’évolution des relations entre le Québec et les Inuits, relations qui n’ont jamais cessé de s’intensifier depuis près de 30 ans. Au cours de cette période, les Inuits et leurs institutions ont d’ailleurs assumé, avec succès, la prise en charge de leur propre développement. Je me réjouis d’autant plus de ce projet, que le futur gouvernement au Nunavik aurait un caractère non ethnique et représenterait toutes les personnes résidant au nord du 55e parallèle. Je suis fier que le Québec ait initié cette démarche avec les Inuits, en collaboration avec le gouvernement fédéral, et qu’il participe activement à la Commission. »

« Depuis de nombreuses années, les Inuits du Nord québécois caressent l’espoir de créer un régime de gouvernement unique et novateur. Aujourd’hui, ils ont franchi un nouveau pas vers l’atteinte de cet objectif, a déclaré monsieur Robert Nault, ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien. Le Canada s’est engagé à perfectionner les capacités des Autochtones et à stimuler le développement économique au fur et à mesure qu’ils établissent des gouvernements efficaces et responsables. Tel qu’il est énoncé dans Rassembler nos forces : le plan d’action du Canada pour les questions autochtones, le gouvernement fédéral s’emploie à améliorer la vie des Autochtones. »

La Commission aura deux coprésidents, l’un choisi par la partie Nunavik et l’autre par le gouvernement du Québec. Elle comprendra également six commissaires dont deux nommés par la partie Nunavik, deux par le gouvernement du Québec et deux par le gouvernement fédéral.

La Commission aura huit mois, suivant sa création, pour présenter ses recommandations.

- 30 -

Sources :
Stephen Hendrie
Société Makivik
(514) 386-0669
Courriel : hendrie@makivik.org

Cabinet du ministre Chevrette
(418) 643-6980

Marie-Dominique Loignon
Ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien
(819) 997-8404

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :
Mise en ligne :