Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones


QUÉBEC, November 25, 1999 - The Chairman of Makivik Corporation, Pita Aatami, the Minister of Transport, Minister for Native Affairs, Minister responsible for Wildlife and Parks and Minister responsible for the Nord-du-Québec region, Guy Chevrette, and the federal Minister of Indian and Northern Affairs, Robert Nault, are pleased to announce the creation of the Nunavik Commission. This initiative stems from the signature, last November 5, of the political agreement between the Québec government, the Nunavik and the federal government.

The Nunavik Commission is to make recommendations on a form of government for Nunavik. It must propose an action plan and recommendations on the structure, operation and powers of a government in Nunavik, and an implementation timetable.

The Nunavik Commission is co-chaired by Harry Tulugak and André Binette. The other members are: Annie May Popert and Diane Gaumond, and Johnny N. Adams, Gérard Duhaime, Marc-Adélard Tremblay and Jules Dufour.

The Commission is to table its recommendations within eight months.

- 30 -

Contacts : Stephen Hendrie
Makivik Corporation
(514) 386-0669
Esther Boily
Office of Minister Guy Chevrette
(418) 643-6980
Marie-Dominique Loignon
Indian Affairs and Northern Development Canada
(819) 997-8404
Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as if :