Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Development of Forestry and Wildlife Resources

SIGNING OF AN AGREEMENT BETWEEN THE GOVERNMENT OF QUÉBEC AND THE BAND COUNCIL OF THE MICMACS OF GESGAPEGIAG

Gesgapegiag, June 29, 2000 -Mr. Guy Chevrette, Minister of Transport, Minister for Aboriginal Affairs and Minister for Wildlife and Parks, and Mr. Jacques Brassard, Minister of Natural Resources, are pleased to announce today the signing of an agreement with the Band Council of the Micmacs of Gesgapegiag concerning the enhancement and development of forestry and wildlife resources, in the Baldwin Township and Lake Sainte-Anne sectors, located in Baie des Chaleurs.

The aim of the agreement is to establish a process between Québec and Gesgapegiag to ensure the contribution of the Micmacs to the management and enhancement of forestry and wildlife resources as well as to the development of a Micmac expertise in this field.  Moreover, this agreement seeks to promote the social, cultural and economic development of the Community of Gesgapegiag.

In concrete terms, the agreement provides for the setting up of a steering committee that will see to the preparation of a draft integrated forestry and wildlife resource development plan for the territory of Baldwin Township. As for the territory of Lake Sainte-Anne, the agreement stipulates that the Government of Québec and the Band Council of the Micmacs of Gesgapegiag will undertake discussions pertaining to the management and enhancement of this territory, within a maximum time period of six months following the signing of this agreement.

Moreover, the Government of Québec will facilitate, through existing programs, the carrying out of specific development projects or studies stipulated in the sectorial agreement, that will promote, among other things, manpower training and job creation for the Micmacs of Gesgapegiag.

In February 1999, the Government of Québec and the Micmacs of Gesgapegiag signed a framework agreement that defines the general context for relations between Québec and this Micmac community. The parties then identified the sectors of common interest deemed to be a priority and for which they agreed to undertake negotiations.  The agreement reached today is the first sectorial agreement ensuing from the Québec-Gesgapegiag framework agreement.

Minister Chevrette emphasized that "this agreement is just another example of the desire on the part of the Government of Québec to promote the participation of the Aboriginal communities in the enhancement and development of natural resources. It also consolidates the commitment made last year, between Québec and Gesgapegiag, in favor of the preservation of harmonious relations and a partnership with regional circles".

"The agreement will make possible the integrated development of the natural  resources of the territory in question, within a sustainable development perspective  for the benefit of local communities", concluded Minister Brassard.

-30-

SOURCES:

Louise B. Accolas
Press attaché
Office of Minister Jacques Brassard
(418) 643-7295

Édith Rochette
Press attaché
Office of Minister Guy Chevrette
(418) 643-6980
For information:

Maurice Carrier
Direction des communications
Ministère des Ressources naturelles
(418) 627-8609
Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as if :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2000 > Communiqué du 29 juin 2000

Mise en valeur des ressources forestières et fauniques

SIGNATURE D’UNE ENTENTE ENTRE LE GOUVERNEMENT DU QUÉBEC ET LE CONSEIL DE BANDE DES MICMACS DE GESGAPEGIAG

Gesgapegiag, le 29 juin 2000 – Le ministre des Transports, ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones et ministre responsable de la Faune et des Parcs, monsieur Guy Chevrette, et le ministre des Ressources naturelles, monsieur Jacques Brassard, sont heureux d’annoncer aujourd’hui la signature d’une entente avec le Conseil de bande des Micmacs de Gesgapegiag concernant la mise en valeur et le développement des ressources forestières et fauniques, dans les secteurs du canton Baldwin et du lac Sainte-Anne, situés dans la baie des Chaleurs.

L’entente vise à établir un processus entre le Québec et Gesgapegiag afin d’assurer la contribution des Micmacs à la gestion et à la mise en valeur des ressources forestières et fauniques ainsi que le développement d’une expertise micmaque en la matière. Également, cette entente vise à favoriser le développement social, culturel et économique de la communauté de Gesgapegiag.

Concrètement, l’entente prévoit la mise en place d’un comité directeur, qui verra à assurer la préparation d’un projet de plan d’aménagement intégré des ressources forestières et fauniques pour le territoire du canton Baldwin. En ce qui a trait au territoire du lac Sainte-Anne, l’entente stipule que le gouvernement du Québec et le Conseil de bande des Micmacs de Gesgapegiag entreprendront des discussions relatives à la gestion et à la mise en valeur de ce territoire, dans un délai maximal de six mois suivant la signature de la présente entente.

Également, le gouvernement du Québec facilitera, à même les programmes existants, la réalisation de projets d’aménagement spécifiques ou d’études prévues dans l’entente sectorielle, qui favoriseront notamment la formation de la main-d’œuvre et la création d’emplois pour les Micmacs de Gesgapegiag.

Rappelons qu’en février 1999, le gouvernement du Québec et les Micmacs de Gesgapegiag ont procédé à la signature d’une entente-cadre qui détermine le contexte général des relations entre le Québec et cette communauté micmaque. Les parties ont alors identifié les secteurs d’intérêt commun jugés prioritaires sur lesquels ils s’engageaient à entreprendre des négociations. L’entente conclue aujourd’hui est la première entente sectorielle découlant de l’entente-cadre Québec-Gesgapegiag.

Le ministre Chevrette a souligné que « cette entente constitue un autre exemple de la volonté du gouvernement du Québec à favoriser la participation des communautés autochtones à la mise en valeur et au développement des ressources naturelles. Elle consolide également l’engagement contracté l’an dernier, entre le Québec et Gesgapegiag, en faveur du maintien de relations harmonieuses et d’un partenariat avec le milieu régional ».

« L’entente permettra l’aménagement intégré des ressources naturelles du territoire visé, dans une perspective de développement durable au bénéfice des collectivités locales», a conclu le ministre Brassard.

- 30 -

SOURCES :
Louise B. Accolas
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre Jacques Brassard
(418) 643-7295

Édith Rochette
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre Guy Chevrette
(418) 643-6980

Pour information :
Maurice Carrier
Direction des communications
Ministère des Ressources naturelles
(418) 627-8609

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :
Mise en ligne :