Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

A SIGNIFICANT STEP HAS BEEN TAKEN IN THE NEGOTIATION WITH THE INNU OF MAMUITUN

QUÉBEC, July 6, 2000 - The Chiefs of the three First Nations part of the Mamuitun Tribal Council, René Simon of Betsiamites, Denis Ross of Essipit and Clifford Moar of Mashteuiatsh, as well as Québec Minister of Transport, Minister for Native Affairs and Minister responsible for Wildlife and Parks, Guy Chevrette, and the federal Minister of International Trade, Pierre Pettigrew on behalf of the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development, Robert Nault, announced today that a significant step has been taken towards the settlement of the comprehensive land claim.  The Mamuitun Tribal Council represents close to 60% of the Innu population of Québec.

The parties agreed upon a common approach on themes that were until today of major differences. This approach specifies the principal elements that will form the basis of negotiation of an agreement-in-principle concerning the rights of the Innu in Québec.  This document deals, among others, with the rights of the Innu, the settlement land, self-government, financial transfers and economic development measures.

The Common Approach does not bind the parties legally.  It sets out the following guidelines for the discussions to come:

Rights and settlement land

In the Nitassinan of Mamuitun (ancestral Innu territory), about 535 km2 of the land will be held in title by the Innu, i.e. twice the current surface area of the reserves.  The Innu governments will exercise legislative jurisdiction on this territory and its citizens. This jurisdiction, which remains to be determined, will be supervised by the Innu Constitutions in conformity with the provisions of the agreement to come.  Specific agreements to provide access to these lands for public utilities will be agreed upon.

On the remainder of Nitassinan, the Innu rights to hunt, fish, trap and harvest for traditional and ritual purposes as well as their modern treaty rights will be acknowledged. The Innu will also have a right to share royalties relating to natural resources and a right to participate fully in the planning and management of the territory and natural resources as well as the environment. Protected heritage sites and parks administered by the Innu will be part of these lands.
 Furthermore, the parties agreed on creating a sub-group of independent lawyers who will contribute in finding a mutually acceptable solution to issues related to Aboriginal title and rights, to the Mamuitun First Nations self-government and the legislative power of the Mamuitun First Nations on the territory and could give effect to the attached letter as an integral part of the Common Approach.

Financial aspects

Innu governments will aim at achieving financial autonomy, taking  into consideration the recapturing of socioeconomic objectives that will be agreed upon between the parties.  Also, an Innu fiscal system will be implemented with the result that the Innu will gradually contribute to the functioning of their government and the funding of their programs and services.

As was the case in all settlements of comprehensive land claims in Canada, financial transfers will be part of the agreement.  The government of Canada will transfer an amount of $250 million.  Québec will pay $90 million in compensation for developments in the past, including those relating to hydroelectric developments.

These amounts will allow the Innu to participate in the regional development of Saguenay—Lac-Saint-Jean and Haute-Côte-Nord.

Towards an agreement in principle

The Chiefs of Betsiamites, Essipit and Mashteuiatsh declared: "The recognition of the Aboriginal title and ancestral rights, including the general context of the inherent right to self government, must be the basis for an agreement between the Innu, the government of Québec and the government of Canada".

Minister Guy Chevrette is satisfied with the results obtained to date and is confident that the  Common Approach will facilitate the conclusion of an agreement.  "I think that this is important for the Innu as well as all other Quebecers to clarify the situation and understand each others rights, stated Mr. Chevrette.  Now that we are working on an assumption of reaching a settlement, Québec expects to closely involve the regional communities in this exercise.  Finally, I hope the other Innu communities will join this process in the near future".

"The Common Apprach is the result of many months of intensive negociations said the
Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development, Robert Nault. Negociators for all the parties should be commended for their hard work and for the positive results they have achieved.  This Common Approach establishes clear guidelines and a strong foundation for negotiations of an Agreement-In-Principle and  demonstrates that significant progress is being made toward the resolution of the Innu comprehensive land claim.  The settlement of this claim will expand the economic opportunities of the Innu of Mamuitun and encourages the participation of stable and self-sufficient Aboriginal governments in the economic growth of Québec and Canada".

The three parties therefore wish that this common approach will facilitate the continuation of negotiations and their outcome within a reasonable time.

This news release as well as the Common Approach are available on the websites of the Mamuitun Tribal Council, the Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones du Québec and Indian Affairs and Northern Development Canada.

- 30-


SOURCES :

Édith Rochette
Press attaché
Office of Minister Guy Chevrette
(418) 643-6980
Denis Gill
Negociator Associate
Mamuitun Tribal Council
(418) 275-7796
Hélène Philippe
Manager, Communications Indian Affairs and Northern Development Canada
(418) 648-7675
Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as if :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2000 > Communiqué du 6 juillet 2000

UNE ÉTAPE IMPORTANTE EST FRANCHIE DANS LA NÉGOCIATION AVEC LES INNUS DE MAMUITUN

Québec, le 6 juillet 2000 — Les chefs des trois Premières nations regroupées au sein du Conseil tribal Mamuitun, MM. René Simon de Betsiamites, Denis Ross d'Essipit et Clifford Moar de Mashteuiatsh, le ministre des Transports, ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones et ministre responsable de la Faune et des Parcs, M.Guy Chevrette, et le ministre du Commerce international, M. Pierre Pettigrew, en remplacement du ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien, M. Robert Nault, ont annoncé aujourd'hui qu'ils ont franchi une étape marquante en vue du règlement de la négociation territoriale globale. Le Conseil tribal Mamuitun représente près de 60 % de la population innue au Québec.

En effet, les parties ont convenu d'une approche commune sur des thèmes qui faisaient jusqu'ici l'objet de divergences importantes. Cette approche précise les éléments principaux qui serviront de base à la négociation d’une entente de principe concernant les droits des Innus au Québec. Elle traite, entre autres, des droits des Innus, du territoire, de l’autonomie gouvernementale, des transferts financiers et des mesures de développement économique.

L'Approche commune ne lie pas les parties juridiquement. Pour les discussions à venir, elle pose les balises suivantes :

Les droits et le territoire

Sur le Nitassinan de Mamuitun (territoire ancestral des Innus), environ 535 km2 de terres seront détenues en pleine propriété par les Innus, soit deux fois la superficie actuelle des réserves. Les gouvernements innus exerceraient des compétences législatives sur ce territoire de même que sur leurs citoyens. Ces compétences, qui sont à déterminer, seraient encadrées par des constitutions innues conformes aux dispositions de l’entente à venir. Des accords visant notamment l'accès à ces terres pour fins d'utilité publique seraient convenus.

Sur le reste du Nitassinan, les droits des Innus de chasse, de pêche, de piégeage et de cueillette à des fins traditionnelles et ancestrales ainsi que des droits modernes, issus du traité, seraient reconnus. Les Innus auraient aussi droit à un partage des redevances issues de l'exploitation de ressources naturelles et droit de participation réelle à la planification et à la gestion du territoire et des ressources naturelles ainsi que sur l'environnement. On trouverait également des sites patrimoniaux protégés et des parcs gérés par les Innus.

De plus, les parties se sont mises d’accord pour constituer un sous-groupe de juristes externes qui aidera à trouver une solution mutuellement acceptable aux questions reliées au titre aborigène et droits ancestraux; à l’autonomie gouvernementale des Premières Nations de Mamuitun et au pouvoir législatif des Premières Nations de Mamuitun sur le territoire et qui pourrait donner suite à la lettre intégrée et jointe à l’Approche commune.

Les aspects financiers

Les gouvernements innus viseraient l'atteinte d'une autonomie financière, prenant notamment en considération des objectifs de rattrapage socio-économique qui seraient convenus entre les parties. Aussi, un régime fiscal innu serait mis en place de sorte que les Innus contribueraient progressivement au fonctionnement de leur gouvernement et au financement de leurs programmes et services.

Comme ce fut le cas dans tous les règlements de négociations territoriales globales au Canada, des transferts financiers feraient partie de l'entente. Le gouvernement du Canada transférerait un montant de l'ordre de 250 millions de dollars. Le Québec verserait une compensation de 90 millions pour les développements passés, dont ceux reliés aux aménagements hydroélectriques.

Ces montants permettraient aux Innus de s'associer au développement régional au Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean et sur la Haute-Côte-Nord.

Vers une entente de principe

Les chefs de Betsiamites, d’Essipit et de Mashteuiatsh ont déclaré : « La reconnaissance expresse du titre aborigène et des droits ancestraux dont le droit inhérent à l’autonomie gouvernementale, y compris son caractère général, doit être à la base d’une entente entre les gouvernements innus, le gouvernement du Québec et le gouvernement du Canada. »

Le ministre Guy Chevrette s’est dit satisfait des résultats obtenus à ce jour et confiant que l’Approche commune facilitera la conclusion d’une entente. « Je pense que c’est important, aussi bien pour les Innus que pour les autres Québécoises et Québécois, de clarifier la situation et de s’entendre sur les droits des uns et des autres. Et maintenant que nous travaillons sur une hypothèse réelle de règlement, le Québec entend associer très étroitement les milieux régionaux à cet exercice. J’espère enfin que les autres communautés innues se joindront à nos travaux dans un avenir rapproché, » a-t-il ajouté.

Le ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien, M. Nault, a souligné que cette approche commune se veut le reflet de longs mois de négociations intensives. « Les Innus de Mamuitun travaillent depuis de longs mois pour conclure cette approche commune. Ce fut un travail exigeant, mais le résultat vaut bien les efforts qui y ont été consacrés. Des progrès importants ont été réalisés vers la négociation d’une entente de principe. Il est important de comprendre que le règlement d’une revendication territoriale globale crée un environnement positif et stable, qui est propice aux investissements, tant pour les Autochtones que les non-Autochtones. De plus, l'autonomie gouvernementale constitue le fondement de gouvernements autochtones stables et autosuffisants, qui peuvent participer à la croissance économique du Québec et du Canada. »

Les trois parties souhaitent donc que cette approche commune facilite la poursuite des négociations jusqu'à son aboutissement dans des délais raisonnables.

Ce communiqué, le texte de l’Approche commune et d’autres documents sont disponibles sur les sites Web du Conseil tribal Mamuitun (www.mamuitun.com/negor_f.html), du Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones du Québec (www.saa.gouv.qc.ca) et du ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien (www.inac.gc.ca).


- 30 -

SOURCES :

Édith Rochette
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre Guy Chevrette
(418) 643-6980

Denis Gill
Adjoint au négociateur
Conseil tribal Mamuitun
(418) 275-7796

Hélène Philippe
Gestionnaire, communications
Ministère des Affaires
indiennes et du Nord canadien
(418) 648-7675

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :
Mise en ligne :