Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

MEDIATION AT LAC-BARRIÈRE

QUÉBEC CITY, August 25, 2000 - As part of the process set out in the Lac-Barrière Trilateral Agreement signed in 1991, special representatives of the Government of Québec, the federal government and the Council of the Algonquins of Barrière Lake met yesterday to take stock of the situation concerning forestry operations in the Kokomville sector in the La Vérendrye Wildlife Reserve, north of Maniwaki. Representatives agreed to a mediation process to begin immediately, headed by persons mandated by the Council. All of the partners intend to contribute to this mediation, where required, to ensure its success.

In recent weeks forestry operations have been interrupted north of the community of Lac-Rapide following the rejection, by certain individuals, of agreements reached by the parties concerning forest resource harvesting activities.

The special representatives also agreed to reaffirm their desire to pursue the objectives of the Trilateral Agreement, namely to reconcile the various uses of natural resources on the territory falling under the scope of the Agreement. Moreover, they have reaffirmed their support for the Council in its efforts to obtain the backing of all members of the Community of Lac-Rapide for the objectives of the Trilateral Agreement and for the harmonization measures agreed to by the parties for 2000-2001.

Chief Harry Wawatie stated: "The Trilateral Agreement is an excellent way for our community to achieve peaceful co-existence with our neighbors over the short, medium and long terms. We hope that all our members, including the Kokomville group, will join us in the pursuit of this objective. "

The situation is being monitored closely by the special representatives, and other meetings will be held as necessary.

- 30 -


For additional information, please contact:

Pierre-Sarto Blanchard
Secrétariat aux affaires
autochtones
(418) 643-3166
Hector Jérome
Council of the Algonquins of Lac-Barrière
(819) 449-9651
Sophie-Lise Ratté
Department of Indian Affairs
and Northern Development
(418) 648-3122
Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as if :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2000 > Communiqué du 25 août 2000

MÉDIATION AMORCÉE À LAC-BARRIÈRE

Québec, le 25 août 2000 — Dans le cadre du processus de l’Entente trilatérale du Lac-Barrière signée en 1991, des représentants spéciaux du gouvernement du Québec, du gouvernement fédéral et du Conseil des Algonquins du Lac-Barrière, se sont réunis hier pour faire le point sur la situation de l’exploitation forestière dans le secteur de Kokomville, de la réserve faunique de La Vérendrye, au nord de Maniwaki. Ils ont convenu d’un processus de médiation qui s’est amorcé sur l’heure et qui est piloté par des personnes mandatées par le conseil de bande. Tous les partenaires entendent contribuer à cette médiation, selon le besoin, en vue d’en assurer le succès.

On se souviendra que depuis quelques semaines, des opérations forestières sont interrompues au nord de la communauté de Lac-Rapide, à la suite du rejet, par certains individus, d’ententes prises par les parties en matière d’exploitation de la ressource forestière.

Les représentants spéciaux se sont également entendus pour réaffirmer leur adhésion à la poursuite des objectifs de l’Entente trilatérale, soit de concilier les différentes utilisations des ressources naturelles dans le territoire visé par l’entente. En outre, ils réaffirment leur appui au conseil algonquin, dans sa démarche visant à obtenir l’adhésion de tous les membres de la communauté de Lac-Rapide aux objectifs de l’Entente trilatérale et aux mesures d’harmonisation convenues entre les parties pour l’année 2000-2001.

Le chef Harry Wawatie a déclaré : « L’Entente trilatérale est un excellent moyen pour assurer à notre communauté une coexistence pacifique avec nos voisins à court, moyen et long termes. Nous souhaitons que tous nos membres, y inclus ceux de Kokomville, se joignent à nous dans la poursuite de cet objectif. »

La situation est suivie de très près par les représentants spéciaux et d’autres rencontres seront tenues au besoin.

– 30 –

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :
Mise en ligne :