Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Commemoration of the Great Peace of Montréal

THE GOVERNMENT OF QUÉBEC IS PLEASED TO BE ASSOCIATED WITH THE LAUNCHING OF THE PROGRAM OF ACTIVITIES

QUÉBEC CITY, September 12, 2000 - Mr. Guy Chevrette,  Minister of Transport, Minister for Native Affairs and Minister for Wildlife and Parks, is pleased to be associated with the launching of the program of activities unveiled today by the Corporation des fêtes de la Grande Paix de Montréal 1701-2001. The festivities, which promise to be numerous and highly diversified, will be held from September 2000 to August 2001.

The Treaty of the Great Peace of Montréal was signed in 1701 by Sieur de Callière, representing France, and by 39 Amerindian nations. This treaty put an end to the wars of the 17th century and marked a turning point in Franco-Amerindian relations. The proposed activities will commemorate this major diplomatic event in the history of New France.

It should be recalled that the Government of Québec first became associated with the commemoration of this event last May after providing a financial contribution of $3.6 million for its organization. In addition to highlighting historical facts, the celebrations will underscore the importance that must be placed on reaching agreements with the various Aboriginal communities. Minister Chevrette said that he was confident that this event would help make the public aware of the history of and the realities facing Amerindian communities: "History teaches us lessons and guides us in our present-day initiatives. We must continue to respect our partners and to negotiate, with them, agreements that will still be meaningful a few hundred years from now. Québec is pleased to be associated with the Corporation des fêtes de la Grande Paix de Montréal 1701-2001 as a major partner."

- 30 -


SOURCE:

Edith Rochette
Press attaché
Office of Minister Guy Chevrette
(418) 643-6980

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as if :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2000 > Communiqué du 12 septembre 2000

Commémoration de la Grande Paix de Montréal

LE GOUVERNEMENT DU QUÉBEC S’ASSOCIE AU LANCEMENT DE LA PROGRAMMATION

Québec, le 12 septembre 2000 — Le ministre des Transports, ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones et ministre responsable de la Faune et des Parcs, monsieur Guy Chevrette, est heureux de s’associer au lancement de la programmation dévoilée aujourd’hui par la Corporation des fêtes de la Grande Paix de Montréal 1701-2001. Les festivités, qui promettent d’être nombreuses et très diversifiées, se dérouleront de septembre 2000 au mois d’août 2001.

Le traité de la Grande Paix de Montréal a été signé en 1701 par le Sieur de Callière, représentant de la France, et par 39 nations amérindiennes. Cette entente devait mettre fin aux guerres du XVIIsiècle, marquant ainsi un tournant dans les relations franco-amérindiennes. Les activités proposées commémoreront ce grand événement diplomatique de l’histoire de la Nouvelle-France.

Rappelons que le gouvernement du Québec s’est associé à l’événement en mai dernier en accordant une contribution financière de 3,6 M$. En plus de mettre en lumière des faits historiques, les célébrations rappelleront toute l’importance à accorder à la conclusion d’ententes avec les communautés autochtones. Le ministre Chevrette s’est dit confiant que l’événement contribuera à sensibiliser la population à l’histoire et aux réalités amérindiennes : « L’Histoire nous donne des leçons et nous guide dans nos entreprises contemporaines. Il nous faut continuer à respecter nos partenaires et négocier, avec eux, des ententes qui auront encore une valeur significative dans quelques centaines d’années. Le Québec est heureux d’être associé à la Corporation des fêtes de la Grande Paix de Montréal 1701-2001 en tant que partenaire majeur. »

– 30 –

SOURCE :
Edith Rochette
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre Guy Chevrette
(418) 643-6980

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :
Mise en ligne :