Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

A realization of over $20 million

THE GRAND CHIEF NORTON AND THE MINISTER CHEVRETTE ANNOUNCE THE BEGINNING OF WORK ON THE KAHNAWAKE TRAFFIC CIRCLE

QUÉBEC, December 1, 2000 - The Grand Chief of the Mohawk Council of Kahnawake, Mr. Joseph Tokwiro Norton, and the Minister of Transport, Minister for Native Affairs and Minister responsible for Wildlife and Parks, Mr. Guy Chevrette, are pleased to announce the beginning of work on the Kahnawake Traffic Circle and the construction of a multipurpose lane on Route 132-138 at the approach to the Honoré-Mercier Bridge in Kahnawake.

The project, in the range of $20 million, includes the rehabilitation of a six-lane highway consisting of two lanes for each direction, one multipurpose lane, and one lane for left turns in both directions. This development will contribute greatly to improving traffic flow and enhancing safety in this sector, as well as significantly reducing the travelling time for all users. Work will begin within the next few weeks and will continue until next autumn.

This project was developed by a joint technical committee and forms a part of the sectoral agreement on Transportation and User Fees concluded between the Mohawk Council of Kahnawake and the Government of Quebec on March 30, 1999. Both parties agreed to review the technical report and implement the necessary measures required to improve the safety conditions along Route 138 and the Kahnawake Traffic Circle.

According to Grand Chief Joseph Tokwiro Norton, " The issue of highway safety within our territory has been a longstanding concern for the people of Kahnawake. Through the negotiation and implementation of the Agreement on Transport and User Fees between Quebec and Kahnawake, we feel that we have been able to successfully address these concerns ".

" I am glad to be associated with this project, the culmination of an effective partnership that meets the needs of the public in terms of user safety and management of all traffic demand, in a climate of mutual respect ", Mr. Chevrette concluded.

- 30 -


SOURCES:

Édith Rochette
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre Guy Chevrette
(418) 643-6980
Chuck Barnett
Agent des relations pubiques
Ententes Québec/Kahnawake
Tél. (450) 632-7500
Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as if :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2000 > Communiqué du 1er décembre 2000

Une réalisation de plus de 20 M$

LE GRAND CHEF Norton ET LE MINISTRE CHEVRETTE ANNONCENT LE DÉBUT DES TRAVAUX DU ROND-POINT KAHNAWAKE

QUÉBEC, le 1er décembre 2000 – Le Grand Chef du Conseil mohawk de Kahnawake, monsieur Joseph Tokwiro Norton, et le ministre des Transports, ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones et ministre responsable de la Faune et des Parcs, monsieur Guy Chevrette, sont heureux d’annoncer le début des travaux de réaménagement du Rond-Point Kahnawake et la construction d’une voie multifonctionnelle sur la route 132-138 à l’approche du pont Honoré-Mercier.

Le projet, de l’ordre de 20 M$, comprend la réfection complète de la chaussée à six voies, soit deux voies de circulation dans chaque direction, une voie pour usage multifonctionnel et une voie pour virage à gauche dans les deux sens. Cet aménagement contribuera grandement à améliorer la fluidité et la sécurité routière dans ce secteur, en plus de réduire de façon significative le temps de parcours pour tous les usagers. Les travaux débuteront dans les prochaines semaines pour se poursuivre jusqu’à l’automne prochain.

Ce projet a été développé par un comité technique conjoint et il fait partie de l’Entente sectorielle sur les transports et les droits d’usage conclue, le 30 mars 1999, entre le Conseil mohawk de Kahnawake et le gouvernement du Québec. Les deux parties ont accepté de mettre en œuvre les mesures nécessaires requises pour l’amélioration des conditions de la sécurité le long de la route 132-138 et au rond-point Kahnawake.

Selon le Grand Chef Joseph Tokwiro Norton : « La question de la sécurité routière sur notre territoire a longtemps été une préoccupation pour le peuple de Kahnawake. Par les négociations et l’application de l’Entente sur les transports et les droits d’usage entre le Québec et Kahnawake, nous croyons avoir réussi à répondre à ces préoccupations ».

« Je me réjouis d’être associé à ce projet qui est l’aboutissement d’un partenariat efficace, qui répond aux besoins de la population en termes de sécurité des usagers et de gestion de la circulation, et ce, dans un climat de respect mutuel », a conclu monsieur Chevrette.

– 30 –

SOURCES :
Édith Rochette
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre Guy Chevrette
(418) 643-6980

Chuck Barnett
Agent des relations publiques
Ententes Québec/Kahnawake
Tél. (450) 632-7500

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :
Mise en ligne :