Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

THE GOVERNMENT OF QUÉBEC AND THE WOLF LAKE FIRST NATION COUNCIL SIGN A SPECIAL AGREEMENT

QUÉBEC, January 16, 2001 -Mr. Harry St-Denis, Chief of the Wolf Lake First Nation Council,  and Mr. Guy Chevrette, Minister of Transport, Minister for Native Affairs, Minister for Wildlife and Parks, are pleased to announce the signing of a special agreement establishing the terms of program planning and cooperation in the field of economic development and community infrastructure. This is the first agreement signed between Québec and Wolf Lake.

Under the agreement, Québec will make available, for Wolf Lake, a budget of 1.1 million dollars over five years. This represents an average annual sum of $220 000, intended to support the carrying out of economic development and community infrastructure projects.

At least half of the project funding must be assumed by the Algonquins, the federal government or any other partner. Québec's role in the field of economic development and community infrastructure in aboriginal communities must be seen in a partnership perspective and as a complement to the initiatives of other socio-economic players.

It should be reiterated that the purpose of this financial commitment by Québec is to give the community economic leverage.  This funding is made possible thanks to the Aboriginal Development Fund. Following the special agreement, the Wolf Lake First Nation Council and the Minister will jointly agree on annual program planning.

The text of the agreement can be found at the web site of the Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones at the following address: www.saa.gouv.qc.ca.

- 30 -

Sources:
Marsha Smoke
Director of Operations
Wolf Lake Band Council
(418) 627-3628
Edith Rochette
Press attaché
Office of Minister Guy Chevrette
(418) 643-6980
Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as if :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2001 > Communiqué du 16 janvier 2001

LE GOUVERNEMENT DU QUÉBEC ET LA COMMUNAUTÉ ALGONQUINE DE WOLF LAKE SIGNENT UNE ENTENTE PARTICULIÈRE

Québec, le 16 janvier 2001 – Le chef du Conseil de la communauté algonquine de Wolf Lake, monsieur Harry St-Denis et le ministre des Transports, ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones et ministre responsable de la Faune et des Parcs, monsieur Guy Chevrette, sont heureux d’annoncer la signature d’une entente particulière établissant les modalités de programmation et de concertation en matière de développement économique et d’infrastructures communautaires. Il s’agit de la première entente signée entre le Québec et Wolf Lake.

En vertu de l’entente, le Québec rend disponible, pour Wolf Lake, une enveloppe financière de 1,1 M$ sur cinq ans. Cela représente une somme annuelle moyenne de 220 000 $ destinée à soutenir la réalisation de projets de développement économique et d’infrastructures communautaires.

Au moins la moitié du financement des projets devra être assumée par les Algonquins, le gouvernement fédéral ou tout autre partenaire. Ainsi, le rôle du Québec en matière de développement économique et d’infrastructures communautaires en milieu autochtone s’inscrit dans une perspective de partenariat et en complément aux interventions d’autres agents socio-économiques.

Rappelons que cet engagement financier du Québec vise à fournir un levier économique à la communauté. Il est rendu possible grâce au Fonds de développement pour les Autochtones. À la suite de l’entente particulière, le Conseil de bande de Wolf Lake et le ministre conviendront conjointement d’une programmation annuelle.

Le texte de l’entente est disponible sur le site Web du Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones à l’adresse www.saa.gouv.qc.ca

- 30 -

Sources :

Marsha Smoke
Directrice générale
Conseil de bande de Wolf Lake
(819) 627-3628

Édith Rochette
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre Guy Chevrette
(418) 643-6980

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :
Mise en ligne :