Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

A first in Québec

MINISTER CHEVRETTE AND THREE NATIVE LEADERS ON A MISSION TO EUROPE

QUÉBEC, January 30, 2001 - Mr. Guy Chevrette, Minister of Transport, Minister for Native Affairs and Minister for Wildlife and Parks, is today embarking upon a mission that will take him to three European cities, namely Paris, Brussels and London.  He is being accompanied by Mr. Pita Aatami, President of Makivik Corporation, Mr. Simon Awashish, Chief of the Attikamek community of Obedjiwan, and Mr. Clifford Moar, Chief of the Innu community of Mashteuiatsh.

The purpose of this mission, which is slated to last approximately ten days, is to make better known the status of relations between the Native people and the Government of Québec and to raise the awareness of European representatives about the reality of the Native people of Québec.

In each city visited, Mr. Chevrette and the three Native leaders will meet with parliamentarians, journalists, representatives of non-governmental organizations and academics interested in aboriginal issues.  They will explain, each from their own perspective, the evolution and the current status of relations between Québec and the Native People.

"This is a first, stated Minister Chevrette. Accompanied by three Native leaders who are very much involved in the development of their community or nation, I will have the opportunity to present the impact of the partnerships established in recent years and to provide a more comprehensive and realistic portrait of the relations between Québec and the Native people than the one conveyed by some individuals."

Minister Chevrette will take advantage of this mission to make European representatives more aware of the historical, geographical, cultural and socio-economic context of the Amerindian and Inuit presence in Québec.  He will deal in particular with the evolution of relations between the government and the Native people over the last thirty years and the implementation of Québec orientations in the Native affairs field entitled Partnership, Development, Actions. These orientations, made public in April 1998, center on the development of self-government for communities and nations through the negotiation of agreements, and on the economic development of the Native people through access to natural resources, manpower training, job development and the development of entrepreneurship.

The mission will also give the three Native leaders the opportunity to present the diversity and cultural wealth of the Native people of Québec, as well as to share their vision of the development of their community or nation, and the relations that they maintain with the Government of Québec.

Members of the delegation

Mr. Pita Aatami was elected President of the Makivik Corporation, an organization that represents all of the Inuit of Nunavik, in October 1998 and then re-elected in March 2000.  Prior to holding this position, he was treasurer of the Corporation from March 1993 to October 1998, and he represented the community of Kuujjuaq on the executive board from 1987 to 1993.

During the mission, Mr. Aatami will be able to present the evolution of the Inuit of Québec since the signing of the James Bay and Northern Québec Agreement in 1975 and to talk about the aspirations of the Inuit for greater political autonomy and the work of the Nunavik Commission in charge of proposing a form of regional government in Nunavik.  Finally, he will discuss the ties that the Inuit of Québec have forged with the other Inuit of the circumpolar region.

Elected for the third time in 1999 as Chief of the  Attikamek community of Obedjiwan, located in Haute-Mauricie, Mr. Simon Awashish has in turn been a school teacher and principal, President of the Attikamek nation, General Manager, then Chief of the Opitciwan Band Council (Obedjiwan).  He is also President of the Obedjiwan sawmill, created in partnership with Abitibi Consolidated, and a member of the board of directors of the Société de la faune et des parcs du Québec (FAPAQ).

Mr. Awashish will take advantage of the opportunity to describe the reality of a small Native community isolated from urban centres and which is moving from a traditional way of life geared to the practice of hunting, fishing and trapping to a way of life centering on modernity and economic development.

Since 1997 Mr. Clifford Moar has been Chief of the Inuit Community of Mashteuiatsh located in Lac-Saint-Jean. Born in the community of Mashteuiatsh, he is of Cree descent. He has an education in management,  communication and marketing, and has worked as an administrator within the community for the Amerindian Police Council, the Amerindian Museum, and the Council of the Montagnais of Lac-Saint-Jean.

During the mission, Mr. Moar will be called upon to present the content of the Common Approach recently agreed upon within the framework of the comprehensive territorial negotiations with the Innu communities that are members of the Mamuitun Tribal Council, which deals with the rights of the Innu, self-government, the territory, as well as financial and development aspects.  He will also talk about issues related to sustainable development and the environment.

The media are invited to follow the stages of this mission by consulting the Web site of the Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones at the following address: www.saa.gouv.qc.ca

Source:

Édith Rochette
Press Attaché
Office of Minister Guy Chevrette

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as if :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2001 > Communiqué du 30 janvier 2001

LE MINISTRE CHEVRETTE ET TROIS LEADERS AUTOCHTONES EN MISSION EN EUROPE

Québec, le 30 janvier 2001 – Le ministre des Transports, ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones et ministre responsable de la Faune et des Parcs, monsieur Guy Chevrette, entreprend aujourd’hui une mission qui le mènera dans trois villes européennes, soit Paris, Bruxelles et Londres. Il est accompagné de monsieur Pita Aatami, président de la Société Makivik, de monsieur Simon Awashish, chef de la communauté attikamek d’Obedjiwan et de monsieur Clifford Moar, chef de la communauté innue de Mashteuiatsh.

Cette mission, d’une durée d’une dizaine de jours, vise à mieux faire connaître l’état des relations entre les Autochtones et le gouvernement du Québec et à sensibiliser leurs interlocuteurs européens à la réalité des Autochtones du Québec.

Dans chacune des villes visitées, monsieur Chevrette et les trois leaders autochtones rencontreront notamment des parlementaires, des journalistes, des représentants d’organisations non gouvernementales et des universitaires intéressés par les questions autochtones. Ils expliqueront, à partir de leur propre perspective, l’évolution et l’état actuel des relations entre le Québec et les Autochtones.

« Il s’agit d’une première, a déclaré le ministre Chevrette. Accompagné de trois leaders fermement engagés dans le développement de leur communauté ou de leur nation, j’aurai l’occasion de présenter l’impact des partenariats établis au cours des dernières années et de dresser une vision plus complète et réaliste des relations entre le Québec et les Autochtones que celle véhiculée par certains intervenants. »

Le ministre Chevrette profitera de cette mission pour sensibiliser ses interlocuteurs européens au contexte historique, géographique, culturel et socio-économique de la présence amérindienne et inuite au Québec. Il traitera notamment de l’évolution des relations entre le gouvernement et les Autochtones au cours des trente dernières années et de la mise en œuvre des orientations québécoises en matière d’affaires autochtones intitulées Partenariat, Développement, Actions. Ces orientations, rendues publiques en avril 1998, misent sur le développement de l’autonomie gouvernementale des communautés et des nations par la négociation d’ententes et sur le développement économique des Autochtones par l’accès aux ressources naturelles, à la formation de la main-d’œuvre, au développement de l’emploi et au développement de l’entrepreneuriat.

La mission donnera également l’occasion aux trois leaders autochtones de présenter la diversité et la richesse culturelle des Autochtones du Québec, ainsi que d’exposer leur vision du développement de leur communauté ou de leur nation et des relations qu’ils entretiennent avec le gouvernement du Québec.

Les membres de la délégation

Monsieur Pita Aatami a été élu président de la Société Makivik, qui représente l’ensemble des Inuits du Nunavik, en octobre 1998 et réélu en mars 2000. Auparavant, il a été trésorier de la Société de mars 1993 à octobre 1998 et il a représenté la communauté de Kuujjuaq au conseil de direction de 1987 à 1993.

Au cours de la mission, monsieur Aatami sera à même de présenter l’évolution des Inuits du Québec depuis la signature de la Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois en 1975, de parler des aspirations des Inuits à une plus grande autonomie politique et des travaux de la Commission du Nunavik, chargée de proposer une forme de gouvernement régional au Nunavik. Enfin, il traitera des liens qu’entretiennent les Inuits du Québec avec les autres Inuits de la région circumpolaire.

Élu pour la troisième fois chef de la communauté attikamek d’Obedjiwan située en Haute-Mauricie, en 1999, monsieur Simon Awashish a été tour à tour professeur et directeur d’école, président de la nation attikamek, directeur général, puis chef du Conseil de bande d’Opitciwan (Obedjiwan). Il est également président de la scierie d’Obedjiwan, établie en partenariat avec l’entreprise Abitibi-Consolidated, et membre du conseil d’administration de la Société de la faune et des parcs du Québec (FAPAQ).

Monsieur Awashish profitera de l’occasion pour décrire la réalité d’une petite communauté autochtone isolée des centres urbains qui vit le passage d’un mode de vie traditionnel axé sur la pratique de la chasse, de la pêche et du piégeage, à un mode de vie tourné sur la modernité et le développement économique.

Monsieur Clifford Moar est chef de la communauté innue de Mashteuiatsh, située au Lac-Saint-Jean, depuis 1997. Né dans la communauté de Mashteuiatsh, il est de descendance crie. Il détient une formation en gestion, en communication et en marketing et a notamment travaillé comme administrateur au sein de la communauté pour le Conseil de la police amérindienne, le Musée amérindien et le Conseil des Montagnais du Lac-Saint-Jean.

Au cours de la mission, monsieur Moar sera appelé à présenter le contenu de l’Approche commune récemment convenue dans le cadre des négociations territoriales globales avec les communautés innues membres du Conseil tribal Mamuitun, qui traite des droits des Innus, de l’autonomie gouvernementale, du territoire, d’aspects financiers et de développement. Son propos s’étendra également aux questions liées au développement durable et à l’environnement.

Les médias sont invités à suivre les étapes de cette mission à partir du site Web du Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones à l’adresse www.saa.gouv.qc.ca

- 30 -

Source :
Édith Rochette
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre Guy Chevrette
(418) 643-6980

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :
Mise en ligne :