Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

A meeting described as being authentic and sincere

UNESCO WELCOMES MINISTER CHEVRETTE AND THE NATIVE LEADERS

PARIS, February 2, 2001 - Visiting Paris within the framework of a European mission on aboriginal affairs, Mr. Guy Chevrette, Minister of Transport, Minister for Native Affairs and Minister for Wildlife and Parks, Mr. Pita Aatami, President of Makivik Corporation, Mr. Simon Awashish, Chief of the Attikamek community of Obedjiwan, and Mr. Clifford Moar, Chief of the Innu community of Mashteuiatsh, spoke this morning at the main office of UNESCO before more than one hundred persons. The audience was made up of ambassadors, senior-level representatives of the organization, teachers, researchers and other persons interested in aboriginal questions.

During this conference, described as being authentic and sincere, Mr. Chevrette emphasized the need to establish a profitable dialogue between the Government and the Native people in order to find, in a spirit of partnership, solutions to the problems existing in their communities. He took advantage of this opportunity to talk about the orientations chosen by Québec with respect to the Native people and to present an assessment of the agreements reached in recent years.

This forum also allowed Mr. Pita Aatami, President of Makivik Corporation, to share his vision of the development of the Inuit nation by stressing the importance of the James Bay and Northern Québec Agreement.  "We have used the Agreement to our advantage, as a development tool." Moreover, Mr. Aatami expressed his great surprise at finding a Québec woman teaching Inuktituk to a group of European students in Paris.

For his part, Mr. Simon Awashish, Chief of the Attikamek community of Obedjiwan, stated: "We are firmly resolved to embrace modernism, to develop our autonomy and to create jobs for our young people, while preserving our traditions and our culture." Moreover, he stated that he was in favour of Québec's approach, which consists of reaching agreements, thereby making it possible to resolve the problems that some communities face.

In addition to dealing with the Innu language and culture, Mr. Clifford Moar, Chief of the Innu community of Mashteuiatsh, presented the Common approach recently agreed upon during the comprehensive land negotiations with the communities of the Mamuitun Tribal Council. "While much must still be done, we are working to develop a formula that will link our two nations, namely a form of partnership agreement that will allow us to live in harmony," he indicated.

At the end of the meeting, Ms Katérina Stenou, representative of the Director General of UNESCO, said that she was touched by the testimonies of the Native leaders and impressed by the quality of the relations between Québec and the Native people. In this respect, the activities of UNESCO can help make Québec's experience accessible at the international level. Moreover, she invited Minister Chevrette to take part in other activities of her organization.

During their visit to Paris, the members of the delegation were also received by Ms Christine Lazerges, Vice-President of the National Assembly.  She demonstrated a keen interest in aboriginal cultures and traditions as well as in the climate surrounding relations between Québec and the Native people.  This meeting was followed by a lunch presided over by Mr. Yves Tavernier and attended by the members of the Groupe d'amitié France-Québec at the National Assembly.

The delegation's stay in Paris also allowed the members to present their views to several representatives of the Québec, French and international press.  Finally, the members of the delegation went to the Musée de l'Homme, which will contribute to the exhibition that will be presented by the Musée de la Pointe-à-Callière in commemoration of the 300th anniversary of the Great Peace of Montréal of 1701.

"I am convinced, after this first phase of the mission, of the importance of presenting at the international level, the progress already made and the challenges that await us, said Minister Chevrette.  The interest shown in our initiative confirms the relevance of our approach which relies on negotiations rather than confrontation, in a spirit of respect and mutual understanding."

Over the next few days, the members of the delegation will travel to Brussels and London where they will once again have the opportunity to present the state of relations between Québec and the Native people.

- 30 -

Source:
Édith Rochette
Press attaché
(418) 643-6980

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as if :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2001 > Communiqué du 2 février 2001

L’UNESCO ACCUEILLE LE MINISTRE CHEVRETTE ET LES LEADERS AUTOCHTONES

Paris, le 2 février 2001 – En visite à Paris, dans le cadre de la mission qu’ils mènent présentement en Europe sur les affaires autochtones, le ministre des Transports, ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones et ministre responsable de la Faune et des Parcs, M. Guy Chevrette, le président de la Société Makivik, M. Pita Aatami, le chef de la communauté attikamek d’Obedjiwan, M. Simon Awashish, et le chef de la communauté innue de Mashteuiatsh, M. Clifford Moar, ont pris la parole ce matin au siège de l’UNESCO devant plus d’une centaine de personnes. L’auditoire était composé notamment d’ambassadeurs, de hauts fonctionnaires de l’organisation, de professeurs, de chercheurs et de diverses autres personnes intéressées par les questions autochtones.

Au cours de cette conférence, qualifiée d’authentique et de sincère, le ministre Chevrette a insisté sur la nécessité d’établir un dialogue fructueux entre le gouvernement et les Autochtones afin de trouver, dans un véritable esprit de partenariat, des solutions aux problèmes existants au sein de leurs communautés. Il a notamment profité de l’occasion pour exposer les orientations privilégiées par le Québec concernant les Autochtones ainsi que pour présenter le bilan des ententes conclues au cours des dernières années.

Cette tribune a permis au président de la Société Makivik, M. Pita Aatami, de présenter sa vision du développement de la nation inuite en insistant sur l’importance de la Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois. « Nous avons utilisé la Convention à notre avantage, comme outil de développement ». D’autre part, M. Aatami a souligné sa grande surprise de rencontrer à Paris une Québécoise enseignant l’inuktituk à un groupe d’étudiants européens.

Pour sa part, le chef de la communauté attikamek d’Obedjiwan, M. Simon Awashish, a affirmé : « Nous sommes résolus à entrer de plein pied dans le modernisme, à développer notre autonomie et à créer des emplois pour nos jeunes, tout en conservant nos traditions et notre culture ». Il s’est en outre déclaré en faveur de l’approche du Québec qui consiste à conclure des ententes, permettant ainsi de solutionner des problèmes auxquels font face certaines communautés.

En plus de traiter de la langue et de la culture innues, le chef de la communauté de Mashteuiatsh, M. Clifford Moar, a présenté l’Approche commune récemment convenue dans le cadre des négociations territoriales globales avec les communautés du Conseil tribal Mamuitun. « Bien qu’il reste beaucoup à faire, nous travaillons à développer une formule qui va lier nos deux nations, soit une forme de contrat de société qui nous permettra de vivre en harmonie », a-t-il indiqué.

À l’issue de la rencontre, la représentante du directeur général de l’UNESCO, Mme Katérina Stenou, s’est dite touchée par les témoignages des chefs et impressionnée par la qualité des rapports entre le Québec et les Autochtones. À cet égard, les activités de l’UNESCO peuvent contribuer à rendre accessible sur la scène internationale l’expérience québécoise. Elle a d’ailleurs invité le ministre Chevrette à participer à d’autres activités de l’organisme.

Au cours de leur passage à Paris, les membres de la délégation ont également été reçus par la vice-présidente de l’Assemblée nationale, Mme Christine Lazerges. Cette dernière s’est montrée vivement intéressée par les cultures et traditions autochtones et par le climat qui anime les relations entre le Québec et les Autochtones. Cet entretien a été suivi par un déjeuner, présidé par M. Yves Tavernier, réunissant des membres du Groupe d’amitié France-Québec à l’Assemblée nationale.

Le séjour de la délégation à Paris a également permis aux élus d’exposer leur vision à plusieurs représentants de la presse québécoise, française et internationale. Enfin, ils se sont rendus au Musée de l’Homme qui contribuera à l’exposition que présentera le Musée de la Pointe-à-Callière, à l’occasion de la commémoration du tricentenaire de la Grande Paix de Montréal de 1701.

« Je suis convaincu, après cette première étape de la mission, de la pertinence d’exposer au plan international, le chemin parcouru et les défis qui nous attendent, a déclaré le ministre Chevrette. L’intérêt suscité par notre démarche confirme le bien-fondé de notre approche qui mise sur la négociation plutôt que sur la confrontation et ce, dans un esprit basé sur le respect et la compréhension mutuelle ».

Au cours des prochains jours, les membres de la délégation se rendront à Bruxelles et à Londres où ils auront à nouveau l’occasion de présenter l’état des relations entre le Québec et les Autochtones.


- 30 -

Source :
Édith Rochette
Attachée de presse
(418) 643-6980

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :
Mise en ligne :