Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

A visit to Belgium

MINISTER CHEVRETTE AND THE NATIVE LEADERS EMPHASIZE THE URGENT NEED TO TAKE CONCERTED ACTION FOR THE FUTURE OF YOUNG PEOPLE

BRUSSELS, February 6, 2001 -Mr. Guy Chevrette, Minister of Transport, Minister for Native Affairs and Minister for Wildlife and Parks, Mr. Pita Aatami, President of Makivik Corporation, Mr. Simon Awashish, Chief of the Attikamek community of Obedjiwan, and Mr. Clifford Moar, Chief of the Innu community of Mashteuiatsh, today concluded in Brussels the second part of their European mission.

During their stay in the Belgian capital, Minister Chevrette and the Native leaders hosted two seminars on the evolution of relations between the aboriginal nations and the Government of Québec. These seminars brought together participants from university, cultural and political circles, as well as representatives of the Belgian media. In addition to increasing their knowledge on relations between Québec and the Native people, the members of the audience showed a particular interest in the cultural and social realities of the Native people.

"Belgians were very surprised to learn that the Native population, which represents just over 1% of Québec's population, is made up 60% of young people under 30 and 34% of young people under 15. As a responsible government, there is an urgent need to take action.  We have the duty to intervene in cooperation with the Native communities and to take tangible steps to ensure a future for these young people, with a view to ensuring fairness between the inhabitants of the same territory," stated Minister Chevrette.

After having talked with participants about the realities of his community, the Chief of the Attikameks of Obedjiwan also underscored the importance of this collaboration between the Québec government and his community. "Our future depends on our young people. The partnerships forged with Québec seek to ensure young people a better future. That is basically the message being conveyed to the Europeans," indicated Mr. Awashish.

In addition, the delegation met with several members of the European Parliament and of various Belgian institutions. At the European Parliament, the delegation was presented to the members of the Commission on foreign affairs, human rights, common security and defense policy, chaired by M. Elmar Brok. The delegation also had the chance to speak to Mr. Matti Wuori, Rapporteur on international rights and on the European Union's policy on human rights. The Minister and the Native leaders talked with him about the problem of striking a balance between individual rights and the rights of the community. They drew attention to the difficulty of carrying out collective projects even when they have secured the support of the majority, when they are at odds with the rights of certain individuals.

Moreover, the members of the delegation had the pleasure of meeting with the organizers of a cultural and educational trip that will bring some twenty young Belgians to Québec next May. During this trip these young Belgians will have the opportunity to visit Huron, Innu and Mohawk communities. "I am pleased to see the interest generated by our aboriginal communities at the international level. Thanks to these privileged contacts, these young people will discover Québec's diversity through the authenticity of Native cultures," underscored Mr. Chevrette.

"Overall, these two days in Brussels have made it possible to give Belgian and European leaders a new perspective on the Native reality. They already had some knowledge, but I am convinced that they now have a more comprehensive view of aboriginal questions, in particular with respect to the preservation of our languages and cultures as well as their transmission to our young people," pointed out Mr. Moar, Chief of Mashteuiatsh.

Before leaving Brussels, Mr. Pita Aatami, President of Makivik Corporation, had the opportunity to meet with Mr. Michel Govaerts, Executive Vice-President of the Ziegler Corporation and Vice-President of the Union des entreprises belges, to discuss a project for the distribution and sale of Inuit art in Belgium. This meeting should make it possible to establish the foundations of a business partnership between the Inuit of Québec and a private Belgian corporation, which will undoubtedly contribute to the economic development of Nunavik while assuring the safeguarding and dissemination of traditional Inuit art.

The Minister and the Native leaders have made a positive assessment of this stay which has allowed them to develop a network of relay-persons to make better known at the international level the efforts devoted to the harmonization of relations between Québec and the Native people. "This stay has proven to be very beneficial. Through very rich meetings and discussions, we have helped important decision-makers and stakeholders at the international level to increase their knowledge of our reality," concluded Mr. Aatami.

Recognition of the Québec driver's licence by Belgium

Minister Chevrette took advantage of his stay in Brussels to meet with Ms Isabelle Durant, Deputy Prime Minister of Belgium and Minister for Mobility and Transport, to discuss the recognition of Québec's driver's licence by Belgium.

"It has taken more than 25 years to settle this question, without any special reason. Québec recognizes the Belgian licence, it is therefore legitimate to expect reciprocity on the part of Belgian authorities", pointed out Minister Chevrette to his counterpart. This is the first time that the two Ministers of Transport have met on this subject, and they agreed to accelerate the process to resolve this matter.

- 30 -

Source:
Édith Rochette
Press attaché
(418) 643-6980
Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as if :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2001 > Communiqué du 6 février 2001

LE MINISTRE CHEVRETTE ET LES LEADERS AUTOCHTONES FONT VALOIR L’URGENCE D’AGIR EN CONCERTATION POUR L’AVENIR DES JEUNES

Bruxelles, le 6 février 2001 – Le ministre des Transports, ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones et ministre responsable de la Faune et des parcs, M. Guy Chevrette, le président de la société Makivik, M. Pita Aatami, le chef de la communauté attikamek d’Obedjiwan, M. Simon Awashish, et le chef de la communauté innue de Mashteuiatsh, M. Clifford Moar, ont conclu aujourd’hui à Bruxelles la seconde partie de leur mission européenne.

Au cours de ce séjour dans la capitale belge, le ministre Chevrette et les leaders autochtones ont notamment animé deux séminaires portant sur l’évolution des rapports entre les nations autochtones et le gouvernement du Québec. Ces séminaires regroupaient plusieurs participants issus des milieux universitaires, culturels et politiques ainsi que des représentants de médias belges. En plus d’approfondir leurs connaissances des relations entre le Québec et les Autochtones, l’auditoire s’est montré particulièrement intéressé aux réalités culturelles et sociales des Autochtones.

« Les Belges ont été très étonnés d’apprendre que la population autochtone, qui représente un peu plus de 1 % de la population québécoise, se compose à 60 % de jeunes âgés de moins de 30 ans et de 34 % de jeunes de moins de 15 ans. En tant que gouvernement responsable, il y a urgence d’agir. Nous avons le devoir d’intervenir en concertation avec les communautés autochtones et de poser des gestes concrets afin d’assurer un avenir à ces jeunes et ce, dans une perspective d’équité entre les habitants d’un même territoire », a déclaré le ministre Chevrette.

Après avoir entretenu les participants des réalités de sa communauté, le chef des Attikameks d’Obedjiwan a également souligné l’importance de cette collaboration entre le gouvernement québécois et sa communauté. « Notre avenir repose sur les jeunes. Les partenariats établis avec le Québec visent justement à leur assurer un avenir meilleur. Voilà l’essentiel du message livré aux Européens », a indiqué M. Awashish.

La délégation a de plus rencontré plusieurs membres du parlement européen et des différentes institutions belges. Au parlement européen, la délégation a été présentée aux membres de la Commission des affaires étrangères, des droits de l’homme, de la sécurité commune et de la politique de défense, présidée par M. Elmar Brok. La délégation a également eu l’occasion de s’entretenir avec le rapporteur sur les droits internationaux et la politique de l’Union européenne en matière de droits de l’homme, M. Matti Wuori. Le ministre et les leaders autochtones ont échangé avec lui sur la problématique de l’équilibre entre droits individuels et droits collectifs. Ils ont ainsi fait référence à la difficulté de réaliser des projets collectifs, même s’ils ont reçu l’appui de la majorité, lorsqu’ils entrent en conflit avec les droits de certains individus.

Également, les membres de la délégation ont eu le plaisir de rencontrer les organisateurs d’un voyage culturel et pédagogique qui amènera, en mai prochain, une vingtaine de jeunes Belges au Québec. Au cours de ce voyage, ces jeunes auront l’occasion de se rendre dans des communautés huronne, innues et mohawk. « C’est un plaisir pour moi de constater l’intérêt que suscitent nos communautés autochtones sur la scène internationale. Grâce à des contacts privilégiés, ces jeunes découvriront ainsi la diversité québécoise à travers l’authenticité des cultures autochtones », de souligner M. Chevrette.

« Ces deux jours à Bruxelles ont globalement permis de donner aux dirigeants belges et européens une nouvelle perspective sur la réalité autochtone. Ils détenaient déjà certaines connaissances, mais je suis convaincu qu’ils ont maintenant une vision plus complète des questions autochtones, notamment en ce qui a trait à la préservation de nos langues et de nos cultures ainsi que de leur transmission à nos jeunes », de souligner le chef de Mashteuiatsh, M. Moar.

Avant de quitter Bruxelles, le président de la Société Makivik, M. Pita Aatami, aura pour sa part l’occasion de rencontrer M. Michel Govaerts, vice-président exécutif de la société Ziegler et vice- président de l’Union des entreprises belges, afin de discuter d’un projet de distribution et de vente d’art inuit en Belgique. Cet entretien devrait permettre d’établir les assises d’un partenariat d’affaires entre les Inuits du Québec et une société privée belge, ce qui contribuera sans doute au développement économique du Nunavik tout en assurant la sauvegarde et la diffusion de l’art traditionnel inuit.

Le ministre et les leaders autochtones dressent donc un bilan positif de ce séjour qui leur a permis de développer un réseau de relayeurs afin de mieux faire connaître au plan international les efforts consacrés à l’harmonisation des relations entre le Québec et les Autochtones. « Ce séjour a été des plus bénéfiques. À travers des rencontres et des discussions très riches, nous avons permis à des décideurs et à des intervenants importants sur la scène internationale d’approfondir leurs connaissances de notre réalité », de conclure M. Aatami.

Reconnaissance du permis québécois par la Belgique

Le ministre Chevrette a profité de son séjour à Bruxelles pour rencontrer la vice-première ministre de la Belgique et ministre de la Mobilité et des Transports, Mme Isabelle Durant, afin de discuter de la reconnaissance du permis de conduire québécois par la Belgique.

« Le règlement de ce dossier traîne depuis plus de 25 ans, sans aucune raison particulière. Le Québec reconnaît le permis belge, il est donc légitime de s’attendre à la réciprocité de la part des autorités belges », a fait valoir le ministre Chevrette auprès de son homologue. C’est la première fois que les deux ministres des Transports se rencontraient à ce sujet et ils ont convenu d’accélérer le processus de règlement du dossier.

- 30 -

Source :
Édith Rochette
Attachée de presse
(418) 643-6980

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :
Mise en ligne :