Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Aboriginal Development Fund

THE GOVERNMENT OF QUÉBEC AND THE MICMACS OF GESGAPEGIAG BAND COUNCIL SIGN A SPECIAL AGREEMENT

QUÉBEC, April 18, 2001 -Mr. John Martin, Chief of the Micmacs of Gesgapegiag Band Council, and Mr. Guy Chevrette, Minister of Transport, Minister for Native Affairs, Minister for Wildlife and Parks, are pleased to announce the signing of a special agreement establishing the terms of program planning and cooperation in the field of economic development and community infrastructure.

Under the agreement, Québec will make available, for Gesgapegiag, a budget of 1.6 million dollars over five years. This represents an average annual sum of $320 000, intended to support the carrying out of economic development and community infrastructure projects.

At least half of the project funding must be assumed by the Micmacs, the federal government or any other partner. Québec's role in the field of economic development and community infrastructure in aboriginal communities must be seen in a partnership perspective and as a complement to the initiatives of other socio-economic players.

It should be reiterated that the purpose of this financial commitment by Québec is to give the community economic leverage. This funding is made possible thanks to the Aboriginal Development Fund. Following the special agreement, the Micmacs of Gesgapegiag Band Council and the Minister will jointly agree on annual program planning.

- 30 -

Sources:
Catherine Johnson
Economic Development Director
Micmacs of Gesgapegiag Band Council
(418) 759-3441
Édith Rochette
Press attaché
Office of Minister Guy Chevrette
(418) 643-6980
Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as if :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2001 > Communiqué du 18 avril 2001

Fonds de développement pour les Autochtones

LE GOUVERNEMENT DU QUÉBEC ET LE CONSEIL DE BANDE DES MICMACS DE GESGAPEGIAG SIGNENT UNE ENTENTE PARTICULIÈRE

Québec, le 18 avril 2001 – Le chef du Conseil de bande des Micmacs de Gesgapegiag, monsieur John Martin, et le ministre des Transports, ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones et ministre responsable de la Faune et des Parcs, monsieur Guy Chevrette, sont heureux d’annoncer la signature d’une entente particulière établissant les modalités de programmation et de concertation en matière de développement économique et d’infrastructures communautaires.

En vertu de l’entente, le Québec rend disponible, pour Gesgapegiag, une enveloppe financière de 1,6 M$ sur cinq ans. Cela représente une somme annuelle moyenne de 320 000 $ destinée à soutenir la réalisation de projets de développement économique et d’infrastructures communautaires.

Au moins la moitié du financement des projets devra être assumée par les Micmacs, le gouvernement fédéral ou tout autre partenaire. Ainsi, le rôle du Québec en matière de développement économique et d’infrastructures communautaires en milieu autochtone s’inscrit dans une perspective de partenariat et en complément aux interventions d’autres agents socio-économiques.

Rappelons que cet engagement financier du Québec vise à fournir un levier économique à la communauté. Il est rendu possible grâce au Fonds de développement pour les Autochtones. À la suite de l’entente particulière, le Conseil de bande des Micmacs de Gesgapegiag et le ministre conviendront conjointement d’une programmation annuelle.

- 30 -

Sources :

Catherine Johnson
Directrice, développement économique
Conseil de bande des Micmacs de Gesgapegiag
(418) 759-3441

Édith Rochette
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre Guy Chevrette
Tél. (418) 643-6980

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :
Mise en ligne :