Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

THE GOVERNMENT OF QUÉBEC AND LISTUGUJ SIGN A FRAMEWORK AGREEMENT

QUÉBEC CITY, June 15, 2001 - Mr. Allison Metallic, Chief of the Listuguj Mi'gmaq and Mr. Guy Chevrette, Minister of Transport, Minister responsible for Aboriginal Affairs, and Minister for Wildlife and Parks, today announced the signing of a framework agreement to promote the development of the Listuguj community located in the Gaspé Peninsula.

This framework agreement identifies the priority sectors for discussion on which parties have agreed. It specifies the parameters of upcoming sector-based negotiations and sets target objectives. In this regard, the framework agreement seeks to harmonize relations and ensure increased partnerships. The framework agreement also reiterates the need to create economic development opportunities for Listuguj, among other things, through access to forest resources and participation by the Mi'gmaqs of Listuguj in the management of activities related to anadromous Atlantic salmon in the Ristigouche River. Agreements will also be negotiated in the following sectors: taxation, transportation, tourism, as well as in health and social services.

Chief Allison Metallic stated: "It is our endeavor to work in partnership with the Québec Government. These agreements that we will be negotiating represent another step forward in promoting the interest of the Listuguj Mi'gmaq and further developing our socioeconomic base".

"This framework agreement ensures the continuation and maintenance of harmonious relations between Québec and the community of Listuguj, while respecting the approach set out in the orientations Québec adopted in April 1998. The framework agreement with Listuguj is a work plan seeking to ensure this community's participation in the socioeconomic development of the region. The results of the sector-based negotiations will make it possible to establish harmonious ties between the Mi'gmaq and non-aboriginal people of the MRC of Avignon," concluded the Minister.

- 30 -

SOURCES :

Richard Gray
Councillor
Listuguj Mi'gmaq government
(418) 788-2136
Édith Rochette
Press attaché
Office of Minister Guy Chevrette
(418) 643-6980
Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as if :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2001 > Communiqué du 15 juin 2001

LE GOUVERNEMENT DU QUÉBEC ET LISTUGUJ SIGNENT UNE ENTENTE-CADRE

Québec, le 15 juin 2001 - Le chef du Conseil de la nation Listuguj Mi'gmaq, monsieur Allison Metallic, et le ministre des Transports, ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones et ministre responsable de la Faune et des Parcs, monsieur Guy Chevrette, ont annoncé aujourd'hui la conclusion d'une entente-cadre visant à favoriser le développement de la communauté de Listuguj, située en Gaspésie.

L'entente-cadre identifie les domaines prioritaires d'intervention convenus entre les parties. Elle précise les paramètres de négociations sectorielles à venir et fixe les objectifs à poursuivre. À cet égard, l'entente-cadre vise à harmoniser les relations et à assurer des partenariats accrus. Cette entente rappelle également la nécessité de créer des possibilités de développement économique pour Listuguj, entre autres, par un accès aux ressources forestières et une participation des Micmacs de Listuguj à la gestion des activités liées au saumon atlantique anadrome dans la rivière Ristigouche. Enfin, des ententes seront négociées dans les domaines de la taxation, du transport, du tourisme, ainsi qu'en matière de santé et de services sociaux.

Le chef Allison Metallic a déclaré : « C'est notre intention de travailler en partenariat avec le gouvernement du Québec. Les ententes sectorielles à négocier représentent un autre pas en avant pour promouvoir les intérêts des Micmacs de Listuguj et pour développer davantage notre base socio-économique ».

« Cette entente-cadre assure la poursuite et le maintien de relations harmonieuses entre le Québec et la communauté de Listuguj, tout en respectant l'approche définie dans les orientations du Québec adoptées en avril 1998. L'entente-cadre avec Listuguj constitue un plan de travail visant à assurer la participation de cette communauté au développement socio-économique de la région. Les résultats qui découleront des négociations sectorielles permettront d'établir des relations harmonieuses entre les Autochtones et les non-Autochtones de la MRC d'Avignon » de conclure le ministre.

- 30 -

Sources :

Richard Gray
Conseiller
Conseil de la nation Listuguj Mi’gmaq government
(418) 788-2136

Édith Rochette
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre Guy Chevrette
(418) 643-6980

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :
Mise en ligne :