Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

QUÉBEC AND THE INUIT SIGN A PARTNERSHIP AGREEMENT TO ACCELERATE THE DEVELOPMENT OF NUNAVIK

Tasiujaq, Tuesday April 9, 2002 - The Prime Minister of Québec, Mr. Bernard Landry, the Minister of State for Population, Regions and Native Affairs, Mr. Rémy Trudel, the President of the Makivik Corporation, Mr. Pita Aatami and the Chairman of the Kativik Regional Government, Mr. Johnny N. Adams, signed a partnership agreement between the government of Québec and the Nunavik Inuit this morning in Tasiujaq. The purpose of this agreement is to accelerate the economic and community development of Northern Québec.

This 25-year Agreement was concluded during the Annual General Meeting of the Makivik Corporation, which is the forum for bringing together the representatives from fourteen Inuit communities and Nunavik's major socio-economic stakeholders. On this occasion, the Prime Minister was also accompanied by Mr. Michel Létourneau, Minister for Native Affairs and Minister for the Development of Northern Québec, as well as by Mr. André Caillé, President and Chief Executive Officer of Hydro-Québec.

« This Agreement between the government of Québec and the Inuit is founded upon the relationship of trust that we have built over recent years. It confirms our desire to work together, with a common vision of the development of Nunavik. This partnership will give a new impetus to this region of Québec's North and offers the potential to lead to considerable economic benefits for Nunavik and for all of Québec », said the Prime Minister.

« What we are achieving today is the start of an authentic and close partnership between the government of Québec and the Inuit. This Agreement shows that we, just like the government of Québec, have realized the need to establish a new partnership. This Agreement illustrates the high level of co-operation, compromise and trust which has developed between us », emphasized Mr. Pita Aatami.



Accelerate Hydroelectric Development in the North

Several sites with great hydroelectric potential have been identified in Nunavik. Preliminary studies indicate that this potential could be as much as 6,300 MW to 7,200 MW. If this potential is fully realised, its implementation would result in investments of about 18 billion dollars and would create, in term of direct and indirect employment related to the construction of the hydroelectric plants and the manufacturing of the equipment, to the equivalent of 50,000 person-years in all Québec regions over many years.

Under the Agreement signed today, the Inuit undertake to work with the government of Québec to promote the development of these resources. For its part, Québec, through Hydro-Québec, will allocate 50 million dollars to conduct economic, technical and environmental studies to assess this potential and its future development.

« This Agreement opens up a whole new world. Hydro-Québec will work closely with the Inuit community of Northern Québec. The community wants to develop the hydroelectric potential of the territory. This is why we will assess together whether the projects are environmentally acceptable and profitable », Mr. André Caillé added.

Promote Greater Assumption of Responsibility by the Inuit for their Economic and Community Development

The Agreement provides for the Inuit assuming responsibility for economic and community development, until now the responsibility of the government of Québec under the James Bay and Northern Québec Agreement. To this end, the government of Québec will provide 7 million dollars in 2002-2003, 8 million dollars in 2003-2004 and 15 million dollars per year thereafter. Over the life of the Agreement, therefore, more than 360 million dollars will be provided to the Inuit.

« The Agreement thus promotes a greater assumption of responsibility by the Inuit for their economic and community development. It will also provide additional resources to organizations who must meet the needs of the community in the field », noted Mr. Rémy Trudel.

Simplify and Enhance the Effectiveness of Funding Provided to the Kativik Regional Government and the Northern Villages

By January 1st, 2004, at the latest, the government of Québec will bring together within one envelope the funds provided by the government of Québec to the Kativik Regional Government. The same approach will be used for each of the Northern Villages. Currently, there are several ministries and agencies which disburse these funds for a multitude of programs. The management of these funds will thus be simplified. In particular, the Kativik Regional Government and the Northern Villages will have greater autonomy in setting their priorities for action and discharging their mandates within their respective responsibilities. In this context, they should maintain the general level of services which they currently provide to their citizens.


Funding Priority Projects

Lastly, Québec has agreed to implement a certain number of priority projects, some evolving from the James Bay and Northern Québec Agreement, to improve public services and infrastructures in Nunavik. These projects will result in capital expenditures totalling 115 million dollars over the next ten years.

In conclusion, Mr. Johnny N. Adams noted: « I would like to state today that the signing of this Agreement marks the beginning of a new era and will enhance our harmonious partnership with the government of Québec. The challenges contained in this agreement are as immense as the territory of Nunavik ».


- 30 -



CONTACT:

Hubert Bolduc
Press Officer
Prime Minister's Office
Tel: (418) 643-5321

Lisa Koperqualuk
Information Officer
Tel: (514) 745-8880
Makivik Corporation

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as if :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2002 > Communiqué du 9 avril 2002

LE QUÉBEC ET LES INUITS SIGNENT UNE ENTENTE DE PARTENARIAT POUR ACCÉLÉRER LE DÉVELOPPEMENT DU NUNAVIK

Tasiujaq, le mardi 9 avril 2002 - Le premier ministre du Québec, M. Bernard Landry, le ministre d'État à la Population, aux Régions et aux Affaires autochtones, M. Rémy Trudel, le président de la Société Makivik, M. Pita Aatami et le président de l'Administration régionale Kativik, M. Johnny N. Adams, ont procédé ce matin, à Tasiujaq, à la signature d'une entente de partenariat entre le gouvernement du Québec et les Inuits du Nunavik. Cette entente vise à accélérer le développement économique et communautaire du Grand Nord québécois.

D'une durée de 25 ans, cette entente a été conclue à l'occasion de l'assemblée générale annuelle de la Société Makivik, en présence de représentants des quatorze communautés inuites et les principaux acteurs socio-économiques du Nunavik. À cette occasion, le premier ministre était accompagné également de M. Michel Létourneau, ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones et au Développement du Nord québécois, ainsi que de M. André Caillé, président-directeur général d'Hydro-Québec.

« Cette entente entre le gouvernement du Québec et les Inuits s'appuie sur la relation de confiance que nous avons édifiée au cours des dernières années. Elle vient sceller notre volonté d'élaborer ensemble une vision commune du développement du Nunavik. Ce partenariat donnera un nouvel essor à cette région nordique du Québec et offre le potentiel d'entraîner des retombées économiques considérables pour le Nunavik et pour le Québec tout entier », a déclaré le premier ministre.

« Ce que nous réalisons aujourd'hui est le commencement d'un partenariat authentique et étroit entre le gouvernement du Québec et les Inuits. Cette entente démontre que nous, tout comme le gouvernement du Québec, avons réalisé la nécessité d'établir un nouveau partenariat. Cette entente illustre le niveau élevé de coopération, de compromis et de confiance qui s'est développé entre nous », a souligné M. Pita Aatami.

Accélérer le développement hydroélectrique du Nunavik

Plusieurs sites à fort potentiel hydroélectrique ont été répertoriés au Nunavik. Des études préliminaires indiquent que ce potentiel pourrait atteindre de 6 300 MW à 7 200 MW. Si ce potentiel est pleinement réalisé, sa mise en valeur se traduirait par des investissements de l'ordre de 18 milliards de dollars et créerait, en termes d'emplois directs et indirects reliés à la construction des centrales hydroélectriques et à la fabrication des équipements, l'équivalent de 50 000 personnes-année dans l'ensemble des régions du Québec sur plusieurs années.

Dans le cadre de l'entente signée aujourd'hui, les Inuits s'engagent à travailler avec le gouvernement du Québec pour favoriser la mise en valeur de ces ressources. De son côté, le Québec, par l'entremise de sa société Hydro-Québec, consacrera 50 millions de dollars à la réalisation d'études économiques, techniques et environnementales afin d'évaluer ce potentiel et sa mise en valeur éventuelle.

« Cette entente ouvre un tout nouvel horizon. Hydro-Québec collaborera étroitement avec la communauté inuite du Nord québécois. La communauté souhaite le développement du potentiel hydroélectrique du territoire. C'est donc ensemble que nous évaluerons si les projets sont acceptables sur le plan environnemental et s'ils sont rentables », a pour sa part ajouté M. André Caillé.

Favoriser une plus grande prise en charge par les Inuits de leur développement économique et communautaire

L'entente prévoit que les Inuits prendront en charge les responsabilités en matière de développement économique et communautaire jusqu'à maintenant assumées par le gouvernement du Québec dans le cadre de la Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord du Québec. À cet effet, le gouvernement du Québec versera une somme de 7 millions de dollars en 2002-2003, de 8 millions de dollars en 2003-2004 et de 15 millions de dollars annuellement par la suite. Pour la durée de l'entente, c'est donc plus de 360 millions de dollars qui seront versés aux Inuits.

« L'entente favorise ainsi une plus grande prise en charge par les Inuits de leur développement économique et communautaire. Elle procure aussi des moyens supplémentaires aux organisations qui, sur place, doivent répondre aux besoins de la population », a mentionné M. Rémy Trudel.

Simplifier et rendre plus efficace le financement versé à l'Administration régionale Kativik et aux villages nordiques

Au plus tard le 1er janvier 2004, le gouvernement du Québec regroupera à l'intérieur d'une seule enveloppe les montants versés par le gouvernement du Québec à l'Administration régionale Kativik. La même approche sera appliquée aux villages nordiques. Présentement, ce sont plusieurs ministères et organismes qui versent ces montants à partir d'une multitude de programmes. La gestion de ces fonds sera donc simplifiée. En particulier, l'Administration régionale Kativik et les villages nordiques auront une plus grande autonomie pour établir leurs priorités d'intervention et réaliser leurs mandats à l'intérieur de leurs responsabilités respectives. À cet égard, ils devront maintenir le niveau général des services qu'ils donnent actuellement à leurs citoyens.

Financement de projets prioritaires

Enfin, le Québec convient de réaliser un certain nombre de projets prioritaires, certains découlant de la Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois pour améliorer les services et les infrastructures publics au Nunavik. Ces projets donneront lieu à des investissements qui totaliseront 115 millions de dollars au cours des 10 prochaines années.

En conclusion, monsieur Johnny N. Adams a indiqué « Je peux aujourd'hui affirmer que la signature de cette entente marque le début d'une ère nouvelle et renforce nos relations harmonieuses avec le gouvernement du Québec. Les défis qu'elle pose sont tout aussi immenses que le territoire du Nunavik ».

- 30 -

 

Sources :

Hubert Bolduc
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du premier ministre
Tél. : (418) 643-5321

Lisa Koperqualuk
Agent d'information
Tél : (514) 745-8880
Société Makivik

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :
Mise en ligne :