Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Québec and the Inuit Implement the Sanarrutik Agreement and Unveil the Inuksuk Project

Québec, June 13, 2002 - Mr. Rémy Trudel, Minister of State for the Population, Regions and Native Affairs, and Mr. Michel Létourneau, Minister for Native Affairs, are pleased to announce tangible measures ensuing from the Sanarrutik partnership agreement signed last April with the Inuit of Nunavik. Moreover, as a token of friendship between Québec and the Inuit, an Inuksuk will be built next to the Parliament Building in Québec City in the fall of 2002.

This event took place in the presence of Mr. Pita Aatami, President of Makivik Corporation, and Mr. Johnny Adams, President of the Kativik Regional Government, accompanied by a delegation of some thirty Inuit.

Hydroelectric development

The Sanarrutik agreement provides for the carrying out of economic, technical and environmental studies on the hydroelectric potential of Nunavik, which is currently estimated at over 6 300 MW. Today, Hydro-Québec is announcing a first phase of studies in Nunavik that will begin this summer and continue on up to 2003 on the Caniapiscau, George, Whale (Rivière à la Baleine) and Nastapoka rivers.

This government corporation will invest a sum of $6.3 million over the upcoming months. To carry out these studies, Hydro-Québec will work in close cooperation with Makivik Corporation in particular by taking advantage of the knowledge of the territory that has been acquired by the Inuit of Nunavik. For this purpose, the corporation will be signing a framework agreement with Makivik Corporation shortly.

Development of parks in Nunavik

The Kativik Regional Government and the Société de la Faune et des Parcs entered into an agreement for the development of parks in Nunavik. This agreement provides for the development of the following national parks: Pingualuit, Monts-Torngat-et-de-la-Rivière-Koroc and Lacs-Guillaume-Delisle-et-à-l'Eau-claire. Québec will pay $8 million over five years to the Kativik Regional Government to enable it to do studies on the development of these parks and to complete the collection of data on two additional parks in Nunavik.

Improvement of the road network in the communities

In addition, Transports-Québec and the Kativik Regional Government signed an agreement yesterday to pave the local roads of the northern villages. This is a measure that will require investments of $35.5 million over a seven-year period.

Enhancement of police services and construction work on police stations

For its part, the ministère de la Sécurité publique signed two agreements with the Kativik Regional Government to implement, beginning today, two actions ensuing from the Sanarrutik agreement in the public security field. Indeed, the ministère de la Sécurité publique is making available in 2002-2003 a sum of $1.5 million to, on the one hand, enhance police services and, on the other, to begin construction on a police station in Nunavik.

Inuksuk, a symbol of closer ties

Prime Minister Bernard Landry had already talked about it in Tasiujaq on April 9th of this year and Ministers Trudel and Létourneau confirmed the project today: an Inuksuk will be built in Québec City next to the Parliament Building. This project is the result of close cooperation between Makivik Corporation, the Commission de la Capitale nationale, the National Assembly, Mr. Michel Létourneau, Minister for NativeAffairs and the Development of Northern Québec, and the Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones.

"This Inuksuk will keep a watch over our good relations and will remind us every day of the path that should be followed, namely one of dialogue and respect. The Inuksuk will show us the path of wisdom that leads to mutual understanding and friendship between our nations," stated Mr. Trudel.

"Today's event gives tangible form both to the commitments found in the Sanarrutik partnership agreement and to the collaboration that exists between our two peoples and that will be symbolized by the construction of an Inuksuk. Great things are happening in Northern Québec, things that are beneficial for all of Québec and of which we can all be proud, " added Mr. Létourneau.

Made of large stones, the Inuksuk traditionally represents a reference point for the Inuit on the vast tundra. It is built in the shape of a human. The Inuksuk in Québec City will be built early next fall with fourteen stones representing the fourteen villages of Nunavik. It will be in the company of several leading figures who shaped Québec's history, such as René Lévesque and Jean Lesage, two former prime ministers whose monuments already adorn the site chosen next to the Parliament Building.


-30-


Sources:

Éric Gamache
Press attaché
Office of Minister Rémy Trudel
(418) 644-2128

Véronique Boileau
Press attaché
Office of Minister Michel Létourneau
(418) 528-6789

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as if :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2002 > Communiqué du 13 juin 2002

Le Québec et les Inuits mettent en œuvre l'entente Sanarrutik et dévoilent le projet d'Inuksuk

Québec, le 13 juin 2002 - Le ministre d'État à la Population, aux Régions et aux Affaires autochtones, monsieur Rémy Trudel, et le ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones, monsieur Michel Létourneau, sont heureux d'annoncer des mesures concrètes découlant de l'entente de partenariat Sanarrutik signée en avril dernier avec les Inuits du Nunavik. De plus, en signe d'amitié entre le Québec et les Inuits, un Inuksuk sera édifié sur le terrain de l'Hôtel du Parlement à Québec, à l'automne 2002.

L'événement se tenait en présence de monsieur Pita Aatami, président de la Société Makivik, et de monsieur Johnny Johnny Adams, président de l'Administration régionale Kativik, accompagnés d'une délégation d'une trentaine d'Inuits.

Développement hydroélectrique

L'entente Sanarrutik prévoit la réalisation d'études économiques, techniques et environnementales sur le potentiel hydroélectrique du Nunavik actuellement évalué à plus de 6 300 MW. Aujourd'hui, Hydro-Québec annonce une première phase d'études au Nunavik qui débutera dès cet été pour se poursuivre jusqu'au début de 2003 sur les rivières Caniapiscau, George, la Baleine et Nastapoka.

C'est une somme de 6,3 millions de dollars qui sera investie par la société d'État au cours des prochains mois. Pour réaliser ces études, Hydro-Québec collaborera étroitement avec la Société Makivik, notamment en mettant à profit la connaissance du territoire acquise par les Inuits du Nunavik. À cet effet, l'entreprise signera bientôt une entente-cadre avec la Société Makivik.

Développement de parcs au Nunavik

Aussi, l'Administration régionale Kativik et la Société de la faune et des parcs ont conclu une entente pour l'aménagement de parcs au Nunavik. Cette entente prévoit le développement des parcs nationaux des Pingualuit, des Monts-Torngat-et-de-la-Rivière-Koroc et des Lacs-Guillaume-Delisle-et-à-l'Eau-claire. Le Québec versera 8 millions de dollars sur cinq ans à l'Administration régionale Kativik pour qu'elle procède à des études sur le développement de ces parcs et pour compléter la collecte de données de deux parcs additionnels au Nunavik.

Amélioration du réseau routier dans les communautés

De plus, Transports-Québec et l'Administration régionale Kativik ont signé hier une entente pour le pavage des routes locales des villages nordiques. Il s'agit d'une mesure qui nécessitera des investissements de 35,5 millions de dollars sur une période de sept ans.

L'amélioration des services de police et travaux de construction de postes de police

De son côté, le ministère de la Sécurité publique a signé deux ententes avec l'Administration régionale Kativik afin de mettre en œuvre, dès aujourd'hui, deux actions découlant de l'entente Sanarrutik en matière de sécurité publique. En effet, le ministère de la Sécurité publique rend disponible, en 2002-2003, une somme de 1,5 million de dollars pour, d'une part, améliorer les services policiers et d'autre part, initier la construction de postes de police au Nunavik.

L'Inuksuk, symbole de rapprochement

Le premier ministre, monsieur Bernard Landry, en avait parlé à Tasiujaq le 9 avril dernier, les ministres Trudel et Létourneau l'ont confirmé aujourd'hui : un Inuksuk sera érigé à Québec, sur le terrain de l'Hôtel du Parlement. Ce projet est le fruit d'une étroite collaboration entre la Société Makivik, la Commission de la Capitale nationale, l'Assemblée nationale, le ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones et du Développement du Nord québécois, M. Michel Létourneau, et le Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones.

« Cet Inuksuk veillera sur nos bonnes relations et nous rappellera tous les jours que la voie à emprunter est celle du dialogue et du respect. Il nous montrera la voie de la sagesse qui mène à la compréhension mutuelle et à l'amitié entre nos nations », a déclaré M. Trudel.

« L'événement d'aujourd'hui concrétise tant les engagements prévus à l'entente de partenariat Sanarrutik que la collaboration existant entre nos deux peuples, et qui sera symbolisée par l'édification d'un Inuksuk. De grandes choses se réalisent dans le Nord-du-Québec, bénéfiques à l'ensemble du Québec, nous pouvons en être fiers », de renchérir M. Létourneau.

Construit de grosses pierres, l'Inuksuk représente traditionnellement un repère pour les Inuits dans la vaste toundra. Il est assemblé pour évoquer une forme humaine. L'Inuksuk de Québec sera édifié, au début de l'automne prochain, avec quatorze pierres représentant les quatorze villages du Nunavik. Il côtoiera les grands personnages de la nation québécoise qui ont façonné l'histoire, tels René Lévesque et Jean Lesage, deux anciens premiers ministres dont les monuments ornent déjà le site choisi sur le terrain de l'Hôtel du Parlement.


-30-

Sources :
Éric Gamache
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre Rémy Trudel
(418) 644-2128

Véronique Boileau
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre Michel Létourneau
(418) 528-6789

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :
Mise en ligne :