Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Minister Michel Létourneau is on a european tour to promote La Paix des braves and Sanarrutik

Québec, November 15, 2002 - Mr. Michel Létourneau, Minister for Native Affairs and the Development of Northern Québec, accompanied by Mr. Ted Moses, Grand Chief of the Grand Council of the Crees, will be embarking on a European tour from November 16th to 24th, the aim of which is to make known the two historic agreements recently reached between the Government of Québec and the Crees and Inuit.

Mr. Létourneau and Mr. Moses will travel to Paris, Strasbourg, London and Barcelona. The mission includes meetings with parliamentarians, diplomatic advisors, scholars as well as members of the press interested in the Québec model for relations with the aboriginal nations.

“With the reaching of major agreements such as La Paix des braves and Sanarrutik comes a new era of cooperation based on respect and trust, which is beneficial for the future of Northern Québec and that of Québec as a whole. We wanted to present these achievements to European representatives who have been monitoring the progress of this question closely,” declared Mr. Létourneau.

“Our new agreement with the Government of Québec paves the way for a major participation by the Cree people in the development of our traditional lands. It will create the conditions for sustainable development: protection of the land, our communities and traditional way of life, as well as the creation of jobs and business opportunities for the Cree population. That is what we want to tell the world. That is the main accomplishment of La Paix des braves,” said Grand Chief Moses.

Among the activities on the program, Mr. Létourneau and Mr. Moses will meet in Paris with advisors to the Élysée, will take part in a press breakfast and will give a conference at La Sorbonne’s Institut de la géographie. In Strasbourg there will be exchanges with European parliamentarians, members of the Council of Europe, representatives of the Europe Court of Human Rights and of the European Commission against Racism and Intolerance. The tour will continue in London with a presentation before the Institute of Commonwealth Studies and with a meeting with members of the House of Commons, the House of Lords and the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association. Finally, the mission will go to Barcelona where Mr. Létourneau and Mr. Moses will talk with the President of the Parliament of Catalonia followed by a conference, discussions with media representatives, and a meeting with non-governmental organizations (NGOs).

- 30 -

Source:
Véronique Boileau
Press secretary
Office of Minister Létourneau
Tel.: (418) 528-6789

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update: 2010-09-30
Online as if :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2002 > Communiqué du 15 novembre 2002

Le ministre Michel Létourneau en tournée européenne pour promouvoir La Paix des braves et Sanarrutik

Québec, le 15 novembre 2002 - Le ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones et au Développement du Nord québécois, M. Michel Létourneau, entreprendra, accompagné du Grand Chef du Grand Conseil des Cris, M. Ted Moses, une tournée en Europe du 16 au 24 novembre prochain, visant à faire connaître les deux ententes historiques conclues récemment entre le gouvernement du Québec et les Cris et les Inuits.

Ainsi, MM. Létourneau et Moses se rendront à Paris, Strasbourg, Londres et Barcelone. La mission prévoit des rencontres avec des parlementaires, des conseillers diplomatiques, des universitaires ainsi que des membres de la presse intéressés au modèle québécois établi en matière de relations avec les nations autochtones.

« Avec la conclusion d'ententes majeures telles La aix des braves et Sanarrutik, se définit une nouvelle ère de collaboration basée sur le respect et la confiance, bénéfiques tant pour l'avenir du Nord-du-Québec que celui du Québec tout entier. Nous avons à cœur de présenter ces réalisations à nos interlocuteurs européens, qui suivent de près l'évolution de la question», a déclaré M. Létourneau.

« Notre nouvelle entente avec le gouvernement du Québec ouvre la porte à une participation importante du peuple cri dans le développement de nos terres traditionnelles. Elle va créer les conditions pour un développement durable : protection de la terre, de nos communautés et du mode de vie traditionnel ainsi que création d'emplois et d'opportunités d'affaires pour la population crie. C'est ce qu'on veut annoncer à tout le monde. C'est ça le grand accomplissement de La Paix des braves », dit le Grand Chef Moses.

Parmi les activités inscrites au programme, MM. Létourneau et Moses rencontreront, à Paris, des conseillers à l'Élysée, participeront à un déjeuner de presse et donneront une conférence à l'Institut de la géographie de la Sorbonne. À Strasbourg, des échanges auront lieu avec des parlementaires européens, des membres du Conseil de l'Europe, des représentants de la Cour européenne des droits de l'Homme et de la Commission européenne contre le racisme et l'intolérance. La tournée se poursuivra à Londres par une présentation devant le Institute of Commonwealth Studies et par une rencontre avec des membres de la Chambre des Communes et de la chambre des Lords et de l'Association parlementaire du Commonwealth. Enfin, la mission se rendra à Barcelone où MM. Létourneau et Moses auront un entretien avec le président du Parlement de la Catalogne suivi d'une conférence, d'entretiens avec des représentants des médias et d'une rencontre avec des organisations non gouvernementales (ONG).

- 30 -

Source :
Véronique Boileau
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre Létourneau
Tél. : 418 528-6789

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour : 2010-09-30
Mise en ligne :