Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Rémy Trudel unveils a reflection document

Québec, Wednesday, December 4, 2002 - Mr. Rémy Trudel, Minister of State for the Population, Regions and Native Affairs, today unveiled a reflection document drawn up in preparation for the Parliamentary Committee on Negotiations with the Innu. This document, entitled Negotiations with the Innu, Considerations on the Context and Issues at Stake, presents the orientations of the Government of Québec with respect to the negotiations and the summary of the proposal for an agreement-in-principle with the Innu, in addition to proposing a few avenues for discussion on this subject.

“I hope that this reflection tool, which is available to the general public, will elicit many opinions and comments to help guide the government in its negotiations with the Innu,” explained Minister Trudel.

Within the context of the debate on the negotiations with the Innu, the document invites readers to take into account a number of elements, including the evolution of law, the decisions of the courts, and the need to establish clear rules of practice regarding the use of the territory. For example, the document addresses a few questions that reflect the concerns expressed regarding the negotiations with the Innu.

Persons and groups interested in appearing before the Parliamentary Committee on the Proposal for an Agreement-in-principle with the Innu must submit a brief to the Secrétariat des commissions no later than January 10, 2003. Hearings will begin on January 21, 2003.

To obtain the document entitled Negotiations with the Innu, Considerations on the Context and Issues at Stake, contact the Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones (SAA) at (418) 643-3166 or download the document from the Web site of the SAA (www.saa.gouv.qc.ca) or of the National Assembly (www.assnat.qc.ca).

- 30 -


Source:
Éric Gamache
Press officer
Office of the Minister of State for the Population, Regions and Native Affairs
(418) 644-2128

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as if :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2002 > Communiqué du 4 décembre 2002

Commission parlementaire sur les négociations avec les Innus Le ministre Trudel lance un document de réflexion

Québec, le mercredi 4 décembre 2002 - Le ministre d’État à la Population, aux Régions et aux Affaires autochtones, M. Rémy Trudel, a lancé aujourd’hui un document de réflexion préparé en vue de la Commission parlementaire sur les négociations avec les Innus. Ce document, intitulé Les négociations avec les Innus, pour une réflexion sur le contexte et les enjeux en cause, présente les orientations du gouvernement du Québec à l’égard des négociations, la synthèse de la proposition d’entente de principe avec les Innus, en plus de proposer quelques pistes de discussion sur le sujet.

« Je souhaite que cet outil de réflexion, à la portée du grand public, puisse susciter de nombreux avis et commentaires afin d’éclairer le gouvernement dans sa négociation avec les Innus », a expliqué le ministre Trudel.

Dans le cadre du débat sur les négociations avec les Innus, le document invite notamment à tenir compte d’un certain nombre d’éléments, dont l’évolution du droit, les décisions des tribunaux et la nécessité d’établir des règles de pratiques claires en matière d'utilisation du territoire. À titre d’exemples, le document soumet quelques questions qui reflètent les préoccupations manifestées quant aux négociations avec les Innus.

Les personnes et les groupes intéressés à se présenter à la Commission parlementaire sur la proposition d’entente de principe avec les Innus doivent soumettre un mémoire au Secrétariat des commissions au plus tard le 10 janvier 2003. Les audiences débuteront dès le 21 janvier 2003.

Pour obtenir le document Les négociations avec les Innus, pour une réflexion sur le contexte et les enjeux en cause, il est possible de communiquer avec le Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones (SAA) au (418) 643-3166 ou de télécharger le document (format pdf, 799 ko) sur le site Web du SAA (www.saa.gouv.qc.ca) ou de l’Assemblée nationale (www.assnat.qc.ca).

- 30 -

Source :
Éric Gamache
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre d’État à la Population, aux Régions et aux Affaires autochtones
(418) 644-2128

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :
Mise en ligne :