Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

The Government of Québec and the Assembly of First Nations of Québec and Labrador have undertaken to create a joint council of elected officials

Québec, June 17, 2003 - Mr. Jean Charest, Premier of Québec, and Mr. Ghislain Picard, Regional Chief of the Assembly of First Nations of Quebec and Labrador, today undertook to establish a joint council of elected officials. The event was held in Sainte-Foy as part of the general meeting of the AFNQL and in the presence of some thirty aboriginal chiefs as well as of Mr. Benoît Pelletier, Minister for Canadian Intergovernmental Affairs and Native Affairs.

This commitment, which is expressed in a statement signed by Mr. Charest and Mr. Picard, gives tangible form to the firm desire of the parties to hold exchanges between aboriginal and non-aboriginal elected officials on various subjects, including the territory and resources, taxation and economic development, as well as the services intended for Aboriginal people living both on and outside reserves.

Composed of an equal number of aboriginal and non-aboriginal elected officials, the joint council of elected officials will meet beginning in the fall of 2003 and will address these important themes. The council’s exploratory work will continue until the spring of 2004.

“The signing of the mutual political commitment and the ensuing exchanges represent a major step forward in the political relations between the Government of Québec and the First Nations, and could eventually lead a permanent space for political exchanges,” stated Premier Jean Charest.

“For the First Nations, this mutual political commitment testifies to the political will of the Government of Québec and indicates that it plans to address the concerns of the First Nations. This step represents a major opportunity to establish harmonious and lasting relations between the First Nations and the Government of Québec,” stated Mr. Ghislain Picard, Regional Chief of the AFNQL.

“True progress can only be achieved through mutual respect, understanding and knowledge of the point of view of each party. That explains the need for this joint council,” added Minister Pelletier, who took advantage of his presence at the meeting to initiate discussions with the aboriginal chiefs.

The participation of the Premier of Québec at the meeting of the Assembly of First Nations of Quebec and Labrador, especially at the start of a new term of office, marks a “first” in the history of this organization and shows the importance that the new government of Jean Charest intends to place on its relations with the Aboriginal people.



- 30 -



Sources:
Christian Barrette
Press officer
Office of the Premier
Tel.: (418) 643-5321

Ghislain Picard
Regional Chief of the AFNQL
Tel. : (418) 842-5020

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as if :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2003 > Communiqués du 17 juin 2003

Le gouvernement du Québec et l’Assemblée des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador s’engagent à créer un conseil conjoint des élus

Québec, le 17 juin 2003 - Le premier ministre du Québec, monsieur Jean Charest, et le Chef régional de l’Assemblée des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador, monsieur Ghislain Picard, ont pris aujourd’hui l’engagement d’établir un conseil conjoint des élus. L’évènement a eu lieu à Sainte-Foy, dans le cadre d’une assemblée générale de l’APNQL, en présence d’une trentaine de chefs autochtones et du ministre délégué aux Affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes et aux Affaires autochtones, monsieur Benoît Pelletier.

Cet engagement, qui a fait l’objet d’une déclaration signée par messieurs Charest et Picard, concrétise la volonté ferme des parties d’échanger, entre élus autochtones et non autochtones, sur divers sujets dont le territoire et les ressources, la fiscalité et le développement de l’économie, ainsi que les services aux Autochtones sur et hors réserve.

Le conseil conjoint des élus, où un nombre égal d’élus autochtones et non autochtones aborderont ces thématiques, se réunira à compter de l’automne 2003. Ses travaux exploratoires se poursuivront jusqu’au printemps 2004.

« La signature de l’Engagement politique mutuel et les échanges qui en découleront constituent une avancée majeure dans les relations politiques entre le gouvernement du Québec et les Premières Nations, et pourrait mener à terme à la mise en place d’un lieu d’échanges politiques permanent », a déclaré le premier ministre Jean Charest.

« Pour les Premières Nations, cet engagement politique mutuel traduit la volonté politique du gouvernement du Québec et indique qu’il entend répondre aux préoccupations des Premières Nations. Ce pas en avant représente une grande opportunité pour l’établissement d’une relation harmonieuse et durable entre les Premières Nations et le gouvernement du Québec », a pour sa part déclaré le chef régional de l’APNQL, monsieur Ghislain Picard.

« Le véritable progrès ne peut naître que du respect mutuel, de la compréhension et de la connaissance du point de vue de chacun. D’où toute la nécessité de ce conseil conjoint », a enfin ajouté le ministre Pelletier, qui a profité de sa présence à l’assemblée pour amorcer des discussions avec les chefs autochtones.

La participation du premier ministre du Québec à la réunion de l’Assemblée des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador, de surcroît très tôt en début de mandat, marque une première dans l’histoire de l’organisme et démontre l’importance que le nouveau gouvernement de Jean Charest compte accorder à ses relations avec les Autochtones.


- 30 -


Sources :
Christian Barrette
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du premier ministre
Tél. : (418) 643-5321

Ghislain Picard
Chef régional de l’APNQL
Tél. : (418) 842-5020

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :
Mise en ligne :