Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Québec and the Inuit Sign a Framework Agreement for the Negotiation of a New Form of Government in Nunavik

Québec, June 26, 2003 – Mr. Jean Charest, Premier of Québec, received at his Montréal office Mr. Pita Aatami, President of Makivik Corporation, for a meeting during which leaders signed a framework agreement establishing the basis for negotiations between Québec and the Inuit, which will lead to the merging of certain institutions and the creation of a new form of government in Nunavik.

Just a few days after his talk with the chiefs of the ten Amerindian nations of Québec at the summit of the AFNQL on June 17th, this meeting with a representative of the Inuit nation, which is not a member of the AFNQL, once again underscores the willingness of Mr. Charest to establish and maintain close relations with the Aboriginal people of Québec.

“Our government believes in the virtues of dialogue. One cannot hope to establish sound and constructive relations without first holding discussions between elected members,” explained the Premier. “Our commitment of last week to establish with the AFNQL a political exchange forum and the framework agreement signed today with the Inuit allow us to envisage a future marked by relations of trust and mutual respect between the Aboriginal people and the Government of Québec.”

This framework agreement, signed by Pita Aatami, President of Makivik Corporation, and by Benoît Pelletier, Minister for Canadian Intergovernmental Affairs and Native Affairs, establishes a formal process for arriving at a final agreement dealing with the merging of the main institutions of Nunavik into a single entity. The agreement stipulates in particular certain leading principles, as well as a set of topics that should be the subject of negotiations. It also provides for the putting in place of a mechanism to consult the other aboriginal groups concerned and a new funding regime adapted to the merged organizations.

Once the Kativik Regional Government, the Kativik School Board, the Nunavik Health and Social Services Regional Board and the Katujjinik Regional Development Council have been merged into one unified entity in Nunavik, the parties agree to undertake, during a second phase, negotiations for a supplementary agreement for the creation of a new form of government in Nunavik.

“This is an important step forward for the Inuit. For three decades we have been trying to work out a government for Nunavik. With the signing of this framework agreement, the governments of Québec and Canada will work together with us to realize our long-standing dream and to see such a government become a reality,” stated Pita Aatami.

“The signing of this framework agreement marks a turning point in our relations with the Inuit of Nunavik. The merging of the institutions will promote a harmonious and more unified development of the region’s public services. Eventually, it will also permit the achievement of greater government autonomy for the Inuit, as well as for all other citizens of Nunavik. This agreement is perfectly in line with the achievements of the last thirty years, while offering promising prospects for Québec as a whole,” pointed out Minister Benoît Pelletier.


-30-



Sources :

Lisa Koperqualuk
Responsable des communications
Société Makivik
(514) 745-8880

Damir Croteau
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre déléguée aux Affaires
intergouvernementales canadiennes et aux Affaires autochtones
(418) 953-7848

Christian Barrette
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du premier ministre
(418) 643-5321

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as if :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2003 > Communiqués du 26 juin 2003

Le Québec et les Inuits signent une entente-cadre pour la négociation d’une nouvelle forme de gouvernement au Nunavik

Québec, le 26 juin 2003 – Le premier ministre du Québec, monsieur Jean Charest, a reçu, à son bureau de Montréal, le président de la Société Makivik, monsieur Pita Aatami, pour une rencontre au cours de laquelle a été signée une entente-cadre établissant la base des négociations, entre le Québec et les Inuits, qui mèneront à la fusion de certaines institutions et la création d’une nouvelle forme de gouvernement au Nunavik.

À seulement quelques jours de son entretien avec les chefs des dix nations amérindiennes du Québec lors du sommet de l’APNQL, le 17 juin dernier, cette rencontre avec un représentant de la nation inuite, qui n’est pas membre de l’APNQL, marque une fois de plus la volonté de monsieur Charest d’établir et de maintenir des relations étroites avec les Autochtones du Québec.

« Notre gouvernement croit aux vertus du dialogue. On ne peut pas espérer établir des relations saines et constructives sans d’abord se parler, entre élus », a expliqué le premier ministre. « Notre engagement de la semaine dernière d’établir avec l’APNQL un forum d’échanges politiques et l’entente-cadre signée aujourd’hui avec les Inuits nous permettent d’envisager un avenir marqué par des relations de confiance et de respect mutuel entre les Autochtones et le gouvernement du Québec. »

Cette entente-cadre, signée par le président de la Société Makivik, Pita Aatami, et par le ministre déléguée aux Affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes et aux Affaires autochtones, Benoît Pelletier, établit un processus formel pour parvenir à une entente finale portant sur la fusion des principales institutions du Nunavik en une seule entité. Elle énonce notamment certains principes prépondérants ainsi qu’un ensemble de sujets devant faire l’objet de négociations. Elle prévoit aussi la mise en place d’un mécanisme de consultation des autres groupes autochtones concernés et d’un nouveau régime de financement adapté aux organismes fusionnés.

Une fois l’Administration régionale Kativik, la Commission scolaire Kativik, la Régie régionale de la santé et des services sociaux du Nunavik et le Conseil régional de développement Katujjinik fusionnés en une seule entité unifiée au Nunavik, les parties conviennent d’entreprendre, dans une deuxième phase, des négociations vers une entente supplémentaire pour la création d’une nouvelle forme de gouvernement au Nunavik.

« C'est un pas important vers l’avant pour les Inuits. Il y a trois décennies que nous essayons d’élaborer un gouvernement pour le Nunavik. Avec la signature de cette entente-cadre, les gouvernements du Québec et du Canada travailleront de concert avec nous en vue de réaliser notre rêve de longue date et voir un tel gouvernement devenir réalité », a déclaré Pita Aatami.

«La signature de cette entente-cadre marque un point tournant dans nos relations avec les Inuits du Nunavik. La fusion des institutions favorisera un développement harmonieux et plus unifié des services publics de la région. À terme, elle permettra aussi l’atteinte d’une plus grande autonomie gouvernementale pour les Inuits ainsi que pour tous les autres citoyens du Nunavik. Cette entente s’inscrit ainsi en parfaite continuité avec les acquis des trente dernières années tout en ouvrant sur un horizon prometteur pour l’ensemble du Québec », a pour sa part confié le ministre Benoît Pelletier.


-30-

Sources :

Lisa Koperqualuk
Responsable des communications
Société Mativik
(514) 745-8880

Damir Croteau
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre délégué aux Affaires
intergouvernementales canadiennes et aux Affaires autochtones
(418) 953-7848

Christian Barrette
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du premier ministre
(418) 643-5321

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :
Mise en ligne :