Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

First meeting of the Joint Council of Elected Representatives

Aboriginal Chiefs and Québec Ministers at the same table to lay the foundations of a new dialogue

Québec City, October 28, 2003 - Mr. Benoît Pelletier, the Minister for Canadian Intergovernmental Affairs and Aboriginal Affairs, and Mr. Ghislain Picard, the Regional Chief of the Assembly of First Nations of Québec and Labrador (AFNQL), are pleased to announce that the first meeting of the Joint Council of Elected Representatives will be held on Thursday, October 30, 2003.

A tangible result of the Mutual Political Commitment signed on June 17, 2003, by the Government of Québec and the AFNQL, the Joint Council of Elected Representatives is a political discussion forum that is first of its kind in Québec. The discussions between aboriginal chiefs and Quebec government elected representatives will lead to a better understanding of each party’s point of view and will serve to establish general directions for their respective governments.

For this first Council meeting, the Government of Québec will be represented by Mr. Pelletier, along with Ms. Nathalie Normandeau, the Minister for Regional Development and Tourism (standing in for Minister Michel Audet), and Mr. Sam Hamad, the Minister of Natural Resources, Wildlife and Parks. The three elected officials representing the aboriginal side will be Mr. Ghislain Picard, Mr. Raphaël Picard, Chief of Betsiamites, and Mr. Lloyd Oronhiakhété Phillips, Chief of Kahnawake.

The exploratory work of the Council will continue until the spring of 2004. The elected representatives named by Québec and the AFNQL will discuss the following topics: territory and resources, fiscal matters and economic expansion, and services to the aboriginal population living on and off reserves.

« Last June 17th, we jointly committed ourselves to develop and maintain harmonious and respectful relations. Now, we are getting ready, together, to put this commitment in concrete form. The AFNQL Chiefs accept to take on this collective challenge that may be deciding for the future of our Peoples”, stated Mr. Ghislain Picard.

"Establishing the Joint Council of Elected Representatives shows that it is necessary to step up the collaboration between the government and Aboriginal people in Québec. It is a concrete initiative in terms of our political relations with elected representatives of First Nations and it will have a definite and positive effect on Aboriginal people and Québec society as a whole," declared Minister Pelletier.


- 30 -



Source:
Damir Croteau
Press Officer
Office of the Minister for Canadian Intergovernmental Affairs and Aboriginal Affairs
Tel.: (418) 646-5950

Ghislain Picard
Regional Chief
Assembly of First Nations of Québec and Labrador (AFNQL)
Tel.: (418) 842-5020

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as if :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2003 > Communiqués du 28 octobre 2003

Première réunion du Conseil conjoint des élus

Chefs autochtones et ministres québécois à la même table pour asseoir les bases d’un nouveau dialogue

Québec, le 28 octobre 2003 - Le ministre délégué aux Affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes et aux Affaires autochtones, monsieur Benoît Pelletier, et le chef régional de l’Assemblée des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador (APNQL), monsieur Ghislain Picard, sont heureux d’annoncer la tenue de la première rencontre du Conseil conjoint des élus, qui aura lieu le jeudi 30 octobre 2003.

Résultat concret de l’Engagement politique mutuel, signé le 17 juin 2003, entre le gouvernement du Québec et l’APNQL, le Conseil conjoint des élus constitue un forum d’échanges politiques encore jamais vu au Québec. Les discussions entre chefs autochtones et élus du gouvernement permettront d’obtenir une meilleure connaissance du point de vue de chacun et de dégager de grandes orientations pour leurs gouvernements respectifs.

Pour cette première réunion du Conseil, le gouvernement du Québec sera représenté par le ministre Pelletier, la ministre déléguée au Développement régional et au Tourisme, madame Nathalie Normandeau (en remplacement du ministre Michel Audet), et le ministre des Ressources naturelles, de la Faune et des Parcs, monsieur Sam Hamad. Du côté autochtone, les trois élus seront messieurs Ghislain Picard, Raphaël Picard, chef de Betsiamites, et Lloyd Oronhiakhete Phillips, chef de Kahnawake.

Les travaux exploratoires du Conseil se poursuivront jusqu’au printemps 2004. Les élus désignés par le Québec et l’APNQL aborderont, entre autres, les thèmes suivants : le territoire et les ressources, la fiscalité et le développement de l’économie, de même que les services à la population autochtone sur et hors réserve.

« Le 17 juin dernier, nous nous sommes engagés conjointement à développer et à maintenir des relations harmonieuses et respectueuses. Aujourd’hui, nous nous mettons à l’œuvre ensemble pour concrétiser cet engagement. Les chefs de l’APNQL acceptent de relever ce défi collectif qui sera peut-être déterminant pour l’avenir de nos peuples », a déclaré monsieur Ghislain Picard.

« La mise sur pied du Conseil conjoint des élus témoigne de la nécessité de faire progresser d’un cran la collaboration entre le gouvernement et les Autochtones au Québec. Il s’agit d’une initiative de nos relations politiques avec les élus des Premières Nations qui aura des effets concrets et positifs pour les Autochtones, ainsi que pour l’ensemble de la société québécoise
», a déclaré le ministre Pelletier.


- 30 -


Source :
Damir Croteau
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre délégué aux Affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes et aux Affaires autochtones
Tél. : (418) 646-5950

Ghislain Picard
Chef régional
Assemblée des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador (APNQL)
Tél. : (418) 842-5020

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :
Mise en ligne :