Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Second Meeting of the Joint Council of Elected Representatives

Consultation Process and Resource and Territorial Development on the Agenda

Québec, November 26, 2003 - The co-chairs of the Joint Council of Elected Representatives, Benoît Pelletier, Minister for Canadian Intergovernmental Affairs and Native Affairs, and Ghislain Picard, Regional Chief of the Assembly of First Nations of Québec and Labrador (AFNQL), announce the holding of a second meeting of the Joint Council of Elected Representatives to be held in Wendake on Thursday, November 27, 2003. Participants will have an opportunity to address issues relating to the consultation of Aboriginal people and to resource and territorial development.

For this second meeting, the Québec government will be represented by Minister Benoît Pelletier, Sam Hamad, Minister of Natural Resources, Wildlife and Parks, and Pierre Corbeil, Minister for Forests, Wildlife and Parks. On the aboriginal side, Ghislain Picard, will be accompanied by Raphaël Picard, Chief of Betsiamites, and Jean-Charles Piétacho, Chief of Ekuanitshit (Mingan).

Nathalie Normandeau, Minister for Regional Development and Tourism, will take this opportunity to talk to Council members about the Bill respecting the ministère du Développement économique et régional. If passed, the bill will create new regional councils of elected representatives.

“During this second meeting of the Joint Council of Elected Representatives, we’ll together look for ways to ensure that the First Nations, according to their situation and context, participate in the management of the territory and its resources. The consultation protocol developed by the First Nations of Québec and Labrador. Sustainable Development Institute may help achieve this objective”, stated Raphaël Picard.

“The meeting on October 30th allowed the participants to express their respective positions and to identify certain actions to be taken. The upcoming meeting will be a unique opportunity to work together in targeting the priorities resource and territorial development. Clearly, each of these meetings will enable us to consolidate the working relationship between the government and Aboriginal elected representatives,” added Minister Hamad.


- 30 -



Source:
Damir Croteau
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister for Canadian Intergovernmental Affairs and Native Affairs
Tel. : (418) 646-5950

Ghislain Picard
Regional Chief of the AFNQL
Tel. : (418) 842-5020

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as if :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2003 > Communiqués du 26 novembre 2003

Deuxième réunion du Conseil conjoint des élus

Processus de consultation et développement des ressources et du territoire

Québec, le 26 novembre 2003 - Les coprésidents du Conseil conjoint des élus, le ministre délégué aux Affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes et aux Affaires autochtones, monsieur Benoît Pelletier, et le chef régional de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador (APNQL), monsieur Ghislain Picard, annoncent la tenue d’une deuxième réunion du Conseil conjoint des élus, qui aura lieu à Wendake, le jeudi 27 novembre 2003. Les participants auront alors l’occasion de faire le point sur la consultation des Autochtones et sur le développement des ressources et du territoire.

Le gouvernement du Québec sera représenté à la rencontre de jeudi prochain par le ministre Benoît Pelletier, le ministre des Ressources naturelles, de la Faune et des Parcs, monsieur Sam Hamad, et le ministre délégué à la Forêt, à la Faune et aux Parcs, monsieur Pierre Corbeil. Du côté autochtone, monsieur Ghislain Picard sera accompagné de monsieur Raphaël Picard, chef de Betsiamites, et de monsieur Jean-Charles Piétacho, chef de Ekuanitshit (Mingan).

La ministre déléguée au Développement régional et au Tourisme, madame Nathalie Normandeau, profitera de la réunion pour présenter aux membres du Conseil le projet de loi sur le ministère du Développement économique et régional, lequel crée les nouveaux conseils régionaux des élus.

« Au cours de cette deuxième rencontre du Conseil conjoint des élus, nous allons rechercher, ensemble, les moyens d’assurer la participation des Premières Nations, selon leur situation et leur contexte, à la gestion du territoire et de ses ressources. Le protocole de consultation développé par l’Institut de développement durable des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador peut favoriser l’atteinte de cet objectif », a déclaré monsieur Raphaël Picard.

« La réunion du 30 octobre dernier a permis aux participants de faire part de leurs positions respectives et de déterminer certaines actions à entreprendre. La prochaine réunion constituera une occasion unique de cibler ensemble les éléments prioritaires concernant le développement des ressources et du territoire. De façon claire, chacune de ces rencontres nous permettra de consolider la collaboration entre notre gouvernement et les élus autochtones », a pour sa part ajouté le ministre Hamad.


- 30 -


Source :
Damir Croteau
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre délégué aux Affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes et aux Affaires autochtones
Tél. : (418) 646-5950

Ghislain Picard
Chef régional de l’APNQL
Tél. : (418) 842-5020

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :
Mise en ligne :