Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Ratification of the Agreement in Principle with the Innu

The Regions Will Henceforth Have a Voice at the Negotiating Table

Québec, December 11, 2003 – Mr. Benoît Pelletier, Minister for Canadian Intergovernmental Affairs and Native Affairs, is pleased to announce that the Cabinet has approved the General Agreement in Principle reached in June 2002 between the First Nations of the Mamuitun Tribal Council and Nutashkuan, the Government of Canada and the Government of Québec, as part of the comprehensive territorial negotiations with the Innu nation.

The upcoming signing of this agreement by the minister will make it possible to initiate negotiations expected to lead to the conclusion of a final treaty with the Innu nation. In this regard, Minister Pelletier advocates a new approach based on ensuring the participation of and providing better information to the populations of the regions.

“We don’t want to leave the population in the dark and without a voice,” stated Mr. Benoît Pelletier, who will travel tomorrow to the North Shore and the Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean to make known the government’s intentions. “We want all interested parties, and particularly the populations of the regions affected by the agreement, to have the tools they need to monitor the progress of these negotiations, to develop their own understanding of the stakes and to make known their opinion, which will be heard at the negotiating table.”

PARTICIPATION OF THE REGIONS: A REPRESENTATIVE OF THE REGIONS AND REGIONAL DELEGATES AT THE NEGOTIATING TABLE

Minister Pelletier has announced the setting up of a process to ensure the participation of non-Aboriginals, which will remain in effect throughout the negotiations with the Innu, and the appointment of Mr. Benoît Bouchard as representative of the regions at the negotiating table.

“I am fully aware of the importance of the role that I have been entrusted with today in the process that will lead within a few years’ time to an honourable treaty for all. I am convinced of the need to make the voice of the Saguenay– Lac-Saint-Jean and North Shore regions heard throughout the negotiations,” declared Mr. Bouchard.

To assert effectively the interests of the populations of the Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean and North Shore regions at the negotiating table, Mr. Bouchard will be assisted in his tasks by a delegate from each of the regions affected, who will be chosen in the upcoming weeks. The two delegates will be members of the Québec party at the negotiating table.

The mandate of Mr. Bouchard and his team will be first to make sure that the information emanating from the negotiating table is regularly conveyed to the population of the regions. Secondly, the representatives of the regions will have to foster steady relations with regional stakeholders to find out their concerns and obtain their proposals on questions related to the negotiations (wildlife, vacationing, mines, forests, “good neighbour relations”, economic development, etc.). The representatives will then have to assert the concerns and positions of the regions with the Minister for Canadian Intergovernmental Affairs and Native Affairs, as well as with the special negotiator representing the Government of Québec.

Moving together towards a treaty: information and transparency

With a view to keeping the populations of the North Shore and Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean regions well informed about the progress of negotiations and the participation mechanisms put at their disposal, Minister Pelletier is today kicking off an information campaign. The Government of Québec will deploy a variety of resources to allow citizens to better monitor the progress of negotiations.

Initially, advertising will be published in regional newspapers and aired on regional radio stations to make known the new participation process announced today.

In January 2004, each household of the North Shore and the Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean regions will receive an information pamphlet explaining, in particular, how Québec’s negotiating team plans to proceed in order to take into account regional concerns and to ensure the regular transmission of the relevant information to the people of the North Shore and the Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean.

Gradually, other documents dealing with various themes falling within the scope of the negotiations will be distributed to the population to contribute to a better understanding of the stakes being discussed.

The public is invited to submit its questions and comments by way of a Web site devoted to the negotiations with the Innu at the following address:

www.versuntraite.com


All of the relevant documentation concerning the negotiations, both past and to come, is available on this site, which will be enriched with new content as the negotiations progress.

Persons who do not have Internet access are asked to contact the Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones, which will send them a printed version of the documents available on line:

Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier
Québec (Québec) G1R 5M6
Telephone: (418) 643-3166

–30–



Source:
Damir Croteau
Press secretary
Office of the Minister for Canadian Intergovernmental Affairs and Native Affairs
Tel. : (418) 646-5950

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as if :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2003 > Communiqués du 11 décembre 2003

Ratification de l’Entente de principe avec les Innus et poursuite des négociations vers un traité

Les régions auront désormais une voix à la table de négociation

Québec, le 11 décembre 2003 – Le ministre délégué aux Affaires intergouverne-mentales canadiennes et aux Affaires autochtones, monsieur Benoît Pelletier, est heureux d’annoncer que le Conseil des ministres a approuvé l’Entente de principe d’ordre général intervenue en juin 2002 entre les premières nations du Conseil tribal Mamuitun et de Nutashkuan, le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement du Québec, dans le cadre de la négociation territoriale globale avec la nation innue.

La signature prochaine de cette entente par le ministre permettra d’entamer des négociations devant éventuellement mener à la conclusion d’un traité final avec la nation innue. À cet égard, le ministre Pelletier préconise une nouvelle approche fondée sur la participation et une meilleure information des populations des régions.

« Il n’est surtout pas question de maintenir la population dans le silence et l’ignorance », a déclaré le ministre Benoît Pelletier, qui se rendra demain sur la Côte-Nord et au Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean pour faire part des intentions gouvernementales. « Nous tenons à ce que toutes les personnes intéressées, et particulièrement les populations des régions touchées par l’entente, disposent des outils nécessaires pour suivre le déroulement des négociations, développer leur propre compréhension des enjeux et faire connaître leur opinion, laquelle sera entendue à la table de négociation. »

PARTICIPATION DES RÉGIONS : UN REPRÉSENTANT ET DES DÉLÉGUÉS RÉGIONAUX À LA TABLE DE NÉGOCIATION

Le ministre Pelletier annonce la mise sur pied d’un processus de participation des non-Autochtones, qui demeurera en vigueur tout au long des négociations avec les Innus, et la nomination de monsieur Benoît Bouchard à titre de représentant des régions à la table de négociation.

« Je suis pleinement conscient de l’importance du rôle qui m’est confié aujourd’hui dans le processus qui doit nous mener d’ici quelques années à un traité honorable pour tous. Je suis convaincu de la nécessité de faire entendre la voix des régions du Saguenay– Lac-Saint-Jean et de la Côte-Nord tout au long des négociations », a déclaré monsieur Bouchard.

Afin de faire valoir efficacement les intérêts des populations du Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean et de la Côte-Nord à la table de négociation, monsieur Bouchard sera épaulé dans sa tâche par un délégué de chacune des régions touchées, lequel sera choisi aux cours des prochaines semaines. Les deux délégués feront partie de l’équipe du Québec à la table de négociation.

Le mandat de monsieur Bouchard et de son équipe sera d’abord de s’assurer que l’information en provenance de la table de négociation soit régulièrement transmise à la population des régions. En second lieu, le représentant des régions devra entretenir des relations soutenues avec les intervenants régionaux afin de recueillir leurs préoccupations et propositions sur les questions liées aux négociations (la faune, la villégiature, les mines, les forêts, le « bon voisinage », le développement économique, etc.). Le représentant devra ensuite faire valoir les préoccupations et positions des régions auprès du ministre délégué aux Affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes et aux Affaires autochtones, ainsi qu’auprès du négociateur spécial du gouvernement du Québec.

Ensemble vers un traité : information et transparence

Par souci de maintenir les populations des régions de la Côte-Nord et du Saguenay– Lac-Saint-Jean bien informées du déroulement des négociations et des mécanismes de participation mis à leur disposition, le ministre Pelletier donne aujourd’hui le coup d’envoi d’une campagne d’information. Ainsi, le gouvernement du Québec déploiera une gamme de ressources afin de permettre aux citoyennes et aux citoyens de mieux suivre l’évolution de la négociation.

Dans un premier temps, des messages publicitaires seront diffusés dans les journaux et les stations de radio régionales pour faire connaître le nouveau processus de participation annoncé aujourd’hui.

Au cours du mois de janvier 2004, chaque foyer de la Côte-Nord et du Saguenay– Lac-Saint-Jean recevra un dépliant d’information expliquant, notamment, comment l’équipe de négociation du Québec procédera pour tenir compte des préoccupations régionales et pour assurer aux gens de la Côte-Nord et du Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean la transmission régulière de l’information pertinente.

Graduellement, d’autres documents traitant de différents thèmes faisant l’objet de la négociation seront diffusés auprès du public afin d’encourager une meilleure compréhension des enjeux discutés.

Le public est par ailleurs invité à transmettre ses questions et ses commentaires par l’entremise d’un site Web consacré aux négociations avec les Innus, à l’adresse suivante :
www.versuntraite.com

Toute la documentation pertinente concernant les négociations, passées et à venir, est également accessible dans ce site, qui sera enrichi de nouveaux contenus à mesure que la négociation évoluera.

Les personnes n’ayant pas accès à Internet sont invitées à communiquer avec le Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones, qui leur fera parvenir une version imprimée des documents disponibles en ligne :

Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier
Québec (Québec) G1R 5M6
Téléphone : (418) 643-3166

–30–


Source :
Damir Croteau
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre délégué aux Affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes et aux Affaires autochtones
Tél. : (418) 646-5950

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :
Mise en ligne :