Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Prime minister Charest and ministers Hamad, Corbeil and Pelletier sign amendments to the Paix des braves with Grand Chief Ted Moses

Québec City, December 12, 2003 – The Prime Minister of Québec, Jean Charest, the Minister of Natural Resources, Wildlife and Parks, Sam Hamad, the Minister for Forests, Wildlife and Parks, Pierre Corbeil and the Minister for Canadian Intergovernmental Affairs and Native Affairs, Benoît Pelletier signed amendments to the Paix des braves today with the Grand Chief of the Council of Crees, Ted Moses, to make changes to the way it will apply in the area of forestry.

"Since we came to power, last spring, we have endeavoured to ensure continuity in the partnership between Québec and the Cree", said Prime Minister Charest. "The agreement signed today confirms our willingness to keep working together for the development of Northern Québec and of Québec as a whole."

“The signing of these amendments will ensure a more coherent application of the forestry provisions of the Agreement Concerning a New Relationship Between Le Gouvernement du Québec and the Crees of Québec, better known as the Paix des Braves,” explained Minister Hamad. “It also confirms the willingness of the Government of Québec to continue to work in a spirit of collaboration, between nations in keeping with this key agreement,” stated Benoît Pelletier.

The amendments make changes, in particular, to the dates on which various measures and clauses will come into effect, especially the starting date for the general forest management plans in the territory covered by the Agreement. They also specify various aspects of the work of the Cree-Québec Forestry Board, establish a basis for discussions concerning the salvaging of timber following a natural disaster, and make changes to certain clauses affecting Cree trap lines.

Minister Corbeil added that “the amendments we signed today are a complement to Bill 14, introduced in the National Assembly this fall. The Bill provides for a one-year postponement of the coming into force of the new general forest management plans, and this measure must be reflected in the Agreement, to ensure that its application matches the timetable we have agreed on. These amendments to the Paix des Braves also reflect the fact that the forestry provisions of the Agreement will begin to be applied earlier this fall, thanks in particular to the launching of the Cree-Québec Forestry Board.”

“I am glad to see that the new government will continue to focus on the implementation of the Paix des Braves and the development of this nation-to-nation partnership,” stated Grand Chief Ted Moses. “The amendments officially adopted today will allow the application of the Agreement in the field of forest to progress normally, and will facilitate the work of the Cree-Québec Forestry Board. The implementation of a forest system adapted to the territory covered by the Agreement is one of its essential aspects, and we are glad that satisfactory progress has been made in this area.”

“The Native nations are essential partners in the management of the forest, and in regional development in general, from both the economic and social standpoints. We intend to continue working with the Crees of Québec to ensure that both sides assume their individual and joint responsibilities, for the benefit of everyone living in Québec,” concluded the Prime Minister and the three ministers.

- 30 -

Sources :

Christian Barrette
Press Officer
Cabinet du Premier ministre
418 643-5321

Pierre Choquette
Press Officer
Cabinet of the Minister of Natural Resources
Wildlife and Parks
418 643-7295

Mathieu St-Amant
Press Officer
Cabinet of the Minister for Forests, Wildlife and Parks
418 643-7295

Damir Croteau
Press Officer
Cabinet of the Minister for Canadian
Intergovernmental Affairs and Native Affairs
(418) 953-7848


Information :
Lise Guérin
Direction de la planification et des communications
418 627-8609

Romeo Saganash
Director of Québec Relations
Grand Council of Crees
418 564-1598

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update: 2010-09-30
Online as if :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2003 > Communiqués du 12 décembre 2003

Le premier ministre Charest aisi que les ministres Hamad, Corbeil et Pelletier signent des amendements à la Paix des braves avec le grand chef Ted Moses

Québec, le 12 décembre 2003 – Le premier ministre Jean Charest, le ministre des Ressources naturelles, de la Faune et des Parcs, M. Sam Hamad, le ministre délégué à la Forêt, à la Faune et aux Parcs, M. Pierre Corbeil et le ministre délégué aux Affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes et aux Affaires autochtones, Benoît Pelletier, ont procédé aujourd’hui, avec le Grand Chef du Grand Conseil des Cris, M. Ted Moses, à la signature d’amendements à la Paix des braves, afin d’ajuster l’application de l’entente en matière de foresterie.

« Dès le début de notre mandat, nous nous sommes assurés de la continuité du partenariat entre le Québec et les Cris. L’entente signée aujourd’hui confirme notre volonté de poursuivre nos efforts en faveur du développement du nord du Québec et du Québec tout entier », a déclaré le premier ministre.

«La signature de ces amendements permettra d’assurer l’application cohérente du volet foresterie de l’entente concernant une nouvelle relation entre le gouvernement du Québec et les Cris du Québec, mieux connue sous le nom de Paix des braves », a expliqué le ministre Hamad. « Elle confirme aussi la volonté du gouvernement du Québec de continuer à œuvrer dans l’esprit de collaboration de nation à nation instauré par cette entente majeure », a souligné M. Benoît Pelletier.

Les amendements visent entre autres des changements aux dates d’entrée en vigueur de diverses mesures et clauses. Notamment, celle de l’entrée en vigueur des plans généraux d’aménagement forestier sur le territoire couvert par l’entente. Ils viennent aussi préciser certains aspects du travail du Conseil Cris-Québec sur la foresterie, établir une base de discussions sur la récupération des bois en cas de désastre naturel et certaines clauses relatives à la prise en compte des terrains de piégeage cris.

Le ministre Corbeil a précisé que « les amendements que nous avons signés aujourd’hui interviennent de façon complémentaire au projet de loi 14 que nous avons présenté à l’Assemblée nationale cet automne. En effet, ce projet de loi prévoit notamment le report d’un an de l’entrée en vigueur des nouveaux plans généraux d’aménagement forestier, une mesure qui doit être reconduite dans le cadre de l’entente, afin de s’assurer que l’application de l’entente demeure conforme au calendrier convenu. Ces modifications à la Paix des braves s’inscrivent aussi dans le contexte où l’application du volet foresterie de l’entente prend son erre d’aller, grâce notamment à l’entrée en fonction du Conseil Cris-Québec sur la foresterie, plus tôt cet automne. »

« Je me réjouis de voir que le nouveau gouvernement continue d’assurer l’application de la Paix des braves et le développement de ce partenariat de nation à nation », a affirmé pour sa part le Grand Chef Moses. « Les amendements adoptés officiellement aujourd’hui permettront de faire progresser, comme il se doit, l’application de l’entente dans le domaine de la foresterie et de faciliter les travaux du Conseil Cris-Québec sur la foresterie. La mise en œuvre d’un régime forestier adapté sur ce territoire est un aspect essentiel de l’entente et nous sommes heureux que ce dossier progresse de façon satisfaisante. »

« Les nations autochtones sont des partenaires essentiels de la gestion des forêts et, de façon générale, du développement régional, tant sur le plan économique que sur le plan social. Nous avons l’intention de continuer à travailler avec les Cris du Québec, afin que nous assumions pleinement nos responsabilités respectives et communes, pour le bénéfice de tous ceux et celles qui vivent sur le territoire québécois », ont conclu le premier ministre et les trois ministres.

- 30 -



Sources :

Christian Barrette
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du Premier ministre
(418) 643-5321

Pierre Choquette
Attaché de presse du ministre des Ressources naturelles
de la Faune et des Parcs
(418) 643-7295

Mathieu St-Amant
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre délégué à la Forêt, à la Faune et aux Parcs
(418) 643-7295

Damir Croteau
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre délégué aux Affaires intergouvernementales
canadiennes et aux Affaires autochtones
(418) 953-7848

Information :
Lise Guérin
Direction de la planification et des communications
(418) 627-8609

Romeo Saganash
Directeur des relations avec le Cabinet Québec
pour le Grand Conseil des Cris
(418) 564-1598

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour : 2010-09-30
Mise en ligne :