Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Third meeting of the Joint Council of Elected Representatives

Economic development and taxation: improving the socioeconomic conditions of the First Nations

Québec, February 4, 2004 - The Co-chairs of the Joint Council of Elected Representatives, Mr. Benoît Pelletier, Minister for Canadian Intergovernmental Affairs and Native Affairs, and Mr. Ghislain, Regional Chief of the Assembly of First Nations of Québec and Labrador (AFNQL), wish to announce the holding of the third meeting of the Joint Council of Elected Representatives, which will take place in Québec City, on Thursday, February 5, 2004. The participants will have the opportunity to discuss economic development and taxation.

The Government of Québec will be represented by Mr. Benoît Pelletier, Mr. Yves Séguin, Minister of Finance, and Mr. Lawrence S. Bergman, Minister of Revenue. Representing the aboriginal peoples, Mr. Ghislain Picard will be accompanied by Mr. Raphaël Picard, Chief of Betsiamites, and Mr. Daniel Pien, Algonquin Chief of the Community of Lac-Simon.

During the meeting of February 5th which will basically deal with the themes of economic development and taxation, efforts will focus on identifying possible solutions to improve the socioeconomic conditions of the First Nations. Subjects such as jobs, the unemployment rate, partnership and participation in the management of the territory and resources will be addressed. On the subject of taxation, both sides will discuss irritants and solutions with a view to improving exchanges.

“How can the participation of the First Nations in the economy be improved? How do we prepare a future for young people who now account for the majority of the population of the First Nations? Tomorrow, the Joint Council of Elected Representatives will be examining these questions, which can no longer go unanswered and will be looking for solutions that will benefit everyone,” stated Mr. Daniel Pien, Algonquin Chief of the Community of Lac-Simon.

For his part, Mr. Yves Séguin, Minister of Finance, said that he was very happy to be taking part in this meeting for the very first time. “We have the opportunity to hold direct discussions with aboriginal elected representatives on economic and taxation questions, which will allow us to further open the dialogue on important stakes for the future of the population of Québec,” added Minister Séguin.

During the last two meetings of the Joint Council of Elected Representatives, held on October 30 and November 27, 2003, the Québec ministers and the aboriginal chiefs discussed, among other things, a project for a social and economic forum, the possible participation of the Federal Government in the Council’s work, a new approach to decision-making regarding the territory and resources, and the preparation of a research framework to examine services offered to the aboriginal peoples living on and off the reserve.


- 30 -




Source: Damir Croteau
Press secretary
Officer of the Minister for Canadian Intergovernmental Affairs and Native Affairs
Tel. : (418) 646-5950

Ghislain Picard
Regional Chief
Assembly of the First Nations of Québec and Labrador
Tel. : (418) 842-5020

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as if :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2004 > Communiqué du 4 février 2004

Troisième réunion du Conseil conjoint des élus

Développement de l’économie et fiscalité : rehausser les conditions socioéconomiques des Premières Nations

Québec, le 4 février 2004 - Les coprésidents du Conseil conjoint des élus, le ministre délégué aux Affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes et aux Affaires autochtones, monsieur Benoît Pelletier, et le chef régional de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador (APNQL), monsieur Ghislain Picard, annoncent la tenue de la troisième réunion du Conseil conjoint des élus, qui aura lieu à Québec, le jeudi 5 février 2004. Les participants auront alors l’occasion de discuter du développement de l’économie et de la fiscalité.

Le gouvernement du Québec sera représenté par le ministre Benoît Pelletier, le ministre des Finances, monsieur Yves Séguin, et le ministre du Revenu, monsieur Lawrence S. Bergman. Du côté autochtone, monsieur Ghislain Picard sera accompagné de monsieur Raphaël Picard, chef de Betsiamites, et de monsieur Daniel Pien, chef algonquin de la communauté de Lac-Simon.

Au cours de la réunion du 5 février qui portera essentiellement sur les thèmes du développement de l’économie et de la fiscalité, il sera notamment question de dégager diverses pistes de solution en vue de rehausser les conditions socioéconomiques des Premières Nations. Des sujets tels l’emploi, le taux de chômage, le partenariat et la participation à la gestion du territoire et des ressources y seront abordés. Sur le plan de la fiscalité, on discutera, de part et d’autre, de certains irritants et des solutions à y apporter en vue d’améliorer les échanges.

« Comment améliorer la participation des Premières Nations à l’économie? Comment préparer un avenir aux jeunes qui sont la majorité de la population des Premières Nations? Le Conseil conjoint des élus se penchera sur des questions qui ne peuvent plus demeurer sans réponse et recherchera des solutions qui soient au bénéfice de tous », a déclaré le chef algonquin de la communauté de Lac-Simon, monsieur Daniel Pien.

Pour sa part, le ministre des Finances, monsieur Yves Séguin, se dit très heureux de participer pour une première fois à cette rencontre. « Nous aurons ainsi l’occasion de discuter directement avec des élus autochtones de questions économiques et fiscales, ce qui nous permettra d’ouvrir davantage le dialogue sur des enjeux importants pour l’avenir des communautés du Québec », a ajouté le ministre Séguin.

Rappelons que, lors des deux dernières rencontres du Conseil conjoint des élus, tenues les 30 octobre et 27 novembre 2003, les ministres québécois et les chefs autochtones ont discuté, entre autres, d’un projet de forum social et économique, de la participation possible du gouvernement fédéral aux travaux du Conseil, d’une nouvelle approche de prise de décision en ce qui a trait au territoire et aux ressources et de l’élaboration d’un cadre de recherche sur les services aux autochtones sur et hors réserve.


- 30 -




Source :
Damir Croteau
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre délégué aux Affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes et aux Affaires autochtones
Tél. : (418) 646-5950

Ghislain Picard
Chef régional
Assemblée des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador
Tél. : (418) 842-5020

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Mise en ligne : 4 février 2004