Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Modernisation of the State and Decentralization

The Government of Québec signs the Sivunirmut Agreement on block funding with the Kativik Regional Government

Québec, March 31, 2004 – Mr. Benoît Pelletier, Minister for Canadian Intergovernmental Affairs and Native Affairs, as well as Mr. Johnny N. Adams, President of the Kativik Regional Government (KRG), and Ms. Ina Gordon, Secretary of the KRG, today signed, on the premises of Maison du Nunavik in Québec, the Sivunirmut Agreement, which means “Toward the Future” in inuktitut and concerns block funding of the Kativik Regional Government.

This decision is in keeping with the willingness of the Government of Québec to entrust the regions with greater responsibilities allowing them to take charge of their development. Having a duration of twenty-three (23) years, the agreement seeks to simplify the transfer to the KRG of public funds that have been already committed. It follows the Sanarrutik Agreement, signed in April 2002, which established a partnership between Québec and the Inuit on economic and community development.

After two years of dialogue, the conclusion of the agreement allows this Inuit organization to increase its management autonomy, henceforth enabling it to allocate the sums that it is entrusted with according to its own priorities, while carrying out the stipulated mandates. The KRG will thus be able to be more efficient in the delivery of services allowing it to meet the needs of Nunavik residents. Block funding brings together in a single budget envelope totaling $27.5 million, the sums from the programs of six departments and agencies of the Government of Québec. This amount will be indexed annually according to the growth of Nunavik’s population and the evolution, per person, of Québec’s program expenditures.

“This agreement consolidates the partnership relationship that has existed for several years with the KRG, which is well placed to provide services to the population of Nunavik. It is a tangible example of the State’s modernization which should lead to the acceptance of greater responsibility by citizens. Today, Québec is taking, with Nunavik, another step towards its decentralization objective, the effect of which will be to make the regions more prosperous,” emphasized Minister Pelletier.

“After six years of hard work, the elected members of the Kativik Regional Government are now able to allocate the funding according to the priorities of our region. The signing of the Sivunirmut Agreement is another step in the implementation of the provisions of the Sanarrutik Agreement,” added Mr. Adams.


-30-



Sources:
Damir Croteau
Press secretary
Office of Minister Benoît Pelletier
(418) 646-5950

Larry Watt
Director of communications
Kativik Regional Government
(819) 964-2961

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as if :

Retour à l'accueil Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec - Ce lien externe s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre Recherche English Site du Ministre du Conseil Exécutif - Ce lien externe s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2004 > Communiqué du 31 mars 2004

Modernisation de l’État et décentralisation

Le gouvernement du Québec signe l’Entente Sivunirmut sur le financement global avec l’Administration régionale Kativik

Québec, 31 mars 2004 – Le ministre délégué aux Affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes et aux Affaires autochtones, monsieur Benoît Pelletier, ainsi que le président de l’Administration régionale Kativik (ARK), monsieur John ny N. Adams, et la secrétaire de l’organisme, madame Ina Gordon, ont signé aujourd’hui, dans les locaux de la Maison du Nunavik à Québec, l’Entente Sivunirmut, qui signifie « vers l’avenir » en inuktitut et qui concerne le financement global de l’Administration régionale Kativik.

Cette décision s’inscrit dans la volonté du gouvernement du Québec de confier aux régions davantage de responsabilités leur permettant de prendre en charge leur développement. D’une durée de vingt-trois (23) ans, l’entente vise à simplifier le transfert des fonds publics déjà prévus vers l’ARK. Elle fait suite à l’Entente Sanarrutik, signée en avril 2002, qui établissait un partenariat entre le Québec et les Inuits sur le développement économique et communautaire.

Après deux ans de dialogue, la conclusion de l’entente permet à l’organisme inuit d’accroître son autonomie de gestion, lequel, désormais, pourra répartir lui-même les sommes qui lui sont confiées en fonction de ses propres priorités, tout en remplissant les mandats prévus. L’ARK pourra ainsi être plus efficace dans la prestation des services lui permettant de répondre aux besoins des résidents du Nunavik. Le financement global regroupe, à l’intérieur d’une seule enveloppe totalisant 27,5 M$, les sommes provenant des programmes de six ministères et organismes du gouvernement du Québec. Ce montant sera indexé annuellement, selon la croissance de la population du Nunavik et l’évolution, par personne, des dépenses de programme du Québec.

« Cette entente consolide la relation de partenariat existant depuis plusieurs années avec l’ARK, qui est bien placée pour fournir les services à la population du Nunavik. C’est un exemple concret de la modernisation de l’État devant mener à une plus grande responsabilisation des citoyens. Aujourd’hui, le Québec franchit, avec le Nunavik, une autre étape vers son objectif de décentralisation, qui aura pour effet de rendre les régions plus prospères », a souligné le ministre Pelletier.

« Après six ans de travail commun, les membres élus de l’Administration régionale Kativik sont désormais en mesure de gérer les fonds qui leur sont accordés selon les priorités de la région. La signature de l’Entente Sivunirmut est une étape de plus dans la mise en œuvre des engagements financiers découlant de l’Entente Sanarrutik », a ajouté monsieur Adams.


-30-



Sources :
Damir Croteau
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre Benoît Pelletier
(418) 646-5950

Larry Watt
Directeur des communications
Administration régionale Kativik
(819) 964-2961

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Mise en ligne : 31 mars 2004