Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Signing of the Agreement-in-principle of a General Nature Between the First Nations of Mamuitun Mak Nutashkuan and the Governements of Québec and Canada

March 31, 2004 - The Chiefs of the four Innu First Nations of Mamuitun mak Nutashkuan, Raphaël Picard (Betsiamites), Denis Ross (Essipit), Richard Malec (Nutashkuan) and Gilbert Dominique (Mashteuiatsh), along with Benoît Pelletier, Quebec Minister of Canadian Intergovernmental Affairs and Aboriginal Affairs, and Andy Mitchell, Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development, today signed the Agreement-in-Principle of a General Nature that had been previously initialled by the negotiators in 2002.

After more than 20 years of intense negotiations, the signing of this historic Agreement represents a significant step towards the negotiation of a treaty which will establish new relationships between the Innus and the citizens of Quebec. The treaty will assist the economic and social development of the Aboriginal communities and of the North Shore and Saguenay- Lac-Saint-Jean regions.

"I am pleased today to sign the Agreement-in-Principle of a General Nature. The signing of this document is the tangible expression of the government of Canada's commitment to a process aimed at effectively concluding treaties, and the good will of the signatories demonstrates the importance we attach to continuing negotiations. The government of Canada will ensure the public is informed on the status and progress of these negotiations and that interested third-parties will be consulted during the ongoing negotiations towards a treaty", stated Minister Mitchell.

"This agreement is the starting point for future negotiations moving us forward towards a new generation of treaty making based on harmonious cohabitation between the Innu, Quebeckers and Canadians,"declared the Innu Chiefs."The Agreement-in-Principle of a General Nature will form the basis for the recognition, in the future treaty, of our Aboriginal rights, including that of Aboriginal title, as well as our inherent right to self-government and our distinctive culture. This agreement holds the promise of a brighter future for the Innu, especially our youth."

"The relationship between the Government of Quebec and the Innu has been nurtured over many years," stated Benoît Pelletier. "Both sides had to undertake awareness efforts for that relationship to reflect trust and respect. With today's signing of the Agreement-in-Principle of a General Nature, we have reached a significant step in negotiation. I have full confidence that together we will arrive at a treaty with the Innu Nation, and that we will accomplish this with the active involvement of the citizens of the North Shore and Saguenay-Lac-St-Jean."

After the signing of the Agreement, the Innu Chiefs and the Ministers of Quebec and Canada took this opportunity to reiterate their confidence in the negotiating process towards a treaty.

The First Nations of Betsiamites, Essipit and Mashteuiatsh are part of the Mamuitun Tribal Council, which has the mandate to negotiate a treaty with the governments of Canada and Quebec. The Innus of Nutashkuan joined this negotiation in November 2000 and also mandated the Mamuitun Tribal Council to negotiate the treaty.

This press release can be also consulted on Internet at the following addresses:
www.mamuitun.com
www.versuntraite.com

For more information, please call:
Raoul Kanapé
Communications Manager
Mamuitun Tribal Council mak Nutashkuan
(418) 275-7796 or (418) 637-5656

Damir Croteau
Press Coordinator
Office of Minister Benoît Pelletier
(418) 646-5950

Bryan Kirk
Press Coordinator
Office of Minister Andy Mitchell
(819) 997-0002

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Online as if : January 20, 2005

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2004 > Communiqué du 31 mars 2004

Signature de l’Entente de principe d’ordre général entre les premières nations de Mamuitun et de Nutashkuan et les gouvernements du Québec et du Canada

Québec, le 31 mars 2004 – Les chefs des premières nations des quatre communautés innues de Mamuitun mak Nutashkuan, monsieur Raphaël Picard (Betsiamites), monsieur Denis Ross (Essipit), monsieur Richard Malec (Nutashkuan) et monsieur Gilbert Dominique (Mashteuiatsh); le ministre délégué aux Affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes et aux Affaires autochtones du Québec, monsieur Benoît Pelletier, ainsi que le ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien, monsieur Andy Mitchell, ont signé à Québec l’Entente de principe d’ordre général, paraphée par les négociateurs en 2002.

Après plus de 20 ans d’intenses négociations, la signature de ce document historique représente une étape importante vers la négociation d’un traité qui établira de nouvelles relations entre les Innus et les Québécois. Le traité favorisera le développement économique et social des communautés autochtones et des régions du SaguenayLac-Saint-Jean et de la Côte-Nord.

« Je suis heureux d’apposer aujourd’hui mon nom sur l’Entente de principe d’ordre général. La signature de ce document vient concrétiser l’engagement du gouvernement du Canada dans une démarche visant à conclure un traité dans les meilleurs délais possible. La bonne volonté des signataires démontre toute l’importance accordée à la poursuite des négociations. Le gouvernement du Canada fera en sorte que le public soit informé sur la situation générale et sur l’avancement de ces négociations, et que les tiers ayant des intérêts dans les négociations soient consultés pendant les négociations en vue du traité », d’affirmer le ministre Andy Mitchell.

Selon les chefs innus, « c’est à partir de cette entente que seront menées les négociations nous conduisant vers un traité de nouvelle génération, fondé sur une cohabitation harmonieuse entre les Innus, les Québécois et les Canadiens. L’Entente de principe d’ordre général établit les bases de la reconnaissance, dans le futur traité, de nos droits ancestraux, y compris le titre aborigène, ainsi que de notre droit inhérent à l’autonomie gouvernementale et de notre culture distinctive. Cette entente annonce un avenir meilleur pour les Innus, particulièrement les jeunes. »

Pour le ministre Benoît Pelletier, « l’état des relations entre le gouvernement du Québec et les Autochtones est le résultat d’un travail de longue haleine. De part et d’autre, nous avons dû faire un effort de sensibilisation afin que ces relations soient empreintes de respect et de confiance. Avec la signature de l’Entente de principe d’ordre général, nous franchissons aujourd’hui une étape importante dans la négociation. J’ai la certitude qu’ensemble nous arriverons à la conclusion d’un traité avec la nation innue et c’est avec la participation active des citoyens de la Côte-Nord et du Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean que nous réussirons. »

À la suite de la signature de l’Entente, les chefs innus et les ministres du Québec et du Canada ont également profité de l’occasion pour réitérer leur confiance dans le processus de négociation vers un traité.

Les premières nations de Betsiamites, d’Essipit et de Mashteuiatsh font partie du Conseil tribal Mamuitun à qui elles ont confié le mandat de négocier un traité avec les gouvernements du Québec et du Canada. Les Innus de Nutashkuan se sont joints à cette négociation en novembre 2000 et ils ont également mandaté le Conseil tribal Mamuitun pour négocier le traité.

Le présent communiqué peut également être consulté sur Internet aux adresses suivantes :

www.mamuitun.com
www.versuntraite.com
www.ainc-inac.gc.ca

-30-



Pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires, veuillez communiquer avec :


Raoul Kanapé
Responsable des communications
Conseil tribal Mamuitun mak Nutashkuan
(418) 275-7796 ou (418) 637-5656

Damir Croteau
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre Benoît Pelletier
(418) 646-5950

Bryan Krik
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre Andy Mitchell
(819) 997-0002

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Mise en ligne : 31 mars 2004