Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Fourth meeting of the Joint Council of Elected Representatives

Economic development and taxation:
maintain the dialogue and continue the joint work


Québec, May 5, 2004 - The co-chairs of the Joint Council of Elected Representatives, Mr. Benoît Pelletier, Minister for Canadian Intergovernmental Affairs and Aboriginal Affairs, as well as Mr. Ghislain Picard, Regional Chief of the Assembly of First Nations of Québec and Labrador (AFNQL), announce the holding of the fourth meeting of the Joint Council of Elective Representatives, which will take place in Wendake on Thursday, May 6, 2004. On that occasion, discussions will focus on the following themes: economic development and taxation.

The Government of Québec will be represented by Minister Benoît Pelletier, Mr. Michel Audet, Minister of Economic and Regional Development and Research, and Mr. Lawrence S. Bergman, Minister of Revenue. As for the AFNQL, Mr. Ghislain Picard will be accompanied by Mr. Raphaël Picard, Chief of Betsiamites, and Mr. Lloyd Phillips, Chief of Kahnawake.

At the start of the meeting, the members of the Joint Council of Elected Representatives will agree on the terms and conditions making it possible to prepare the first assessment of their work. They will also discuss their interest in pursuing the dialogue next fall.

Mr. Benoît Pelletier will present the assessment of the five years of operation of the Aboriginal Development Fund (ADF). The AFNQL will discuss the First Nations’ experience regarding Québec’s regional economic development structures and the social and economic forum project already addressed during the previous meetings.

Turning to taxation, a first assessment of the work of the Joint Table, set up at the last meeting of the Council, will be presented to the members who will have the opportunity to discuss their points of view on this question. Finally, the members of the Joint Council of Elected Representatives will conclude their meeting by taking stock of two other themes: the approach to managing the territory and its resources, as well as the research mandate dealing with the services offered to First Nation populations living in and outside the communities.

Regional Chief Ghislain Picard stated: “We have given tangible form to our government-to-government relationship with the Government of Québec by finding together a new way of making and implementing government decisions that affect First Nation populations. This is without a doubt one of the main challenges of the Joint Council of Elected Representatives.”

According to Chief Lloyd Phillips, “the First Nations and Québec have everything to gain from clarifying and developing their economic relations. Tax relations are part of our economic relations. On May 6th, the Joint Council will examine tangible solution proposals. I am confident that we are on the right path, one that will lead to lasting harmonious relations.”

For his part, Mr. Michel Audet, Minister of Economic and Regional Development and Research, considers that “some major catching up needs to be done in terms of Aboriginal economic development, as major differences remain in the level and quality of life of the Aboriginal peoples in comparison with other Quebecers.” The Minister will also make known during the meeting the possibilities afforded by the new Economic and Regional Intervention Fund (FIER), with its $300 million budget, for supporting the initiatives of Aboriginal socioeconomic leaders.

“This is a very interesting tool which is in addition to the Aboriginal Development Fund and which will make it possible to increase the socioeconomic development of the First Nations. Moreover, it will promote the emergence of partnerships between Aboriginals and non-Aboriginals, and will contribute to improving quality of life throughout Québec,” mentioned Minister Michel Audet.

- 30 -


Source:

Damir Croteau
Press secretary
Office of the Minister for Canadian Intergovernmental Affairs and Native Affairs
Tel. : (418) 646-5950

Ghislain Picard
Regional Chief
Assembly of First Nations of Québec and Labrador
Tel. : (418) 842-5020
Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as if :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2004 > Communiqué du 5 mai 2004

Quatrième réunion du Conseil conjoint des élus

Développement de l’économie et fiscalité : maintenir le dialogue et poursuivre le travail conjoint

Québec, le 5 mai 2004 - Les coprésidents du Conseil conjoint des élus, le ministre délégué aux Affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes et aux Affaires autochtones, monsieur Benoît Pelletier ainsi que le chef régional de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador (APNQL), monsieur Ghislain Picard, annoncent la tenue de la quatrième réunion du Conseil conjoint des élus, qui aura lieu à Wendake, le jeudi 6 mai 2004. Les discussions porteront à cette occasion sur les thèmes suivants : le développement de l’économie et la fiscalité.

Le gouvernement du Québec sera représenté par le ministre Benoît Pelletier, le ministre du Développement économique et régional et de la Recherche, monsieur Michel Audet, et le ministre du Revenu, monsieur Lawrence S. Bergman. Du côté des représentants de l’APNQL, monsieur Ghislain Picard sera accompagné de monsieur Raphaël Picard, chef de Betsiamites, et de monsieur Lloyd Phillips, chef de Kahnawake.

Au début de la rencontre, les membres du Conseil conjoint des élus conviendront des modalités permettant de dresser un premier bilan de leurs travaux. Ils discuteront également de leur intérêt à maintenir le dialogue au cours de l’automne prochain.

Le ministre Benoît Pelletier exposera ensuite le bilan des cinq années de fonctionnement du Fonds de développement pour les Autochtones (FDA). L’APNQL discutera de l’expérience des Premières Nations à l’égard des structures régionales québécoises de développement économique et du projet de forum social et économique déjà abordé au cours des réunions précédentes.

En ce qui a trait à la fiscalité, un premier bilan des travaux de la table conjointe, mise sur pied lors de la dernière rencontre du Conseil, sera présenté aux membres qui auront ainsi l’occasion d’échanger leurs points de vue sur ce dossier. Enfin, les membres du Conseil conjoint des élus termineront la rencontre en faisant le point sur deux autres thèmes : l’approche de gestion du territoire et de ses ressources de même que le mandat de recherche portant sur les services à la population des Premières Nations vivant dans les communautés et hors de celles-ci.

Le chef régional Ghislain Picard a déclaré : « Nous devons concrétiser notre relation de gouvernement à gouvernement avec le Québec en trouvant ensemble une façon nouvelle de prendre et de mettre en œuvre les décisions gouvernementales qui affectent la population des Premières Nations. C'est sans doute là un des principaux défis du Conseil conjoint des élus. »

Selon le chef Lloyd Phillips, « les Premières Nations et le Québec ont tout à gagner en clarifiant et en développant leurs relations économiques. Les relations fiscales font partie de nos relations économiques. Le Conseil conjoint des élus du 6 mai examinera des propositions concrètes de solution. Je suis confiant que nous sommes sur la bonne voie, vers des relations harmonieuses durables ».

Le ministre du Développement économique et régional et de la Recherche, monsieur Michel Audet, estime, pour sa part, « qu'un rattrapage est grandement nécessaire au chapitre du développement économique autochtone puisqu’il subsiste encore des écarts importants entre le niveau et la qualité de vie des Autochtones par rapport aux autres Québécois ». Le ministre fera également valoir, au cours de la réunion, les possibilités qu’offre le nouveau Fonds d'intervention économique et régional (FIER), doté de capitaux de 300 millions de dollars, d’appuyer les initiatives des leaders socioéconomiques autochtones.

« Voilà un outil très intéressant qui s’ajoute au Fonds de développement pour les Autochtones et qui permettra d’accroître le développement socioéconomique des Premières Nations. Il favorisera, de plus, l’émergence de partenariats entre Autochtones et non-Autochtones et contribuera à améliorer la qualité de vie partout au Québec », a mentionné le ministre Audet.

- 30 -

Source :

Damir Croteau
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre délégué aux Affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes et aux Affaires autochtones
Tél. : (418) 646-5950

Ghislain Picard
Chef régional
Assemblée des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador
Tél. : (418) 842-5020
Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Mise en ligne : 5 mai 2004