Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Inauguration of a seal skin treatment plant in Unamen Shipu (La Romaine)

Unamen Shipu (Quebec), December 7, 2004 – The band council of the Montagnais de Unamen Shipu and the governments of Canada and Quebec are pleased to announce the official inauguration of the Usine de délardage Atshuk, a business which specializes in the mechanical fat removal from seal skins. The opening of this new plant represents a significant gain for the socioeconomic development of the community of Unamen Shipu.

The Usine de délardage Atshuk could not have gone ahead without the financial contribution of various partners: the Government of Canada (Indian and Northern Affairs Canada and Economic Development Canada) provided $53 480, the Government of Quebec (Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones) contributed $53 240 and the band council of the Montagnais de Unamen Shipu provided a contribution of $30 160. The Tannerie du Nord inc. company provided its expertise.

"The economic development of Aboriginal communities is at the heart of the priorities at Indian and Northern Affairs Canada. The creation of the Usine de délardage Atshuk tangibly demonstrates what can be achieved when Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people join their efforts. This is the type of partnership that my department firmly supports," said the Honourable Andy Scott, Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development and Federal Interlocutor for Métis and non-Status Indians.

The Honourable Jacques Saada, Minister of Canada Economic Development and Minister responsible for the Francophonie, added for his part that "the creation of a seal skin processing plant is a project whose economic benefits are sure to become the pride of the whole Unamen Shipu community. Thanks to its dynamism, the population is finding ways to strengthen the community's economic base through the creation of skilled jobs and the acquisition of new expertise that will provide added value to the resource locally."

We believe, at the Government of Quebec, that an increased Aboriginal contribution to the economy of Quebec is essential for regional development. Through supporting this type of project, we want Aboriginal entrepreneurship to realize its full potential. I am convinced that this new plant will be an example of the success that can be achieved through partnerships between Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people,” said Mr. Benoît Pelletier, Minister for Canadian Intergovernmental Affairs and Aboriginal Affairs.

"For the members of the community of Unamen Shipu, the project of the Usine de délardage Atshuk represents an excellent opportunity to develop a resource within easy reach, which has not been developed yet, for lack of means. It is important to realize that government support will benefit both Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people of the communities from the Lower and Mid-North Shore. Our community is therefore proud to contribute to the economic and social expansion of our region," said Mr. Edmond Mesténapéo, Chief of the Montagnais of Unamen Shipu.

The Innu (Montagnais) community of Unamen Shipu has 972 members, 910 of which reside on the territory. It is located on the Lower-North Shore, approximately 400 kilometres to the north-east of Sept-Îles and can only be accessed by boat or plane.

Funding for this initiative was provided for in the March 2004 federal budget.

- 30 -

For more information:

Hélène Philippe
Regional Communications Manager
Indian and Northern Affairs Canada
(418) 648-7675

Daniel Dezainde
Press Secretary
Office of the Honourable Jacques Saada
Economic Development Canada
(514) 496-1282

Damir Croteau
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister for Canadian Intergovernmental Affairs and Aboriginal Affairs
(418) 646-5950

Serge Lechasseur
Economic Development Advisor
Regroupement Mamit Innuat
(418) 295-1334 or (418) 962-5094

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Online as if : December 7, 2004

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Une usine de délardage de peaux de phoque ouvre ses portes à Unamen Shipu (La Romaine)

Unamen Shipu (Québec), le 7 décembre 2004 – Le Conseil de bande des Montagnais de Unamen Shipu ainsi que les gouvernements du Canada et du Québec sont heureux d’annoncer l’inauguration officielle de l’Usine de délardage Atshuk, une entreprise se spécialisant dans le délardage de peaux de phoque. L’implantation de cette nouvelle usine constituera un apport important au développement socio-économique de la communauté de Unamen Shipu.

L’Usine de délardage Atshuk n’aurait pu voir le jour sans l’apport financier des différents partenaires : le gouvernement du Canada (Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada et Développement économique Canada) a accordé une somme de 53 480 $; le gouvernement du Québec (Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones), un montant de 53 240 $; et le Conseil de bande des Montagnais de Unamen Shipu, une contribution de 30 160 $, et sans l’expertise de l’entreprise Tannerie du Nord inc.

« Le développement économique des communautés autochtones est au cœur des priorités d’Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada. La création de l’Usine de délardage Atshuk démontre de façon tangible ce qui peut être accompli lorsque les Autochtones et les non-Autochtones unissent leurs efforts. Voilà le genre de partenariat qu’appuie fermement mon ministère », a déclaré l’honorable Andy Scott, ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien et Interlocuteur fédéral auprès des Métis et des Indiens non inscrits.

L’honorable Jacques Saada, ministre de Développement économique Canada et ministre responsable de la Francophonie, a pour sa part ajouté : « Le démarrage de l’usine de première transformation du phoque est un projet dont les retombées feront certainement la fierté de toute la communauté de Unamen Shipu. Grâce à son dynamisme, la population se donne les moyens de consolider la base économique du milieu à partir de la création d’emplois spécialisés et de l’acquisition d’une nouvelle expertise qui apporte localement une valeur ajoutée à la ressource. »

« Nous croyons, au gouvernement du Québec, qu'une contribution accrue des Autochtones à l'économie québécoise est essentielle pour le développement régional. En soutenant ce type de projet, nous voulons que le potentiel de l'entrepreneurship autochtone puisse se réaliser pleinement. Cette nouvelle usine sera, j'en suis convaincu, un exemple de réussite provenant de l'établissement d'un partenariat entre Autochtones et Allochtones », a déclaré M. Benoît Pelletier, ministre délégué aux Affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes et aux Affaires autochtones.

« Le projet de l’Usine de délardage Atshuk représente, pour les membres de la communauté de Unamen Shipu, une excellente opportunité de développement d’une ressource à portée de main n’ayant jamais été développée, faute de moyens. Il est important de réaliser que le soutien gouvernemental apporté profitera tant à la population autochtone qu’à la population allochtone des communautés de la Moyenne et de la Basse-Côte-Nord. Notre communauté est donc fière de contribuer à l’essor économique et social de la région », a indiqué M. Edmond Mesténapéo, chef des Montagnais de Unamen Shipu.

La communauté innue (montagnaise) de Unamen Shipu compte 972 membres, dont 910 vivent sur le territoire. Elle est située sur la Basse-Côte-Nord, à environ 400 kilomètres au nord-est de Sept-Îles, et est accessible uniquement par bateau ou par avion.

Les fonds pour cette initiative étaient prévus dans le budget fédéral de mars 2004.

- 30 -

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Hélène Philippe
Gestionnaire régionale des communications
Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada
(418) 648-7675

Daniel Dezainde
Attaché de presse
Cabinet de l’honorable Jacques Saada
Développement économique Canada
(514) 496-1282

Damir Croteau
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre délégué aux Affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes et aux Affaires autochtones
(418) 646-5950

Serge Lechasseur
Conseiller en développement économique
Regroupement Mamit Innuat
(418) 295-1334 ou (418) 962-5094

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Mise en ligne : 7 décembre 2004