Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Inauguration of the Wemotaci Youth Centre

Wemotaci, December 10, 2004 - Mr. Ernest Awashish, Grand Chief of the Atikamekw Nation, Mr. François Néashit, Chief of the Wemotaci Atikamekw Council, Mr. Benoît Pelleter, Minister for Canadian Intergovernmental Affairs and Aboriginal Affairs, and the Honourable Andy Scott, Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development and interlocutor for Metis and Non-Status Indians, take pleasure in announcing the inauguration of the Wemotaci Youth Centre.

"I am delighted to see this project that is essential for our youth come to a conclusion, declared Mr. Ernest Awashish, the Grand Chief of the Atikamekw Nation. The youth will finally benefit from a tailor-made facility designed to respond to their needs. They will now finally have a place that can provide a multitude of opportunities to create, exchange, reflect and undertake future projects, which I hope will be beneficial for the Atikamekw Nation."

"The Métis and Inuit communities as well as First Nation communities are young communities that possess great potential and are ready to carve out a place for themselves in society. They constitute a segment of the population that is experiencing strong growth in Canada which will lead to a growing contribution to the workforce and the governing class in Canada. Indian and Northern Affairs Canada is a proud partner in the realization of this project that favours youth involvement in community life. They can expect to benefit from new and enriching experiences that will better prepare them for the future", declared the Honourable Andy Scott.

Located in the heart of the community, the Youth Centre is a meeting place for the Wemotaci youth that includes:

  • A lounge to exchange and relax;
  • A multi-media room equipped with computers, video games and a television;
  • An art room to express the talent of painters, designers and craftsmen;
  • A reading room;
  • A large hall for dances, receptions and sports (ping pong, soccer and table hockey);
  • A kitchenette for snacks.

"The Wemotaci Youth Centre is the embodiment of a dream that has been shared by all youth in the community for several years. This Centre provides them with a fresh start, underscored Mr. François Néashit, Chief of the Wemotaci Atikamekw Council. Henceforth, they may dare to dream and hope."

Minister Benoît Pelletier declared, "I am proud that the Québec government contributed to the realization of this project that will instil hope and allow a good number of young Atikameks to experience enriching meetings and exploit their talents in the fields of sports, culture and the arts. I am convinced that the Wemotaci Youth Centre will constitute a gathering place that will foster the foundation of a promising future for the community inspired by the dreams and aspirations of its youth."

This project also contributes to the economic development of the community as it will create four new jobs: three at the Youth Centre and one related to a healthy lunch program that will be offered as of January.

The project evaluated at $1.5 million would not have been possible without the financial contribution of the Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones in the amount of $767,500, the Wemotaci Atikamekw Council in the amount of $525,000 and Indian and Northern Affairs Canada in the amount of $200,000.

The Atikamekw Nation

The Atikamekw Nation includes more than 5,500 individuals residing in Québec, the vast majority of which live in the three following communities: Manawan, located in the Lanaudière region, Opitciwan, located on the North shore of the Gouin reservoir, in the upper St. Maurice, and Wemotaci, located northwest of La Tuque, also in the upper St. Maurice. These three communities occupy a territory that totals close to 70,000 km2. It is important to note that 60% of the Atikamekw population is in the 25 or less age group. Forestry, tourism, traditional handicrafts and services to the population are currently among the main economic activities within the communities.

Source :

Sandrine Brindejonc
Communications Coordinator
Grand Chief and Negotiations Office
Atikamekw Nation Council
Telephone: (819) 523-6153, ext. 116
Cellular: (819) 676-6418
E-mail: sbrindejonc@atikamekwsipi.com

Information:

Alexandra Awashish
Advisor responsible for Youth
Wemotaci Atikamekw Council
Telephone: (819) 666-2241

Hélène Philippe
Regional Communications Manager
Québec Regional Office
Indian Affairs and Northern Development
Telephone: (418) 648-7675

Dami Croteau
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister for Canadian Intergovernmental Affairs and Aboriginal Affairs
(418) 646-5950

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Online as if : December 13, 2004

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2004 > 10 décembre 2004

Inauguration de la Maison des Jeunes de Wemotaci

Wemotaci, le 10 décembre 2004 - Monsieur Ernest Awashish, Grand-Chef de la Nation Atikamekw, monsieur François Néashit, Chef du Conseil des Atikamekw de Wemotaci, monsieur Benoît Pelletier, ministre délégué aux Affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes et aux Affaires autochtones, et l’honorable Andy Scott, ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien et Interlocuteur fédéral auprès des Métis et des Indiens non inscrits, sont heureux d’annoncer l’inauguration de la Maison des Jeunes de Wemotaci.

« Je me réjouis de voir ce projet essentiel pour nos jeunes aboutir, a déclaré monsieur Ernest Awashish, le Grand-Chef de la Nation Atikamekw. Les jeunes pourront enfin bénéficier d’une infrastructure conçue sur mesure pour répondre à leurs besoins. Et surtout, ces jeunes auront finalement un endroit qui leur offrira une multitude d’opportunités pour créer, échanger, réfléchir et entreprendre des projets d’avenir que je souhaite porteurs pour la Nation Atikamekw. »

« Les communautés métisses et inuites et celles des Premières nations sont jeunes, possèdent un potentiel considérable et sont prêtes à se tailler une place dans la société. Elles constituent le segment de population qui connaît la plus forte croissance au Canada et promettent d'apporter une contribution croissante à la main-d'œuvre et à la classe dirigeante du Canada. Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada est un fier partenaire dans la réalisation de ce projet qui favorise l'implication des jeunes dans la vie de leur communauté. Ils peuvent s'attendre à vivre des expériences nouvelles et enrichissantes qui leur permettront de mieux préparer leur avenir », a déclaré l'honorable Andy Scott.

Située en plein centre de la communauté, la Maison des Jeunes se veut un lieu de rencontre pour la jeunesse de Wemotaci qui y trouvera :

  • Une salle de séjour pour échanger et relaxer;
  • Une salle multimédia équipée d’ordinateurs, de jeux vidéo et d’une télévision;
  • Une salle des arts pour que s’exprime le talent des peintres, des dessinateurs et des artisans
  • Une salle de lecture;
  • Une grande salle pour les soirées dansantes, les réceptions et les sportifs (ping pong, soccer et hockey sur table);
  • Une cuisinette pour les petits creux.

« La Maison des jeunes de Wemotaci, c’est la concrétisation d’un rêve que partageaient les jeunes de la communauté depuis des années. Cette Maison leur permettra de prendre un nouveau départ, a souligné monsieur François Néashit, Chef du Conseil des Atikamekw de Wemotaci. Désormais, tous les rêves et les espoirs leur sont permis. »

Pour le ministre Benoît Pelletier, « Je suis fier que le gouvernement du Québec contribue à la réalisation de ce projet porteur d’espoir, qui permettra à un bon nombre de jeunes attikameks de faire des rencontres enrichissantes et d’exploiter leurs talents dans les domaines des sports, de la culture et des arts. Je suis persuadé que la Maison des jeunes de Wemotaci constituera un lieu privilégié favorisant la construction d’un avenir prometteur pour la communauté à partir des rêves et des aspirations de sa jeunesse. »

Ce projet contribue également au développement économique de la communauté puisqu’il va créer quatre nouveaux emplois : trois à la Maison des Jeunes et un relié au projet du service de dîner santé qui sera offert à compter de janvier.

Ce projet évalué à 1,5 million $ n’aurait pu voir le jour sans la contribution financière du Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones à hauteur de 767 500 $, du Conseil des Atikamekw de Wemotaci à hauteur de 525 000 $ et d’Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada à hauteur de 200 000 $.

À propos de la Nation Atikamekw

La Nation Atikamekw comprend plus de 5 500 individus résidant tous au Québec, la grande majorité vivant dans une des trois communautés suivantes : Manawan, située dans la région de Lanaudière, Opitciwan, située sur la rive nord du réservoir Gouin, en Haute-Mauricie et Wemotaci, située au nord-ouest de La Tuque, également en Haute-Mauricie. Ces trois communautés occupent un territoire totalisant près de 70 000 km2. Soulignons que 60 % de la population Atikamekw est âgée de moins de 25 ans. La foresterie, le tourisme, l’artisanat traditionnel et les services à la population sont parmi les principales activités économiques existantes à l’intérieur des communautés.

Source :

Sandrine Brindejonc
Coordonnatrice aux communications
Bureau du Grand-Chef et des négociations
Conseil de la Nation Atikamekw
Téléphone : 819-523-6153, p. 116
Cellulaire : 819-676-6418
Courriel : sbrindejonc@atikamekwsipi.com

Renseignements :

Alexandra Awashish
Conseillère déléguée à la jeunesse
Conseil des Atikamekw de Wemotaci
Téléphone : 819-666-2241

Hélène Philippe
Gestionnaire régionale des communications
Bureau régional du Québec
Affaires indiennes et Nord Canada
Téléphone : 418-648-7675

Damir Croteau
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre délégué aux Affaires intergouvernementales
canadiennes et aux Affaires autochtones
Téléphone : 418-646-5950

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Mise en ligne : 13 décembre 2004