Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Fifth meeting of the Joint Council of Elected Representatives

Elected representatives lay the foundations for the organization of the Forum on the Social and Economic Development of the First Nations with a taking part of the Inuit

Québec, January 19, 2005 - The co-chairs of the Joint Council of Elected Representatives, Mr. Benoît Pelletier, Minister for Canadian Intergovernmental Affairs and Aboriginal Affairs, and Mr. Ghislain Picard, Regional Chief of the Assembly of First Nations of Québec and Labrador (AFNQL), announce the holding of the fifth meeting of the Joint Council of Elected Representatives in Kahnawake, on Thursday, January, 20 2005. Participants will discuss economic development and more specifically, the organization of the Forum on the Social and Economic Development of the First Nations with a taking part of the Inuit.

The Government of Québec will be represented by Minister Benoît Pelletier, Mr. Yves Séguin, Minister of Finance, and Mr. Karl Blackburn, Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of Economic and Regional Development. As for the AFNQL, Mr. Ghislain Picard will be accompanied by Mr. Raphaël Picard, Chief of Betsiamites, and Mr. Lloyd Phillips, Assistant-Grand Chief of Kahnawake.

With the theme of economic development as a backdrop, elected representatives will use this fifth meeting to discuss the organization of the Forum on the Social and Economic Development of the First Nations with a taking part of the Inuit. The creation of a joint entity that will be mandated to prepare this major event will be examined.

According to Mr. Benoît Pelletier, “we are about to lay the foundations for the organization of a forum that is one of a kind. This is the first time in Québec that we are organizing an event that will allow the Aboriginal peoples and the representatives of Québec to discuss together the development of the First Nations and the Inuit.

It should be recalled that during the Forum des générations held on October 12, 13 and 14, 2004, Premier Jean Charest made a commitment, with representatives of the Government of Québec, the First Nations with a taking part of the Inuit, as well as various regional stakeholders and leaders, to hold such a forum in 2005.

For Regional Chief Ghislain Picard, “the Forum on Social and Economic Development must commit all governments and the decision-makers of the private sector to support the First Nations and the Inuit in order to improve the socioeconomic conditions of our populations. The Forum must produce tangible commitments that will help make up for the lost ground by the populations of the First Nations and Inuit in recent years.

At the end of the January 20th meeting, the elected representatives will examine the assessment of the five years of operation of the Aboriginal Development Fund (ADF) presented at the meeting held on May 6, 2004. They will also discuss their interest in maintaining the dialogue and continuing the Council’s work.

- 30 -

Sources:
Damir Croteau
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister for Canadian Intergovernmental Affairs and Aboriginal Affairs
Tel.: (418) 646-5950

Alain Garon
Information and Communication Agent
Assembly of First Nations of Québec and Labrador
Tel.: (418) 842-5020

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Online as if : January 19, 2005

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2005 > Communiqué du 19 janvier 2005

Cinquième réunion du Conseil conjoint des élus

Les élus mettent en place l’organisation du Forum sur le développement social et économique des Premières Nations

Québec, le 20 janvier 2005 - Les coprésidents du Conseil conjoint des élus, le ministre délégué aux Affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes et aux Affaires autochtones, M. Benoît Pelletier, et le chef régional de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador (APNQL), M. Ghislain Picard, annoncent la tenue de la cinquième réunion du Conseil conjoint des élus, à Kahnawake, le jeudi 20 janvier 2005. Les participants y discuteront du développement de l’économie et, plus particulièrement, de l’organisation du Forum sur le développement social et économique des Premières Nations, auquel participeront les Inuits.

Le gouvernement du Québec sera représenté par le ministre Benoît Pelletier, le ministre des Finances, M. Yves Séguin, et par l’adjoint parlementaire du ministre du Développement économique et régional et de la Recherche, M. Karl Blackburn. Du côté des représentants de l’APNQL, M. Ghislain Picard sera accompagné de M. Raphaël Picard, chef de Betsiamites, et de M. Lloyd Phillips, assistant-grand chef de Kahnawake.

« Nous sommes sur le point de mettre en place l’organisation d’un forum unique en son genre. C’est la première fois au Québec que l’on organise un événement qui permettra aux Autochtones et aux représentants du Québec de discuter ensemble du développement des Premières Nations », a déclaré le ministre Pelletier.

Rappelons que, à l’occasion du Forum des générations les 12, 13 et 14 octobre 2004, le premier ministre Jean Charest s’est engagé, avec des représentants du gouvernement du Québec, des Premières Nations et des Inuits, ainsi qu’avec divers intervenants et leaders régionaux, à tenir un tel forum.

Pour le chef régional Ghislain Picard, « le Forum sur le développement social et économique se doit d’engager tous les gouvernements et les décideurs du secteur privé et public à appuyer les dirigeants des Premières Nations et des Inuits en vue de relever les conditions socioéconomiques de nos populations. Le Forum devra conduire à des engagements concrets qui feront en sorte de freiner la perte de terrain des dernières années qu’ont subi les populations des Premières Nations et des Inuits ».

Au cours de la rencontre du 20 janvier, les élus reviendront également sur le bilan des cinq années de fonctionnement du Fonds de développement pour les Autochtones (FDA) présenté lors de la réunion du 6 mai dernier, ainsi que sur les possibilités de reconduction du Fonds.

- 30 -

Sources :
Damir Croteau
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre délégué aux Affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes
et aux Affaires autochtones
Tél. : (418) 646-5950

Alain Garon
Agent d’information et de communication
Assemblée des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador
Tél. : (418) 842-5020

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Mise en ligne : 19 janvier 2005