Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Pita Aatami and Benoît Pelletier sign a Complementary Agreement of the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement

Kuujjuaq, Thursday January 27, 2005 – President Pita Aatami welcomes Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs and of Native Affairs Benoit Pelletier on the occasion of his second visit to Nunavik to meet with Inuit leaders from Makivik Corporation and the Kativik Regional Government in Kuujjuaq January 27 and 28. Minister Pelletier and a delegation from the Secretariat aux affaires autochtone are to convene to discuss matters of concern in Nunavik, and to cement Complementary Agreement No. 18 of the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement.

The Complementary Agreement is an amendment to the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement (JBNQA) regarding eligibility of Inuit beneficiaries. This agreement provides for a new Nunavik Enrolment Office and Inuit Beneficiaries Register to be based in Kuujjuaq. Previously, there was no such office in Nunavik, and the registry was maintained in the Secretary General's office outside of Nunavik. Each Inuit community will also create a "Community Enrolment Committee", which will receive applications for beneficiaries.

This Agreement brings eligibility criteria and the definition of who is an Inuk into the hands Inuit, as they have been asking for the past ten years when Makivik created a special committee to consult the Inuit on eligibility criteria. Pita Aatami states that "the missing link on eligibility criteria is now being put in place through this agreement, that is, the Inuit communities will now have direct say, because we as Inuit are the best placed to decide who can be defined as an Inuk and eligible as a beneficiary of the JBNQA."

"I am proud to sign this agreement which will allow the Inuit to take charge of the definition and registration of the beneficiaries of the James Bay and Northern Québec Agreement and in so doing, to increase their responsibilities and their autonomy. This is a tanible example of a partnership that we wish to establish with the aboriginal nations," underscored Minister Benoît Pelletier.

Various matters such as the economic development of the region, municipal infrastructure and the more recent Federal Northern Strategy were to be discussed among the Inuit leaders during the two day visit of Minister Pelletier.

About Makivik Corporation

Makivik Corporation, established in 1978, represents the political, social, and economic rights of the Nunavik Inuit. Makivik’s activities include treaty negotiations, environmental impact evaluations, compensation accord negotiation, social and environmental research, renewable resource development, and various local and regional economic activities. Approximately 10,000 people live in Nunavik, 9045 of who are Inuit beneficiaries of the JBNQA. Unlike other First Nations, the Nunavik Inuit are taxpayers in their own right, paying both federal and provincial taxes on all the products and services they purchase.

- 30 -

Source :

Lisa Koperqualuk
Responsable des communications
Société Makivik
(514) 745-8880

Damir Croteau
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre délégué aux Affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes et aux Affaires autochtones
(418) 646-5950

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Online as if : January 27, 2005

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2005 > Communiqué du 27 janvier 2005

Pita Aatami et Benoît Pelletier signent une convention complémentaire à la Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois

Kuujjuaq, jeudi le 27 janvier 2005 – Le président de la Société Makivik, M. Pita Aatami, accueille le ministre délégué aux Affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes et aux Affaires autochtones, M. Benoît Pelletier, à Kuujjuaq, les 27 et 28 janvier. À l’occasion de sa deuxième visite au Nunavik, le ministre Pelletier rencontre les membres de la Société Makivik ainsi que les représentants de l’Administration régionale Kativik. Cette rencontre, en plus de permettre au ministre de discuter de dossiers qui préoccupent le Nunavik avec les représentants de la communauté inuite, est l’occasion de signer la Convention complémentaire no 18 à la Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois.

La Convention complémentaire, qui porte sur l’admissibilité des bénéficiaires inuits, vient modifier la Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois. Elle donne ainsi aux Inuits le pouvoir de déterminer les critères d’admissibilité et de définir qui est un Inuk. De plus, elle prévoit un bureau d’inscription au Nunavik ainsi qu’un registre des bénéficiaires, lesquels seront établis à Kuujjuaq. Auparavant, il n’existait aucun bureau de ce genre au Nunavik et le registre était tenu dans les bureaux du secrétaire général à l’extérieur de la région. Chaque communauté inuite créera aussi un comité d’inscription communautaire, qui recevra les demandes des bénéficiaires.

Cette entente vient mettre fin à dix ans de revendication de la Société Makivik, qui avait par ailleurs chargé un comité de consultation auprès des Inuits sur le sujet. Pita Aatami a par ailleurs déclaré que « le lien manquant sur les critères d’admissibilité est maintenant établi par cette convention ; les communautés inuites auront maintenant directement accès au chapitre, puisque les Inuits sont les mieux placés pour définir qui est un Inuk et qui est admissible comme bénéficiaire de la CBJNQ. »

« Je suis fier de signer cette convention qui permettra aux Inuits de prendre en charge la définition et l’enregistrement des bénéficiaires de la Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois et ainsi d’accroître leurs responsabilités et leur autonomie. C’est un exemple concret d’un partenariat que nous souhaitons établir avec les nations autochtones », a souligné le ministre Benoît Pelletier.

Divers sujets, notamment le développement économique régional, l’infrastructure municipale et la plus récente stratégie nordique fédérale ont aussi été abordés par les dirigeants inuits, au cours de la visite du ministre Pelletier.

À propos de la Société Makivik

Conformément à la Convention de la Baie James et du Nord québécois, conclue en 1975 avec le Canada et le Québec, la Société Makivik, établie en 1978, représente les Inuits du Nunavik en matières sociales, culturelles, économiques et politiques relatives à leurs droits, y compris la modification et la négociation de traités, l´évaluation des effets sur l´environnement, la négociation d´accords de compensation, la recherche sociale et environnementale, le développement des ressources renouvelables et diverses activités économiques, locales et régionales. La population totale du Nunavik compte près de 10 000 personnes, dont 9045 sont des bénéficiaires inuits de la Convention de la Baie James et du Nord québécois. Les Inuits du Nunavik sont des contribuables à part entière qui, contrairement aux autres nations autochtones, paient des taxes fédérales et provinciales sur tous les produits et services qu´ils achètent.

- 30 -

Sources :

Damir Croteau
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre délégué aux Affaires intergouvernementales canadiennes et aux Affaires autochtones
(418) 646-5950

Lisa Koperqualuk
Responsable des communications
Société Makivik
(514) 745-8880

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
:
Mise en ligne : 27 janvier 2004