Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Negotiations between the Government of Québec and the Algonquins of Long Point and Lac Simon

Ministers Geoffrey Kelley and Pierre Corbeil take stock of the situation

Québec, April 1, 2005 - Mr. Geoffrey Kelley, Minister for Aboriginal Affairs, and Mr. Pierre Corbeil, Minister of Natural Resources and Wildlife, Minister responsible for the Abitibi-Témiscamingue Region and the Nord-du-Québec Region, and MNA for Abitibi-Est, have taken stock of the recent developments in the negotiations between the Government of Québec and the Algonquin communities of Long Point and Lac Simon.

On March 30, 2005, the parties reached an agreement which aims to decide on a negotiation process to find a lasting solution to the problem concerning the participation of Algonquin communities in the exploitation and development of the natural resources of the Abitibi-Témiscamingue region. This agreement provided for the negotiation and conclusion of an interim agreement before 6 p.m. on March 31st. This agreement was supposed to permit the progressive implementation of harmonization measures.

Despite the holding of sustained discussions and the efforts invested by the Government of Québec, the interim agreement could not be reached by the agreed upon deadline. To avoid a breakdown in the dialogue between the parties, Ministers Kelley and Corbeil would like to continue the discussions over the next few days to arrive at an agreement.

"While the deadline for reaching an interim agreement has passed, my colleague, Minister Corbeil, and I consider that the dialogue has not broken down. I have made a personal commitment to Chiefs Mathias and Pien to maintain contact, and I have invited them to continue the talks. We believe in the good faith of the parties, and that by working together, a solution may be reached. Together, we can settle our disputes and work in cooperation so that the communities can participate fully in the economic development of the region," emphasized Minister Kelley.

For his part, Minister Corbeil announced: "Under the circumstances, the Ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune, in keeping with its mandate and in all fairness, must issue, beginning today, a certain number of forest management permits to allow holders of Timber Supply and Forest Management Agreements (TSFM) to ensure the continuity of work in order to supply their plants." However, these permits are being issued to permit operations over the next three months. By taking this step, the Minister wants to allow the negotiations to continue, while maintaining operations, where this is required.

This permits are intended for the following TSFM holders in particular: Domtar (Val-d'Or, Malartic and Lebel-sur-Quévillon); Tembec (La Sarre, Béarn, Senneterrre, Taschereau); Commonwealth Plywood (Belleterre); Bois Oméga (Lac Supérieur); Norbord (La Sarre, Val-d'Or), Produits forestiers et miniers Abitibi (Malartic), CDEX (Val-d'Or), Abitibi-Consolidated of Canada (Champneuf and Comtois); Scierie Landrienne (Amos); Scierie Gallichan (Amos); Matériaux Blanchet.

"The continuation of forestry operations, one of the leading economic activities of the Abitibi-Témiscamingue region, will benefit all communities in the region. It is essential to ensure the continuity of the production process," insisted Minister Corbeil.

In August 2004, the Algonquins of Long Point and Lac Simon had intensified their pressure tactics in this file, slowing down the carrying out of forestry activities in the Abitibi-Témiscamingue region. Since then, the Government of Québec, in accordance with the Supreme Court ruling, has continued to step up its actions to consult the two aboriginal communities in question on the subject of annual forestry management plans with a view to re-establishing the dialogue and bringing the parties closer together, with the ultimate goal of finding a lasting solution to this problem.


-30-

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Online as of : April 4, 2005

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2005 > Communiqué du 1er avril 2005

Négociations entre le gouvernement du Québec et les Algonquins de Longue Pointe et de Lac Simon

Les ministres Geoffrey Kelley et Pierre Corbeil font le point sur la situation

Le 1er avril 2005 - Le ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones, M. Geoffrey Kelley, et le ministre des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune et ministre responsable de la région de l'Abitibi-Témiscamingue et de la région du Nord-du-Québec et député d'Abitibi-Est, M. Pierre Corbeil, ont fait le point au sujet des récents développements dans le dossier des négociations entre le gouvernement du Québec et les communautés algonquines de Longue Pointe et de Lac Simon.

Le 30 mars 2005, les parties ont conclu une entente visant à convenir d'un processus de négociation pour trouver une solution durable à la problématique liée à la participation des communautés algonquines à l'exploitation et à la mise en valeur des ressources naturelles de l'Abitibi-Témiscamingue. Cette entente prévoyait notamment la négociation et la conclusion d'une entente intérimaire avant le 31 mars à 18 h. Cette entente devait d'ailleurs permettre la mise en place progressive de mesuresd'harmonisation.

Malgré la tenue de discussions soutenues et les efforts investis par le gouvernement du Québec, l'entente intérimaire n'a pu être conclue à l'échéance convenue. Afin d'éviter une rupture du dialogue entre les parties, les ministres Kelley et Corbeil souhaitent poursuivre les discussions au cours des prochains jours afin d'en arriver à un accord.

«Bien que l'échéance fixée pour conclure une entente intérimaire soit échue, moi et mon collègue, le ministre Corbeil, considérons que le dialogue n'est pas encore rompu. Je me suis personnellement engagé envers les chefs Mathias et Pien à maintenir le contact avec eux et je les invite à poursuivre les pourparlers. Nous croyons en la bonne foi de chacun pour que nous puissions, ensemble, régler nos différends, et travailler de concert pour que les communautés puissent participer à l'essor économique de la région», a souligné le ministre Kelley.

Le ministre Corbeil, pour sa part, a annoncé : «Dans les circonstances, le ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune, conformément à son mandat et en toute équité, se doit d'émettre, dès aujourd'hui, un certain nombre de permis d'exploitation forestière pour permettre aux détenteurs de contrats d'approvisionnement et d'aménagement forestier (CAAF) d'assurer la continuité des travaux pour approvisionner leurs usines». Toutefois, ces permis sont délivrés pour permettre les opérations durant les trois prochains mois. Par ce geste, le ministre veut permettre à la négociation de suivre son cours tout en maintenant les opérations là où cela est requis.

Ces permis sont entre autres destinés aux détenteurs de CAAF suivants : Domtar (Val-d'Or, Malartic et Lebel-sur-Quévillon); Tembec (La Sarre, Béarn, Senneterrre, Taschereau); Commonwealth Plywood (Belleterre); Bois Oméga (Lac Supérieur); Norbord (La Sarre, Val-d'Or), Produits forestiers et miniers Abitibi (Malartic), CDEX (Val-d'Or), Compagnie Abitibi-Consolidated du Canada (Champneuf et Comtois); Scierie Landrienne (Amos); Scierie Gallichan (Amos); Matériaux Blanchet.

«La poursuite des opérations forestières, une des activités économiques les plus importantes de la région de l'Abitibi-Témiscamingue, bénéficiera à toutes les communautés de la région. La continuité des processus de production est donc nécessaire», a insisté le ministre Corbeil.

Rappelons qu'en août 2004, les Algonquins de Longue Pointe et de Lac Simon avaient intensifié leurs moyens de pression dans le dossier, ralentissant du même coup le déroulement des activités forestières dans la région de l'Abitibi-Témiscamingue. Depuis, le gouvernement du Québec, conformément à la décision de la Cour suprême, a continué à multiplier les actions afin de consulter les deux communautés autochtones visées au sujet des plans annuels d'aménagement forestier en vue de rétablir le dialogue et de rapprocher les parties, et ce, dans le but de trouver une solution durable à la problématique vécue.

-30-

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Mise en ligne : 1er avril 2005