Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Minister Geoffrey Kelley and Regional Chief Ghislain Picard announced the holding of the Forum on the Social and Economic Development of the First Nations, with the participation of the Inuit, in 2006

Mr. Geoffrey Kelley, Minister for Native AffairsMr. Geoffrey Kelley, Minister for Native Affairs, and Mr. Ghislain Picard, Regional Chief of the Assembly of First Nations of Québec and Labrador (AFNQL), today announced that the Forum on the Social and Economic Development of the First Nations, with the participation of the Inuit, will take place in 2006. The Innu community of Mashteuiatsh in the Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean region will host this historic event.

Following the Forum des générations that were held on October 12, 13 and 14, 2004, Premier Jean Charest, representatives of the First Nations and the Inuit, as well as political and socioeconomic stakeholders, together agreed to hold a forum dealing with the social and economic development of the Aboriginal nations.

For the first time in Québec, a vast public discussion of this type is being organized on the subject of Aboriginal matters. The First Nations and the Inuit have to take up numerous challenges that concern all of us as a society. This forum will be a fantastic opportunity to talk directly with the members of the 55 Aboriginal communities and the various partners so that together, we can find solutions, the spin-offs of which will benefit everyone,” mentioned Minister Kelley.

Four main themes

The Forum’s prime objective is to initiate and support actions and partnership measures that will make it possible to improve in a tangible, efficient and lasting manner the social and economic conditions of the First Nations of Québec. The Government of Québec and the Assembly of First Nations of Québec and Labrador (AFNQL) have jointly identified four themes, which correspond to four decisive challenges that the Aboriginal Peoples will have to take up in the years to come:

  • the economy and jobs;
  • health and social services;
  • culture and education;
  • infrastructures and community development.

For a very long time, we have wanted to hold our own talks on social and economic development, an event that both rallies people and creates new solutions and above all tangible projects that will benefit all the members of our communities. This is particularly true for young people, towards whom we have an imperative duty. The Forum will be an opportunity to build lasting partnerships that will help maintain harmonious relations between the Aboriginal nations and all Quebecers,” stated Mr. Ghislain Picard, Regional Chief of the AFNQL.

The Forum will make it possible to highlight the stakes and to propose solutions in relation to the themes, which will be binding not only on the First Nations, but also on the Inuit and Québec society as a whole. In the upcoming months, a reflection will begin in Aboriginal communities to identify, among other things, the orientations and the actions to be given preference in the field of development and partnerships with governments and representatives of civil society.

I am delighted that the Community of Mastheuiatsh is hosting the Forum. The holding of this gathering, which is one-of-a-kind in our common history, testifies to a great openness and will be followed by a vast initiative. There can be no doubt that the Forum will be a reflection of the relations between the Pekuakamiulnuatsh and the people of the Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean region, namely both imaginative and creative. I am convinced that these exchanges will lead us towards new horizons characterized by a spirit of sharing and will lay the foundations for future actions,” stated Mr. Karl Blackburn, MNA for the electoral division of Roberval, Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of Public Security, and Co-chair of the Forum.

Preparatory meetings in the regions

To prepare this major gathering, meetings will be held in the fall of 2005 in target regions. On that occasion, citizens, socioeconomic partners, the leaders of municipalities, regions and Aboriginal communities will be able to contribute to the discussions on the proposed themes. An assessment of the preparatory meetings will also be made in January 2006 to guide the discussions during the Forum. Finally, awareness promotion activities and activities to foster closer ties between Aboriginal people and non-Aboriginals will also take place during this same period.

This is a true honour for our nation to be hosting this major gathering. Located at the crossroads of several regions of Québec and aboriginal territories, Mashteuiatsh was the ideal choice for the holding of this forum, especially since this event will be taking place in the middle of 2006, the year in which our community will be commemorating the 150th anniversary of its founding. Another element that argued in favour of holding this Forum here in Mashteuiatsh is the economic vitality of our community as well as its orientation, resolutely geared towards partnership and harmonious cohabitation, and about which we are very happy,” pointed out Mr. Gilbert Dominique, Chief of the Council of the Montagnais of Lac-Saint-Jean.

 

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Online as of : June 21, 2005

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2005 > Communiqué du 21 juin 2005

Le ministre Geoffrey Kelley et le Chef régional Ghislain Picard ont annoncé la tenue du Forum sur le développement social et économique des Premières Nations, avec la participation des Inuits, en 2006

Le ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones, M. Geoffrey KelleyLe ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones, M. Geoffrey Kelley, et le Chef régional de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador (APNQL), M. Ghislain Picard, ont annoncé aujourd’hui que le Forum sur le développement social et économique des Premières Nations, avec la participation des Inuits, aura lieu en 2006. La communauté innue de Mashteuiatsh dans la région de Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean sera l’hôte de cet événement historique.

Rappelons qu’à l’issue du Forum des générations qui s’est tenu les 12, 13 et 14 octobre 2004, le premier ministre Jean Charest, des représentants des Premières Nations et des Inuits ainsi que des intervenants politiques et socioéconomiques ont convenu ensemble de réaliser un forum portant sur le développement social et économique des nations autochtones.

« Pour la première fois au Québec, une vaste discussion publique de ce genre est mise en place en matière autochtone. Les Premières Nations et les Inuits ont à relever de nombreux défis qui nous interpellent comme société. Ce forum sera une occasion formidable d’échanger directement avec les membres des 55 communautés autochtones et les différents partenaires afin, qu’ensemble, nous puissions trouver des solutions dont les retombées seront profitables à toutes et à tous », a mentionné le ministre Kelley.

Quatre grands thèmes

L’objectif premier du Forum est d’enclencher et de soutenir des actions et des mesures en partenariat qui permettront d’améliorer de façon concrète, efficace et durable les conditions sociales et économiques des Premières Nations du Québec. Le gouvernement du Québec et l’Assemblée des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador (APNQL) ont conjointement identifié quatre thèmes, lesquels correspondent à quatre défis déterminants que les Autochtones auront à relever au cours des prochaines années :

  • l’économie et l’emploi;
  • la santé et les services sociaux;
  • la culture et l’éducation;
  • les infrastructures et le développement communautaire.

« Nous souhaitions depuis longtemps tenir nos propres assises sur le développement social et économique, un événement à la fois rassembleur et porteur de solutions et surtout, de projets concrets qui profiteront à tous les membres de nos communautés. C’est particulièrement vrai pour les jeunes envers lesquels nous avons un incontournable devoir. Le Forum sera l’occasion d’édifier des partenariats durables, de façon à maintenir des relations harmonieuses entre les nations autochtones et l’ensemble des Québécois », a exprimé le Chef régional Picard.

Le Forum permettra ainsi de mettre en lumière les enjeux et de proposer des solutions en lien avec les thèmes, qui engageront non seulement les Premières Nations, mais également les Inuits de même que l’ensemble de la société québécoise. Durant les mois à venir, des activités de réflexion s’amorceront dans les communautés autochtones pour identifier, entre autres, les orientations et les actions à privilégier en matière de développement et de partenariat avec les gouvernements et les acteurs de la société civile.

«Je suis ravi que la communauté de Mastheuiatsh soit l’hôte du Forum. La tenue de ce rassemblement unique dans notre histoire commune démontre une grande ouverture et sera suivie d’un vaste chantier. Nul doute que le Forum sera à l’image des relations entre les Pekuakamiulnuatsh et la population du Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean, c'est-à-dire imaginatif et créatif. Ces échanges nous conduiront, j’en suis convaincu, vers de nouveaux horizons empreints de partage et jetteront les bases des actions à venir », a déclaré le député de la circonscription électorale de Roberval, adjoint parlementaire au ministre de la Sécurité publique et coprésident du Forum, M. Karl Blackburn.

Rencontres préparatoires en région

En vue de préparer ce rassemblement d’envergure, des rencontres se tiendront à l’automne 2005 dans des régions ciblées. À cette occasion, les citoyens, les partenaires socioéconomiques, les dirigeants des municipalités, des régions et des communautés autochtones seront en mesure de contribuer aux discussions portant sur les thèmes proposés. Un bilan des rencontres préparatoires sera également réalisé en janvier 2006 pour orienter les discussions lors du Forum. Précisons enfin que des activités de sensibilisation et de rapprochement entre Autochtones et Allochtones se dérouleront au cours de cette même période.

« C’est un véritable honneur pour notre nation d’accueillir ce grand rassemblement. Située au carrefour de plusieurs régions du Québec et territoires autochtones, Mashteuiatsh était l’endroit tout désigné pour la tenue de ce forum, d’autant plus que celui-ci se tiendra en plein cœur de 2006, année pendant laquelle la communauté commémorera le 150e anniversaire de sa fondation. Autre élément qui a joué en faveur de la tenue du Forum à Mashteuiatsh, l’éclosion économique de notre communauté ainsi que son orientation résolument tournée vers le partenariat et la cohabitation harmonieuse, ce dont nous sommes très heureux », a souligné le Chef du Conseil des Montagnais du Lac-Saint-Jean, M. Gilbert Dominique.

 

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Mise en ligne : 21 juin 2005