Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Minister Geoffrey Kelley announces that Québec will define a policy for consulting the Aboriginal peoples

Québec, July 4, 2005 – Mr. Geoffrey Kelley, Minister for Native Affairs, announces that the Government of Québec will draw up a policy to consult the Aboriginal peoples, with their participation. The goal of the policy is to adjust the consultation practices of the Government of Québec to ensure that they take into account the rights and interests of the Aboriginal peoples, in accordance with the recent Haïda and Taku River rulings. With this new policy, it will be possible to establish rules that will make the management of territory development projects more efficient, to support jobs and the economy in the regions, and to promote the creation of sustainable partnerships with the Aboriginal peoples.

According to Minister Kelley, “the development of such a policy will mark an important turning point in the relations that Québec has with the Aboriginal peoples. We want to establish a framework that will clarify the scope of the consultation, the time and the period during which it will be held, as well as the various stakeholders involved in the consultation process.”

In the upcoming weeks, the Government of Québec will appoint a special representative who will coordinate a working group having as its mandate to propose, as soon as possible, a policy that meets the requirements laid down by the Supreme Court of Canada. In addition to Aboriginal representatives, the working group will be made up of representatives of the Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones, the Ministère de la Justice, the Ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune, the Ministère des Transports as well as the Ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et des Parcs.

“The involvement of several departments to define this policy is in itself remarkable. It shows all the importance that the Government of Québec places on this initiative, which will make it possible to find a solution adapted to the participation of Aboriginal communities in the development of the regions. Preliminary discussions have been held with Mr. Ghislain Picard, Regional Chief of the Assembly of First Nations of Québec and Labrador,” concluded the minister.

-30-

Source:
Kevin Dobie
Press secretary
Office of Minister Geoffrey Kelley
Telephone: (418) 643-4980

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Online as of : July 5, 2005

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2005 > Communiqué du 4 juillet 2005

Le ministre Geoffrey Kelley annonce que le Québec définira une politique de consultation des Autochtones

Québec, le 4 juillet 2005 – Le ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones, M. Geoffrey Kelley, annonce que le gouvernement du Québec élaborera une politique de consultation des Autochtones, et ce, avec la participation de ces derniers. Le but de la politique est d’ajuster les pratiques de consultation du gouvernement du Québec afin qu’elles tiennent compte des droits et des intérêts des Autochtones au regard des récents jugements Haïda et Taku River. Cette nouvelle politique permettra d’établir des règles rendant plus efficace la gestion des projets de développement du territoire, de soutenir les emplois et l’économie des régions et de favoriser la mise sur pied de partenariats durables avec les Autochtones.

« Le développement d’une telle politique marquera, j’en suis persuadé, un tournant important dans les relations que le Québec entretient avec les Autochtones. Nous voulons établir un cadre qui vienne préciser la portée de la consultation, le moment et le délai où elle se réalisera ainsi que les intervenants engagés dans le processus de consultation », a déclaré le ministre.

Le gouvernement du Québec nommera, au cours des prochaines semaines, un représentant spécial qui coordonnera un groupe de travail ayant pour mandat de proposer, dans les meilleurs délais, une politique qui réponde aux exigences fixées par la Cour suprême du Canada. Précisons enfin que le groupe de travail sera composé, outre des délégués autochtones, du Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones, du ministère de la Justice, du ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune, du ministère des Transports ainsi que du ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et des Parcs.

« La participation de plusieurs ministères à la définition de la politique est en soi remarquable. Elle démontre toute l’importance que le gouvernement du Québec accorde à cette démarche, qui permettra de trouver une solution à la participation des communautés autochtones au développement des régions. À cet effet, des discussions préliminaires se sont tenues avec le chef régional de l’Assemblée des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador, M. Ghislain Picard », a conclu le ministre.

-30-

Source :
Kevin Dobie
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du ministre Geoffrey Kelley
Téléphone : (418) 643-4980

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Mise en ligne : 4 juillet 2005