Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Québec, July 23, 2005

Aboriginal affairs and Québec’s development:
Taking a new step together

Geoffrey Kelley
Minister for Native Affairs

Over the last few months, certain events have marked aboriginal affairs in Québec. More specifically, the recent questions raised in the public arena have rekindled discussions on contemporary aboriginal issues. In light of the developments at the legal, economic and social levels, we cannot help but note that we are at a turning point in the evolution of our relations with aboriginal peoples.

A relationship that has been in the making for more than four centuries
To grasp this reality fully, I feel that it is useful to take a look back at our collaboration to understand where we now stand and where we want to go. By drawing on a common past marked by more than 400 years of living side by side, we are today able to take up the challenges associated with participation of aboriginal peoples in Québec’s development.

Over the centuries, relations between aboriginal peoples and the descendants of the first European settlers have taken on various forms, depending on the periods and the groups in question. Indeed, aboriginal peoples first began to make their voices heard in the early 1970s. The advent of major economic development projects prompted aboriginal peoples to organize to defend their rights. In response, governments had to adapt their practices to further take into account the needs and aspirations of aboriginal peoples. In this respect, the signing in 1975 of the first modern treaty in Canada, i.e., the James Bay and Northern Québec Agreement, represents a milestone, namely that of the development of a collective awareness of the interests and rights of aboriginal peoples in relation to the development of Québec’s territory.

From this point in time on, and following the constitutional recognition of aboriginal rights in 1982, Québec took part in other negotiations. Since then, legal precedents, along with the recognition of the aboriginal nations and aboriginal rights by the National Assembly in 1983 and 1985, laid the foundations for discussions, the aim of which has been to enter into agreements. Indeed, over the last 30 years, successive governments of Québec have all opted for the path of dialogue, basing their approaches on respect for the rights and interests of each party.

Following along these lines, Québec Premier Jean Charest and Mr. Ghislain Picard, Regional Chief of the Assembly of First Nations of Québec and Labrador, signed a mutual political commitment on July 17, 2003, establishing a joint council of elected representatives. The reaching of an agreement-in-principle with the Innu communities of the North Shore and Saguenay - Lac-Saint-Jean in March 2004 was also in keeping with this spirit. This historic moment demonstrated a true willingness to base our relations with aboriginal peoples on new foundations.

Challenges of the 21st century: adjustments that are both desirable and necessary
The government of Québec is more convinced than ever that the path of negotiation holds the greatest promise. Over the years, agreements entered into have proven beyond all doubt that dialogue offers true possibilities for establishing lasting and beneficial partnerships, both for aboriginal peoples and for all Quebecers. I am convinced that our ability to come to agreement will have a major impact on the future development of our society.

While we have met with success, we nevertheless still have to improve our relations. Indeed, in the major negotiation files, just as in the other files in which we are called upon to collaborate with aboriginal peoples, the conclusion is unavoidable: We need to follow up on the efforts made to date and our commitment in this respect is clear. We intend to do so by holding discussions around a common table.

Our determination is all the more justified given that in November 2004, two rulings handed down by the Supreme Court of Canada in the Haïda and Taku River cases marked a new stage in the recent evolution of relations between aboriginal peoples and governments. In its decisions, the highest court of the land invited the state to reconsider its approaches for consulting and accommodating aboriginal peoples when development projects affect territories to which they have laid claim.

Already actively working to modernize its practices, Québec intends to adopt a responsible attitude in response to the recent Supreme Court rulings. In so doing, we hope to improve the relations that government departments and bodies have with aboriginal communities. As things currently stand, the frameworks proposed by the Haïda and Taku River rulings give us the opportunity today to better define how we plan to develop the territory of Québec in a harmonious manner while taking into account the current reality.

Toward the definition of a true consultation policy
For this purpose, on June 23rd of this year, Québec Premier Jean Charest and my colleagues of the Cabinet entrusted me with the mandate of setting up a working group to develop an aboriginal consultation policy. A special representative, who will be appointed shortly, will propose a consultation policy, along with transitional measures prior to its adoption.

As Minister for Native Affairs, I personally insist that aboriginal peoples be afforded every opportunity to participate in the work that will involve the departments most concerned. I am confident that we will come up with an approach that will be in the best interest of all the citizens of Québec, and I am convinced that we will know how to make the most of the proposals put forward by the Assembly of First Nations of Québec and Labrador regarding the consultation as well as the steps taken in the other Canadian provinces.

Forum on the Social and Economic Development of the First Nations
While consultation is currently at the heart of aboriginal concerns, aboriginal peoples must also consider several challenges to ensure their full development and to offer a better future to the generations to come. The Forum on the Social and Economic Development of the First Nations, slated for May 17, 18 and 19, 2006, will be a major springboard in the efforts to support the development of the communities.

I am particularly happy and proud that this public discussion, the first of its kind in Québec, will be a tremendous opportunity to hold direct discussions with the members of the 55 aboriginal communities and the various partners, so that together we can find solutions with spinoffs that will benefit everyone.

Ensuring the future of our young people
While aboriginal questions are complex, they prompt us to multiply our partnerships and strengthen the historic collaboration that unites us. As we take a decisive step in our relations with aboriginal peoples, we have a mutual duty to do everything in our power to arrive at a more harmonious relationship that will allow everyone to achieve self-fullfilment in a spirit of respect.

Each time that we settle a dispute through discussions and that we reach an agreement, we are contributing a little more to creating real possibilities for collective success. In aboriginal communities, the proportion of young people who will soon be of working age is twice as high as for Québec as a whole. In face of this situation, we have a duty to take up: that of preparing the future of these young people. We have an appointment with the rising generation, and it is up to us to actively take part in this endeavour.

- 30 -

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :July 23, 2005
Online as of :

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Québec, le 23 juillet 2005

Affaires autochtones et développement du Québec :
franchir ensemble une nouvelle étape

Geoffrey Kelley
Ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones

Au cours des derniers mois, certains événements ont marqué de façon particulière les affaires autochtones au Québec. Plus précisément, les récents dossiers soulevés sur la place publique ravivent les discussions sur les enjeux actuels en matière autochtone. À la lumière des développements sur les plans juridique, économique et social, force est de constater que nous vivons actuellement une période charnière dans l’évolution de nos relations avec les Autochtones.

Une relation qui se construit depuis plus de quatre siècles
Pour bien saisir cette réalité, il m’apparaît utile de poser un regard historique sur notre collaboration afin de voir où nous en sommes et où nous voulons aller. En puisant dans un passé commun marqué par plus de 400 ans de cohabitation, nous sommes en mesure de relever aujourd’hui les défis de la participation des Autochtones au développement du Québec.

Au cours des siècles, les relations entre les Autochtones et les descendants des Européens se sont bâties sous différentes formes, selon les périodes et les groupes visés. En fait, les Autochtones ont commencé à faire entendre leur voix au début des années 1970. La venue des grands projets de développement économique les a amenés à s’organiser pour défendre leurs droits. C’est ainsi que les gouvernements ont dû modifier leurs pratiques afin de tenir compte davantage des besoins et des aspirations des Autochtones. À cet égard, la signature, en 1975, du premier traité moderne au Canada, en l’occurrence la Convention de la Baie-James et du Nord québécois, constitue un moment d’une importance majeure, celui d’une prise de conscience collective des intérêts et des droits des Autochtones sur le développement du territoire québécois.

À partir de ce moment, et à la suite de la reconnaissance constitutionnelle des droits autochtones, en 1982, le Québec a entrepris d’autres négociations. Depuis, la jurisprudence de même que la reconnaissance des nations autochtones et des droits ancestraux par l’Assemblée nationale, en 1983 et en 1985, ont jeté les bases des discussions visant à conclure des ententes. Tous les gouvernements du Québec ont privilégié, au cours des 30 dernières années, la voie du dialogue, tout en fondant leurs approches sur le respect des droits et des intérêts de chacun.

C’est dans cette foulée que le premier ministre du Québec, M. Jean Charest, et le chef régional de l’Assemblée des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador, M. Ghislain Picard, ont signé, le 17 juin 2003, un engagement politique mutuel établissant un conseil conjoint des élus. La conclusion, en mars 2004, de l’entente de principe d’ordre général avec des communautés innues de la Côte-Nord et du Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean s’inscrit également dans cet esprit. À mes yeux, cet autre moment historique a démontré une réelle volonté d’établir nos relations avec les Autochtones sur de nouvelles bases.

Les défis du 21e siècle : des ajustements souhaitables et nécessaires
Le gouvernement du Québec est plus convaincu que jamais que la négociation demeure la voie la plus prometteuse. Au fil des années, les ententes conclues ont prouvé hors de tout doute que le dialogue offre de véritables possibilités d’établir des partenariats durables et bénéfiques, et ce, tant pour les Autochtones que pour l’ensemble des Québécoises et Québécois. Aussi suis-je persuadé que notre capacité à nous entendre aura une incidence considérable sur le développement à venir de notre société.

Bien que nous ayons connu des succès, nous devons néanmoins améliorer nos relations. En effet, dans les grands dossiers de négociations, tout comme dans les autres où nous avons à travailler ensemble, le constat est inéluctable : il nous faut donner suite aux efforts investis jusqu’à présent. Et notre engagement à cet égard est clair : nous entendons le faire en discutant à une même table.

Notre détermination est d’autant plus justifiée qu’en novembre 2004 deux jugements rendus par la Cour suprême du Canada dans les affaires Haïda et Taku River ont marqué une nouvelle étape dans l’évolution récente des relations entre les Autochtones et les gouvernements. Dans ses arrêts, le plus haut tribunal du pays invite l’État à revoir ses façons de faire en matière de consultation des Autochtones et d’accommodement avec eux, lorsque des projets de développement touchent les territoires qu’ils revendiquent.

Travaillant déjà activement à la modernisation de ses pratiques, le Québec entend se montrer responsable face à la jurisprudence récente de la Cour suprême. Nous souhaitons ainsi améliorer les relations qu’entretiennent les ministères et les organismes gouvernementaux avec les communautés autochtones. Dans l’état actuel des choses, les cadres proposés par les arrêts Haïda et Taku River nous donnent l’occasion de mieux définir comment nous comptons développer le territoire de façon harmonieuse, en tenant compte de la réalité.

Vers la définition d’une véritable politique de consultation
Pour ce faire, le premier ministre et mes collègues du Conseil des ministres m’ont confié, le 23 juin dernier, le mandat de mettre sur pied un groupe de travail pour définir une politique de consultation des Autochtones. Un représentant spécial, qui sera nommé prochainement, devra proposer une politique de consultation ainsi que des mesures transitoires préalables à son adoption.

À titre de ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones, je tiens personnellement à ce que les Autochtones participent aux travaux qu’accompliront les ministères les plus concernés. Confiant que nous saurons élaborer une approche qui satisfera le meilleur intérêt de tous les citoyens et de toutes les citoyennes du Québec, j’ai la conviction profonde que nous saurons aussi profiter des propositions de l’Assemblée des Premières nations du Québec et du Labrador quant à la consultation ainsi que des démarches entreprises dans d’autres provinces canadiennes.

Forum sur le développement social et économique des Premières nations
Même si la consultation est présentement au cœur des préoccupations des Autochtones, ils doivent aussi considérer plusieurs défis afin d’assurer leur plein développement et d’offrir un avenir meilleur aux générations futures. À cet effet, le Forum sur le développement social et économique des Premières Nations aura lieu les 17, 18 et 19 mai 2006.

J’en suis d’autant plus heureux et fier que cette discussion publique, qui constitue une première du genre pour le Québec, sera une occasion formidable d’échanger directement avec les membres des 55 communautés autochtones et différents partenaires afin que nous puissions trouver conjointement des solutions dont les retombées seront profitables à toutes et à tous.

Assurer l’avenir de nos jeunes
Bien qu’elles soient complexes, ces questions nous invitent à multiplier les partenariats et à renforcer la collaboration historique qui nous unit. Au moment où nous franchissons une étape déterminante dans nos relations avec les Autochtones, il nous faut tout mettre en œuvre afin de parvenir à une relation plus harmonieuse qui permettra à toutes et à tous de se réaliser pleinement dans le respect.

Chaque fois que nous réglons un différend par la discussion et que nous concluons une entente, nous contribuons un peu plus à créer de réelles possibilités de réussite collective. En milieu autochtone, la proportion des jeunes qui seront bientôt en âge de travailler est deux fois plus élevée que pour l’ensemble du Québec. Devant cette situation, nous avons un devoir à remplir : celui de préparer leur avenir. Nous avons donc un rendez-vous avec la génération montante et il nous appartient d’y prendre part activement.

- 30 -

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :23 juillet 2005
Mise en ligne :