Return to home page Home page. Site map. To contact us. Québec Portal This external link will open a new window. Search Français. Ministre du Conseil Exécutif - This external link will open a new window.
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

The Government of Québec congratulates Mr. Matthew Mukash, the new grand chief of the Grand Council of the Crees, and underscores the exceptional contribution of Mr. Ted Moses, the outgoing grand chief

QUÉBEC, September 16, 2005 – Québec Premier Jean Charest and Mr. Geoffrey Kelley, Minister for Native Affairs, congratulate Mr. Matthew Mukash, the newly elected grand chief of the Grand Council of the Crees. They also want to underscore the exceptional contribution made by Mr. Ted Moses, the outgoing grand chief.

“I would first like to make special mention of the involvement and commitment of Mr. Moses on behalf of his nation. He has made a major contribution to the social and economic development of the Crees. Thanks to his future-oriented vision and his determination, Québec and the Grand Council of the Crees have forged a lasting partnership relation. I would like to wish Mr. Mukash all the best in the performance of his new duties. He may rest assured of my government’s full collaboration in the various files that we are working on together,” stated Mr. Charest.

“Over the last few years, the Government of Québec and the Cree Nation have developed a solid and successful relationship geared to collaboration and mutual respect. It is our intention to continue implementing La Paix des braves Agreement and to support the development of the Cree communities. In this sense, Mr. Mukash can count on our support and that of the Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones,” added Mr. Kelley.

Finally, mention should be made of the fact that the Grand Chief of the Grand Council of the Crees also holds the position of Chairman of the Cree Regional Authority, whose electoral process is based on a run-off election method, as adopted by the National Assembly last spring.

-30-

Source:

Claire Rémillard
Press secretary
Office of Mr. Geoffrey Kelley
Telephone: 418 643-4980

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update: September 30, 2010
Online as of: September 19, 2005

Retour à l'accueil Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec - Ce lien externe s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre Recherche English Site du Ministre du Conseil Exécutif - Ce lien externe s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2005 > Communiqué du 16 septembre 2005

Le gouvernement du Québec félicite le nouveau grand chef du Grand Conseil des Cris, M. Matthew Mukash, et souligne la contribution exceptionnelle du grand chef sortant, M. Ted Moses

QUÉBEC, le 16 septembre 2005 – Le premier ministre du Québec, M. Jean Charest, ainsi que le ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones, M. Geoffrey Kelley, félicitent le grand chef nouvellement élu du Grand Conseil des Cris, M. Matthew Mukash. Ces derniers souhaitent également souligner la contribution exceptionnelle du grand chef sortant, M. Ted Moses.

« Je tiens d’abord à saluer l’implication et l’engagement de M. Moses auprès de sa nation. Son apport au développement social et économique des Cris a été important. Grâce à sa vision d’avenir et à sa détermination, le Québec et le Grand Conseil des Cris ont bâti une relation de partenariat durable. Par ailleurs, je souhaite la meilleure des chances à M. Mukash dans l’exercice de ses nouvelles fonctions et je l’assure de l’entière collaboration de mon gouvernement dans les dossiers où nous travaillons ensemble », a déclaré M. Charest.

« Au cours des dernières années, le gouvernement du Québec et la nation crie ont développé une relation de collaboration solide marquée par le succès et le respect mutuel. Nous avons l’intention de poursuivre la mise en application de l’entente de La Paix des braves et de soutenir l’essor des communautés cries. En ce sens, M. Mukash peut compter sur notre appui et celui du Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones », a ajouté M. Kelley.

Mentionnons enfin que le grand chef du Grand Conseil des Cris occupe également le poste de président de l’Administration régionale crie dont le processus électoral est basé sur un mode de scrutin à deux tours, tel qu’adopté par l’Assemblée nationale au printemps dernier.

-30-

Sources :

Claire Rémillard
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre Geoffrey Kelley
Téléphone : (418) 643-4980

Hugo D’Amours
Attaché de presse
Cabinet du premier ministre
Téléphone : (418) 643-5321

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour : 19 septembre 2005
Mise en ligne :