Return to home page Home page. Site map. To contact us. Québec Portal This external link will open a new window. Search Français. Ministre du Conseil Exécutif - This external link will open a new window.
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Launching of the Nikan television series

The Government of Québec grants $72,000 for the production of a television series on Aboriginal people

Mr. Geoffrey Kelley, Minister for Native AffairsQUÉBEC, December 13, 2005 – Mr. Geoffrey Kelley, Minister for Native Affairs, today took part in the official launching of the Nikan documentary series, a initiative that aims to make known to the Québec, Canadian and foreign public, young Aboriginals and Inuit of Québec recognized for their dynamism and their success. During a speech, the Minister announced a $72,000 financial contribution by the Government of Québec to carry out this project.

The Nikan television series will present Aboriginal youth from an original perspective. It will help us to discover young people recognized for their dynamism, their involvement and for how they see the heritage handed down by their community. I am convinced that this television series will have a mobilizing effect on Québec youth and Aboriginal youth in particular. Thanks to the influence of this series, the example set by these young people will extend beyond our borders, which truly delights me,” stated Minister Geoffrey Kelley.

Nikan is the brain-child of producer Léa Pascal who, for this project, created a partnership with Cirrus Communications. It is a television series made up of 13 half-hour episodes, which focuses on young people from the Amerindian and Inuit communities of Québec. Each episode showcases an Aboriginal young person who will share his/her philosophy of life, vision of the future and values. The series will be broadcast beginning in 2006 on the TV5 network in Canada and at the international level, as well as on the APTN specialty channel.

Québec’s financial support comes from a government partnership including the Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones ($15,000), the Secrétariat à la jeunesse ($15,000), the Ministère de l’Éducation, du Loisir et du Sport ($15,000), the Ministère du Développement durable, de l'Environnement et des Parcs ($12,000) and the Ministère du Développement économique, de l’Innovation et de l’Exportation ($15,000).

“These various entities of the Government of Québec are proud to team up to provide financial support for the Nikan television series. This is the type of initiative that we wish to support,” pointed out Mr. Geoffrey Kelley, Minister for Native Affairs.

-30-

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update : December 13, 2005
Online as of :

Retour à l'accueil Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec - Ce lien externe s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre Recherche English Site du Ministre du Conseil Exécutif - Ce lien externe s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2005 > Communiqué du 13 décembre 2005
Lancement de la télésérie Nikan

Le gouvernement du Québec accorde 72 000 $ pour la production d’une télésérie sur les Autochtones

Le ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones, monsieur Geoffrey KelleyQUÉBEC, le 13 décembre 2005 – Le ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones, monsieur Geoffrey Kelley, a participé aujourd’hui au lancement officiel de la série documentaire Nikan, une initiative visant à faire connaître au public québécois, canadien et étranger de jeunes Autochtones et des Inuits du Québec reconnus pour leur dynamisme et leur réussite. Dans son allocution, le ministre a annoncé une contribution financière du gouvernement du Québec de 72 000 $ pour la réalisation de ce projet.

« La série télévisée Nikan apportera un éclairage original sur la jeunesse autochtone. Elle nous fera découvrir des jeunes reconnus pour leur dynamisme, leur engagement et leur regard sur l’héritage légué par leur communauté. Je suis persuadé que la télésérie aura un effet mobilisateur sur la jeunesse québécoise, et en particulier la jeunesse autochtone. Grâce à la télésérie, leur exemple dépassera nos frontières, et je m’en réjouis », a déclaré le ministre Geoffrey Kelley.

Nikan est produite par madame Léa Pascal, qui, pour l’occasion, a créé un partenariat avec Cirrus Communications. Il s’agit d’une télésérie de 13 émissions de 30 minutes, qui s’intéresse aux jeunes issus des communautés amérindiennes et inuites du Québec. À chaque émission, un jeune Autochtone nous fera partager sa philosophie, sa vision de l’avenir et ses valeurs. La série sera diffusée en 2006 sur les ondes de TV5, au Canada et à l’échelle internationale ainsi que sur la chaîne spécialisée APTN.

L’appui financier du Québec est issu d’un partenariat gouvernemental comprenant le Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones (15 000 $), le Secrétariat à la jeunesse (15 000 $), le ministère de l’Éducation, du Loisir et du Sport (15 000 $), le ministère du Développement durable, de l'Environnement et des Parcs (12 000 $) et le ministère du Développement économique, de l’Innovation et de l’Exportation (15 000 $).

« Le gouvernement du Québec est fier de soutenir financièrement la télésérie Nikan. C’est le genre d’initiative que nous voulons appuyer », a tenu à préciser le ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones, monsieur Geoffrey Kelley.

-30-

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :
Mise en ligne : 13 décembre 2005