Return to home page Home page. Site map. To contact us. Québec Portal This external link will open a new window. Search Français. Ministre du Conseil Exécutif - This external link will open a new window.
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Towards a consultation policy
Consultation of and arrangement proposals for the Aboriginal people, the Government of Québec is taking the new jurisprudence into account Minister Geoffrey Kelley presents an “Interim Guide for Consulting the Aboriginal Communities”

QUÉBEC, April 11, 2006 – Mr. Geoffrey Kelley, Minister for Native Affairs, is pleased to announce that the Cabinet has adopted an Interim Guide for Consulting the Aboriginal Communities, a measure awaited by the communities and which will allow the departments and agencies of the Government of Québec to progressively harmonize their consultation practices. “As a responsible government, we have developed a tool that satisfies the requirements of the recent rulings of the Supreme Court dealing with the consultation of the Aboriginal people,” mentioned Minister Kelley.

Minister Kelley made a point of emphasizing that the guide includes guidelines that help make the constitutional obligation of consulting the Aboriginal communities more operational. This is a first step in a more positive approach that improves our consultation actions by making them more uniform and more complete.

The Interim Guide for Consulting the Aboriginal Communities was produced by a working group headed by the Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones and made up of representatives of the main departments concerned by such a process. The departments called upon include the Ministère de la Justice, the Ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune, the Ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et des Parcs, as well as the Ministère des Transports. This is a tool put in place by the Government of Québec and that respects the legal obligation of consulting the Aboriginal communities adequately.

Consultation of the Aboriginal people

In making this interim guide public, the Government of Québec is launching a consultation initiative that aims to collect the comments of the various Aboriginal communities of Québec. These ideas and comments will be compiled and compared by a committee chaired by Mr. Jules Brière, appointed special representative of the Government of Québec. Accompanied by representatives of the departments having participated in the preparation of the interim guide, Mr. Brière has been entrusted with the mandate of meeting with those Aboriginal communities that so wish and explaining the content of the guide to them. The Aboriginal people will have the opportunity to comment on the guide as well as the possibility to make suggestions concerning it.

“For the government, this is a first step and the opportunity to improve the current consultation practices. In cooperation with the various groups and communities occupying the territory, we will be able to work together to improve the current approaches,” pointed out Mr. Brière.

At the end of the meetings, Mr. Brière and his committee will report to the Minister for Native Affairs, which will allow the government to improve the content of the interim guide, if necessary.

In addition to the Aboriginal communities, the committee will meet for the same purposes with representatives of civil society and certain interested groups. “I am pleased that Mr. Brière has agreed to act as the government’s special representative in this matter, given the importance that this question takes on for the Government of Québec, for the Aboriginal people as well as for the various groups affected by the subject. Mr. Brière’s expertise, notably as special legal advisor to the Government of Québec in matters concerning relations between the State and certain Aboriginal nations, will enable us to successfully embark upon a new initiative moving in this direction.”

“As a responsible government, we are making a tangible gesture today which not only satisfies the requirements of the Supreme Court, but also makes it possible to better take into account the interests of the Aboriginal communities and those of stakeholders interested in this subject. All of us will be able to work together on the development of the territory in a more harmonious manner,” explained the Minister.

Tangible actions to improve the consultation of Aboriginal communities

The interim guide contains four main principles: that of consultation, that of proposing arrangements to the Aboriginal people, and that of the unity of action on the part of the government in this field. The fourth principle reflects the government’s desire to make available to the Aboriginal people a special budget allowing them to participate fully in the consultation approach.

The Interim Guide for Consulting the Aboriginal Communities is accessible on the web site of the Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones at the following address: www.autochtones.gouv.qc.ca.

-30-

Source:

Claire Rémillard
Press secretary
Office of Minister Geoffrey Kelley
Telephone: 418 643-4980

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :
Online as of : April 11, 2006

Retour à l'accueil Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec - Ce lien externe s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre Recherche English Site du Ministre du Conseil Exécutif - Ce lien externe s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil> Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2006 > Communiqué du 11 avril 2006

Vers une politique de consultation

Le ministre Geoffrey Kelley présente le Guide intérimaire en matière de consultation des communautés autochtones

QUÉBEC, le 11 avril 2006 – Le ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones, M. Geoffrey Kelley, est heureux d’annoncer que le Conseil des ministres a adopté un guide intérimaire en matière de consultation des communautés autochtones, une mesure attendue par les communautés et qui permettra aux ministères et organismes du gouvernement du Québec d’harmoniser progressivement leurs pratiques de consultation. « En tant que gouvernement responsable, nous avons développé un outil qui répond aux exigences des récentes décisions de la Cour suprême en matière de consultation des Autochtones », a mentionné le ministre.

Le ministre a tenu à souligner que le guide fournit des lignes directrices permettant de rendre plus opérationnelle l’obligation constitutionnelle de consulter les communautés autochtones. Il s’agit de la première étape d’une démarche positive améliorant nos façons de faire en matière de consultation en les rendant plus uniformes et plus complètes.

Le Guide intérimaire en matière de consultation des communautés autochtones est le fruit d’un groupe de travail dirigé par le Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones et formé des principaux ministères touchés, soit ceux de la Justice, des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune, du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et des Parcs, ainsi que des Transports. Il s’agit d’un outil mis en place par le gouvernement du Québec respectueux de l’obligation légale de consulter adéquatement les communautés autochtones.

Consultation des Autochtones

Le gouvernement du Québec lance une démarche de consultation visant à recueillir les commentaires des différentes communautés autochtones du Québec. Ces idées et commentaires seront colligés par un comité présidé par Me Jules Brière, nommé représentant spécial du gouvernement du Québec. Accompagné des représentants des ministères ayant participé à la rédaction du guide intérimaire, Me Brière a pour mandat de rencontrer les communautés autochtones qui le souhaitent et d’expliquer le contenu du guide. Les Autochtones auront ainsi l’occasion de le commenter et la possibilité d’y faire des suggestions.

« Pour le gouvernement, c’est une première étape et l’occasion d’améliorer les pratiques actuelles en matière de consultation. De concert avec les différents groupes et communautés occupant le territoire, nous pourrons, ensemble, améliorer les façons de faire actuelles », a soutenu Me Brière.

À l’issue des rencontres, Me Brière et son comité feront rapport au ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones, ce qui permettra au gouvernement, le cas échéant, d’améliorer le contenu du guide intérimaire.

Outre les communautés autochtones, le comité rencontrera aux mêmes fins les représentants de la société civile et certains groupes intéressés. « Je suis heureux que Me Brière ait accepté d’agir à titre de représentant spécial du gouvernement dans ce dossier, compte tenu de l’importance que cette question revêt pour le gouvernement du Québec, pour les Autochtones ainsi que pour les différents groupes touchés par le sujet. L’expertise de Me Brière, notamment à titre de conseiller juridique spécial du gouvernement du Québec dans les dossiers concernant les relations entre l’État et certaines nations autochtones, nous permettra de mener à terme une nouvelle démarche allant dans ce sens. »

« En tant que gouvernement responsable, nous posons aujourd’hui un geste concret qui, non seulement répond aux exigences de la Cour Suprême, mais qui permettra de mieux prendre en considération les intérêts des communautés autochtones et ceux des intervenants intéressés par le sujet. Ainsi, nous pourrons travailler tous ensemble au développement du territoire de manière plus harmonieuse », a précisé le ministre.

Des actions concrètes pour améliorer la consultation des communautés autochtones

Le guide intérimaire contient quatre grands principes : celui de la consultation, celui de l’accommodement des Autochtones ainsi que celui de l’unité d’action du gouvernement en cette matière. Le quatrième principe reflète la volonté du gouvernement de mettre à la disposition des Autochtones une enveloppe budgétaire spéciale leur permettant de participer pleinement à la démarche de consultation.

Le Guide intérimaire en matière de consultation des communautés autochtones est accessible via le site Internet du Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones, à l’adresse suivante : www.autochtones.gouv.qc.ca.

-30-

Source :

Claire Rémillard
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre Geoffrey Kelley
Téléphone : 418 643-4980

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :
Mise en ligne : 11 avril 2006