Return to home page Home page. Site map. To contact us. Québec Portal This external link will open a new window. Search Français. Ministre du Conseil Exécutif - This external link will open a new window.
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Socioeconomic Forum of the First Nations

Minister Geoffrey Kelley calls on the members of civil society
to mobilize

Québec City, April 26, 2006—At the official launching of the Socioeconomic Forum of the First Nations, which was held today in Québec, Mr. Geoffrey Kelley, Minister for Native Affairs, called on the members of civil society to mobilize. “Elected members and social, economic and cultural partners need to join in the discussions and reflections surrounding the preparations of the Forum,” stated the Minister.

The Socioeconomic Forum of the First Nations fits in perfectly with the vision and the action priorities of the Government of Québec. Already in October 2004, Québec Premier Jean Charest supported the holding of such a forum. “The Socioeconomic Forum of the First Nations is a one-of-a-kind opportunity to strengthen the relationships that unite the Aboriginal and non-aboriginal communities of Québec. This event will help identify lasting solutions that will improve the living conditions of the First Nations and will offer a better future to Aboriginal youth,” pointed out the Premier.

The Forum will deal with four main themes, namely the economy and jobs; health, social services and services for children; culture and education, as well as infrastructures and sustainable community development. Sectoral committees will be holding sessions in May on each of these themes. Representatives of the First Nations, the Government of Québec and the federal government will be participating in these sessions to prepare the Forum’s discussions.

“The partners of Québec civil society need to mobilize and make known their social partnership ideas to promote development that is sustainable and profitable for all communities,” concluded Minister Kelley.

To obtain information on the work in progress, consult the Forum’s web site at www.fsepn.com, or contact the Forum’s secretariat at 418 847-2662.

-30-

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Last update :April 26, 2006
Online as of :

Retour à l'accueil Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec - Ce lien externe s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre Recherche English Site du Ministre du Conseil Exécutif - Ce lien externe s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2006 > Communiqué du 26 avril 2006

Forum socioéconomique des Premières Nations

Le ministre Geoffrey Kelley invite la société civile à se mobiliser

Québec, le 26 avril 2006. – À l’occasion du lancement officiel du Forum socioéconomique des Premières Nations, tenu aujourd’hui à Québec, le ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones, M. Geoffrey Kelley, invite les membres de la société civile à se mobiliser. « Les élus et les partenaires sociaux, économiques et culturels doivent s’engager dans les discussions et réflexions qui entourent les préparatifs du Forum », affirme le ministre.

Le Forum socioéconomique des Premières Nations s’inscrit parfaitement dans la vision et les priorités d’action du gouvernement du Québec. Déjà, en octobre 2004, le premier ministre du Québec, M. Jean Charest, appuyait la tenue d’un tel forum. « Le Forum socioéconomique des Premières Nations est une occasion unique de renforcer les relations qui unissent les communautés autochtones et non autochtones du Québec. Cet événement permettra d’identifier des solutions durables qui amélioreront les conditions de vie des Premières Nations et offriront un meilleur avenir à la jeunesse autochtone », tient à préciser le premier ministre.

Le Forum portera sur quatre grands thèmes, soit l’économie et l’emploi; la santé, les services sociaux et les services à l’enfance; la culture et l’éducation, ainsi que les infrastructures et le développement communautaire durable. Des tables sectorielles siégeront en mai sur chacun de ces thèmes. Des représentants des Premières Nations, du gouvernement du Québec et du gouvernement fédéral y participeront afin de préparer les discussions du Forum.

« Les partenaires de la société civile du Québec doivent se mobiliser et faire connaître leurs idées de partenariat socioéconomique favorisant le développement durable et profitable à toutes les communautés », a conclu le ministre Kelley.

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur les travaux en cours, consultez le site Internet du Forum, à www.fsepn.com, ou contactez le Secrétariat du Forum, au 418 847-2662.

-30-

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166
Dernière mise à jour :26 avril 2006
Mise en ligne :