Return to home page Home page. Site map. To contact us. Québec Portal This external link will open a new window. Search Français. Ministre du Conseil Exécutif - This external link will open a new window.
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Minister Geoffrey Kelley takes part in the inauguration of a vocational training center in the Cree Community of Waswanipi

WASWANIPI, May 31, 2006 – Mr. Geoffrey Kelley, Minister for Native Affairs, today took part in the official inauguration of the Sabtuan Regional Vocational Training Center, intended mainly for the young people of the nine communities of the Cree nation. This ceremony was held in Waswanipi, in the James Bay region.

In operation since September 2005, the Sabtuan Center can accommodate up to 120 students who come to learn and acquire vocational and technical skills in such varied fields as carpentry and joinery work, cabinet-making, mechanics, secretarial services and accounting. The Center also offers those young people wishing to become an entrepreneur a program of studies allowing them to develop the aptitudes to start up their own business.

With its residences, the Sabtuan Center can house the teaching and support staff while serving as a home away from home for students all during their training. The Center responds in an efficient and respectful manner to the need to offer in an aboriginal setting training that is adapted to the young people of the community.

For Mr. Jean-Marc Fournier, Minister of Education, Recreation and Sport, “the total grant of $18.3 million awarded to the Cree School Board for the construction of the Center and its residences is a tangible example of the commitment of the Government of Québec to supporting the socioeconomic development of Aboriginal communities.”

For his part, Minister Kelley made a point of underscoring the leadership of the Cree School Board and the commitment of the entire community of Waswanipi in the carrying out of this promising project. “The Sabtuan Center is an illustration of the extraordinary dynamism resulting from more than thirty years of partnerships between the Crees and the Government of Québec,” he said.

Stating that he was very encouraged by the construction of this vocational training center, Mr. Ashley Iserhoff, Deputy Grand Chief of the Grand Council of the Crees, wanted to share his vision of better days for Cree youth. “Now is a wonderful time for young Crees. More than ever, their only limitation is their imagination,” he affirmed enthusiastically.

“Like the Cree community, the Government of Québec firmly believes that education and vocational training are economic levers that are essential for the development of Aboriginal communities. In this sense, the Sabtuan Center is a vital tool that allows the entire Cree Nation to aspire to a future rich in all kinds of possibilities,” concluded Minister Kelley.

-30-

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Online as of : May 31, 2006

Retour à l'accueil Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec - Ce lien externe s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre Recherche English Site du Ministre du Conseil Exécutif - Ce lien externe s'ouvrira dans une nouvelle fenêtre
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil> Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2006 > Communiqué du 31 mai 2006

Le ministre Geoffrey Kelley participe à l’inauguration d’un centre de formation professionnelle dans la communauté crie de Waswanipi

WASWANIPI, le 31 mai 2006 – Le ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones, M. Geoffrey Kelley, a participé aujourd’hui, à Waswanipi, dans la région de la Baie-James, à l’inauguration officielle du Sabtuan Regional Vocational Training Center, un centre de formation professionnelle destiné principalement aux jeunes des neuf communautés de la nation crie.

En opération depuis septembre 2005, le Centre Sabtuan peut recevoir jusqu’à 120 étudiants venus apprendre et acquérir des habiletés professionnelles et techniques dans des domaines aussi variés que la charpenterie et la menuiserie, l’ébénisterie, la mécanique, le secrétariat et la comptabilité. Le Centre offre également aux jeunes qui souhaitent devenir entrepreneurs un programme d’études leur permettant de développer des aptitudes pour lancer leur propre entreprise.

Grâce à ses résidences, le Centre Sabtuan peut loger le personnel enseignant et de soutien et accueillir les étudiants pour toute la durée de leur formation. Le Centre répond ainsi de façon efficace et respectueuse au besoin d’offrir en milieu autochtone une formation qui soit adaptée aux jeunes de la communauté.

Pour le ministre de l’Éducation, du Loisir et du Sport, M. Jean-Marc Fournier, « la subvention totale de 18,3 M$ accordée à la Commission scolaire crie pour la construction du Centre et de ses résidences constitue un exemple concret de l’engagement du gouvernement du Québec à soutenir le développement socioéconomique des communautés autochtones ».

Le ministre Kelley a, pour sa part, tenu à souligner le leadership de la Commission scolaire crie et l’engagement de toute la communauté de Waswanipi dans la réalisation de ce projet porteur d’avenir. « Le Centre Sabtuan est une illustration de l’extraordinaire dynamisme issu de plus de trente ans de partenariat entre les Cris et le gouvernement du Québec », a-t-il déclaré.

Se disant très encouragé par la construction de ce centre de formation professionnelle, M. Ashley Iserhoff, vice-grand chef du Grand conseil des Cris, a voulu partager sa vision de jours meilleurs pour la jeunesse crie. Il a affirmé avec enthousiasme que nous vivions une période remplie de promesses pour les jeunes Cris. Plus que jamais, il leur est permis de croire en leurs rêves. (Now is a wonderful time for young Crees. More than ever, their only limitation is their imagination).

« À l’instar de la communauté crie, le gouvernement du Québec croit fermement que l’éducation et la formation professionnelle sont des leviers économiques essentiels à l’essor des communautés autochtones. En ce sens, le Centre Sabtuan est un outil vital qui permettra à l’ensemble de la nation crie d’aspirer à un avenir riche en possibilités de toutes sortes », a conclu le ministre Kelley.

-30-

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Mise en ligne : 31 mai 2006