Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Tenth Anniversary of National Aboriginal Day

Mr. Geoffrey Kelley pays tribute to the eleven Aboriginal nations of Québec

Québec, June 21, 2006 – Mr. Geoffrey Kelley, Minister for Native Affairs, today took part, both in Montréal and in Québec City, in a series of activities underscoring the tenth anniversary of National Aboriginal Day.

The Minister first attended the inaugural ceremony marking the summer solstice at Parc Émilie-Gamelin in Montréal. This activity was held within the context of the First Peoples’ Festival organized by Land inSights. On this occasion, Mr. Kelley recalled that National Aboriginal Day was an opportunity for the First Nations and the Inuit of Québec to celebrate their traditions and their culture and to show their openness to Québec society. Among the public figures in attendance were Ms. Alanis O’Bomsawin, President of Land inSights, Mr. Gilles O’Bomsawin, Chief of the Abenaki Community of Odanak, and Mr. Benoît Labonté, Mayor of the Borough of Ville-Marie and Member of the Executive Committee responsible for Culture, Heritage, Downtown and Design.

The Minister then headed for Québec City to take part in the launching of a photo album, the work of six students of the Innu Olamen secondary school, located in La Romaine on the North Shore. In the presence of Mr. Georges Bacon, Chief of the Community of Unaman-shipu, Marc Tremblay, the teacher behind the project, and the young photographers, Mr. Kelley hailed the initiative which was a major catalyst in this community. “One of the aspects of the project that I find most appealing is that this initiative has made it possible to open new horizons for these young people. Such a creative activity has certainly helped them boost their self-confidence which will enable them to make their dreams a reality,” pointed out Mr. Kelley.

The day ended with the Minister’s participation in a family celebration having an Aboriginal flavour that was held for a second year in a row at Parc Cartier-Brébeuf in Québec City. Mr. Kelley invited Québec society as a whole to prolong this tenth National Aboriginal Day by multiplying the opportunities for forging closer ties with our Aboriginal fellow citizens all year round.

“We are the friends of the eleven Aboriginal nations that occupied the territory of Québec for thousands of years prior to the arrival of our European ancestors. Today, these nations and communities are our partners. I invite you to discover all year round the great warmth that characterizes the Aboriginal peoples of Québec,” concluded the Minister.

-30-

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Online as of : 21 juin 2006

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil> Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2006 > Communiqué du 21 juin 2006

Dixième anniversaire de la Journée nationale des Autochtones

M. Geoffrey Kelley rend hommage aux onze nations autochtones du Québec

Québec, le 21 juin 2006 – Le ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones, M. Geoffrey Kelley, a participé aujourd’hui, à Montréal et à Québec, à une suite d’activités soulignant la dixième Journée nationale des Autochtones.

Le ministre a d’abord assisté, au parc Émilie-Gamelin, à Montréal, à la cérémonie inaugurale marquant le solstice d’été; celle-ci avait lieu dans le contexte du festival Présence autochtone organisé par Terres en vues. M. Kelley a alors rappelé que la Journée nationale des Autochtones était l’occasion pour les Premières Nations et les Inuits du Québec de célébrer leurs traditions, leur culture et de manifester leur ouverture envers la société québécoise. Parmi les personnalités officielles présentes, on comptait Mme Alanis O’Bomsawin, présidente de Terres en vues, M. Gilles O’Bomsawin, chef de la communauté abénaquis d’Odanak ainsi que M. Benoît Labonté, maire de l’arrondissement Ville-Marie et membre du comité exécutif responsable de la Culture, du Patrimoine, du Centre-ville et du Design.

Le ministre s’est ensuite dirigé vers Québec pour participer au lancement d’un album photos, l’œuvre de six élèves de l’école secondaire innue Olamen, de La Romaine, sur la Côte-Nord. En présence du chef de la communauté d’Unaman-shipu, M. Georges Bacon, du professeur à l’origine du projet, M. Marc Tremblay, et des jeunes photographes, M. Kelley a salué l’initiative qui a été un catalyseur important dans cette communauté. « L’un des aspects du projet qui me séduit le plus est qu’il aura permis d’ouvrir à ces jeunes de nouveaux horizons. Une telle activité créatrice les a certainement aidés à accroître la confiance en eux-mêmes qui leur permettra de réaliser leurs rêves », a souligné M. Kelley.

La Journée s’est terminée par la participation du ministre à une fête familiale à saveur autochtone qui a eu lieu pour une deuxième année consécutive au parc Cartier-Brébeuf, à Québec. Le ministre Kelley a alors invité l’ensemble de la société québécoise à prolonger cette dixième Journée nationale des Autochtones en multipliant les occasions de rapprochement avec nos compatriotes autochtones tout au long de l’année.

« Nous sommes les amis des onze nations autochtones qui ont occupé le territoire du Québec des milliers d’années avant l’arrivée de nos ancêtres européens. Ces nations et communautés sont aujourd’hui nos partenaires. Je vous invite à découvrir tout au cours de l’année la chaleur toute particulière des Autochtones du Québec », a conclu le ministre.

-30-

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Mise en ligne : 21 juin 2006