Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Minister Geoffrey Kelley congratulates Ms. Eva Ottawa on the occasion of her swearing-in as Grand Chief of the Atikamekw nation

QUÉBEC, October 11, 2006 – On October 7th of this year, Mr. Geoffrey Kelley, Minister for Native Affairs, attended, in Manawan, the swearing-in of Ms. Eva Ottawa as Grand Chief and President of the Council of the Atikamekw nation. In his speech, Minister Kelley made a point of congratulating Ms. Ottawa, the first woman to hold this position in the entire history of the nation.

“I would first like to underscore the undeniable personal qualities of Ms. Ottawa and her great determination in taking up this new challenge. I salute her arrival as Grand Chief, which testifies to a great desire for change within the Atikamekw nation. This is the start of a long affirmation process for Aboriginal women and it is entirely to their credit,” stated Minister Kelley.

Ms. Ottawa has obtained two Bachelor’s degrees from Université Laval, one in law and the other in sociology. She has notably worked as a consultant for the Manawan Atikamekw Council, within the context of the negotiations with federal and provincial authorities. Over the next four years, Ms. Ottawa will be called upon to defend the interests of a nation made up of approximately 6,000 members, 60% of whom are under 25, spread out between the communities of Manawan, Opitciwan and Wemotaci. This is the second election by universal suffrage of the Atikamekw nation. Ms. Ottawa succeeds Grand Chief Ernest Awashish who did not seek a new term of office.

“I would like to wish Ms. Ottawa great success during her term of office and assure her of my full cooperation in the pursuit of harmonious relations between Québec and the Atikamekw nation,” concluded the Minister.

- 30 -

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Online as of : October 11, 2006

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2006 > 11 octobre 2006

Le ministre Geoffrey Kelley félicite madame Eva Ottawa à l’occasion de son assermentation à titre de Grand Chef de la nation atikamekw

QUÉBEC, 11 octobre 2006 - Le 7 octobre dernier à Manawan, le ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones, monsieur Geoffrey Kelley, a assisté à l’assermentation de madame Eva Ottawa à titre de grand chef et présidente du Conseil de la nation atikamekw. Dans son allocution, le ministre a tenu à féliciter madame Ottawa, première femme à occuper ce poste de toute l’histoire de la nation.

« Je tiens d’abord à souligner les qualités personnelles indéniables de madame Ottawa et sa grande détermination à relever ce nouveau défi. Je salue sa venue à titre de grand chef, qui démontre une grande volonté de changement au sein de la nation atikamekw. C’est le début d’un long processus d’affirmation des femmes autochtones et c’est tout à leur honneur », a déclaré monsieur Kelley.

Mentionnons que madame Ottawa a obtenu deux baccalauréats de l’Université Laval, l’un en droit et l’autre en sociologie. Elle a notamment travaillé, à titre de consultante pour le Conseil atikamekw de Manawan, dans le cadre des négociations avec les instances fédérales et provinciales. Au cours des quatre prochaines années, madame Ottawa aura à défendre les intérêts d’une nation comptant environ 6 000 membres, dont 60 % ont moins de 25 ans, répartis entre Manawan, Opitciwan et Wemotaci. C’est la deuxième élection au suffrage universel de la nation atikamekw. Madame Ottawa succède au grand chef Ernest Awashish qui ne sollicitait pas de nouveau mandat.

« Je veux souhaiter à madame Ottawa le meilleur des succès durant tout son mandat et l’assurer de mon entière collaboration pour la poursuite de relations harmonieuses entre le Québec et la nation atikamekw », a conclu le ministre.

- 30 -

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Mise en ligne : 11 octobre 2006