Home page Site map Email Québec Portal Search Francais
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones

Postponement of the Katimajiit Forum

Québec, February 9, 2007 – By common agreement, the Government of Canada, the Government of Québec and the Inuit have decided to postpone the holding of the Katimajiit Forum, which was supposed to be held in Kuujjuak on February 15th and 16th of this year, in order to better prepare the subjects that will be discussed. This is a postponement and not a cancellation. Indeed, the intention is to hold the forum at a later date, to be decided on by the three parties.

“ We jointly decided that it would be better to have this important event later in the year. Priorities such as Nunavik Government, high cost of living, Housing, Health, Culture and Education have to be discussed in a very near future and actions have to be taken,” emphasized Mr. Pita Aatami, President of Makivik Corporation.

“Katimajiit will be a one-of-a-kind opportunity to bring together all of the stakeholders who can provide tangible solutions to the challenges confronting Nunavik. The Government of Québec will continue to place a great deal of care in the preparation of this historic meeting,” said Mr. Geoffrey Kelley, Minister for Native Affairs of the Government of Québec.

“I congratulate the Nunavik Inuit for their initiative in organizing a forum to be attended by the governments of Canada and Quebec. The proactive efforts of a tripartite forum highlight the historic importance of meeting to discuss and put in place lasting solutions to issues affecting the peoples of Nunavik, ” concluded the Honourable Jim Prentice, Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development and Federal Interlocutor for Métis and Non-Status Indians.

- 30 -

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Online as of : February 9, 2007

Accueil Plan du site Nous joindre Portail Québec Recherche English
Menu Contenu
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
Accueil > Centre de presse > Communiqués > 2007 > 9 février 2007

Report du forum Katimajiit

Québec, le 9 février 2007. – D’un commun accord, le gouvernement du Canada, le gouvernement du Québec et les Inuits ont décidé de reporter la tenue du forum Katimajiit, qui devait se tenir à Kuujjuaq, les 15 et 16 février prochains, afin de mieux préparer les dossiers qui y seront discutés. Il s’agit d’un report et non d’une annulation, l’intention étant de tenir le forum à une date ultérieure qui sera déterminée par les trois parties.

« Nous avons décidé conjointement qu’il est préférable que cet important événement soit tenu plus tard au cours de l’année. Les priorités telles que le gouvernement du Nunavik, le coût élevé de la vie, le logement, la santé, la culture et l’éducation doivent être discutées à court terme et des gestes devront être posés », a souligné M. Pita Aatami, président de la Société Makivik.

« Katimajiit constituera une occasion unique de réunir tous les acteurs qui peuvent apporter des solutions concrètes aux défis auxquels doit faire face le Nunavik. Le gouvernement du Québec continuera à apporter beaucoup de soin à la préparation de cette rencontre historique », a affirmé le ministre délégué aux Affaires autochtones du gouvernement du Québec, M. Geoffrey Kelley.

« Je félicite les Inuits du Nunavik pour leur initiative d’organiser un forum auquel les gouvernements du Québec et du Canada participeront. Les efforts proactifs d’un forum tripartite permettront de souligner l’importance historique de se réunir pour discuter et mettre en application des solutions durables aux sujets qui concernent les peuples du Nunavik », a conclu l’honorable Jim Prentice, ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien et interlocuteur fédéral auprès des Métis et des Indiens non inscrits.

- 30 -

Signature gouvernementale
Secrétariat aux affaires autochtones
905, avenue Honoré-Mercier, 1er étage - Québec (Qc)  G1R 5M6 - 418 643-3166

Mise en ligne : 9 février 2007